We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Russell's Truck and Travel Center

Russell's Truck and Travel Center
1583 Frontage Road 4132, I-40 Exit 369, Glenrio, NM 88434
(575) 576-8700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Attractions in Glenrio
Type: Tourist/ Visitor Centers, Other
Attraction details
Beatrice, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

stopped by to get a sandwich on our way to Amarillo. my chicken burrito was so good and filling there was no room left for the key lime pie is
was eyeing the dessert case. friendly staff. atmosphere was great. it's a step back in time and are so glad we stopped. never did get to the cars. maybe next time

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    3
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Devon,UK
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Yes - it's free!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Don't miss this place if you love old cars. On our Route 66 trip we just had to call in here - they sell gas, have a great shop with everything you can think of that you might need and also a restaurant (didnt try this). Museum is wonderful - chock full of memorabilia. Even if you only have 15 minutes to spare - do check it out.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“BEST TRUCK STOP EVER!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We didnt plan on stopping here but after i needed to peeit was inevitable. What a great fun place to stop at. A nice looking retro diner, lovely clean bathrooms, large selection on food and a great gift shop. There is also an amazing vintage car museum that is free! We took a wander though and drooled over the beautiful cars and vintage memorabilia. Well worth the stop!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
78 attraction reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
“A gem of a find along I-40 not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

While traveling along interstate 40 in New Mexico we happened across Russel Truck Stop. This is a gem of a find. High speed internet, clean rest room, restaurant, route 66 memorabilia for sale, groceries and snacks, and the icing on the cake, a free car and truck museum including old time soda machines, cash registers and all sorts of old things. Everything about this truck stop is clean and first class. The museum is totally free and rivals many a paid museum we have been to around the country.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Take The Time To Stop & Look!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

While traveling on I-40, my husband & I ventured into Russell's Truck & Travel Center which advertised a classic car museum along the highway. This travel center consists of a small restaurant, gift shop, small grocery store, clean restrooms, and a classic memorabilia museum!
The museum itself is an interesting array of classic to more modern automobiles as well as a hodge-podge variety of old albums & toys & posters scattered throughout. The museum is free although a donation can is there should you feel so inclined. They do give you a car "map" when you enter the museum which identifies each car. We definitely enjoyed the museum even if it was such a variety of time periods & different kinds of memorabilia!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Russell's Truck and Travel Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Russell's Truck and Travel Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.