We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most enjoyable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The White Hart

The White Hart
The Green, Pirbright GU24 0LP, England
01483 799715
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Pirbright
Price range: $19 - $29
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Surrey
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Most enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

This is a lovely old inn.Plenty of beams, nooks and cranies. The atmosphere is cosy and very friendly. Our waitress was fantastic with great personality. There is a choice of light menu or main. Both with a good selection of tempting dishes,making choices difficult. The food is nicely presented and the service very good. There is no rush and we were amazed how late it was when we left after a very good lunch.
It is very popular so booking is advisable, an bonus that this can be done on line

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    61
    34
    27
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
262 helpful votes 262 helpful votes
“Oh dear, C-, could do better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Food was ok, service poor. Not sure what's happened, but very lacklustre service on a not very busy evening. Plenty of places nearby offering better service and with good food.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good Atmosphere, Good Food, Great Staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

My wife and I went with friends on Saturday 21st Jan. The interior is modern and tasteful but not cold. The place was packed, standing room only. During January and February they are offering a Special Deal which was a good value package. We were served all evening by a delightful 24 year old Polish jewel. She was excellent as were all the staff, young and efficient. We all had an excellent meal and the wine that came with the package deal was very good quality. The selection of 5 sweets served on an open wooden platter was wonderfully naughty but nice. Great evening and the restaurant goes back on my top 10 list in the area. Thanks White Hart, keep up the quality and look after the staff. Pat & Gilly

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, Surrey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great food, lovely atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

Went for a meal with the family before my son returned to Uni. Tried to book, but phone was engaged, but when we turned up, although they were very busy, they still managed to fit us into the restaurant after a 20 minute wait. Service was great, food was lovely, even the vegetarian option for my daughter. This is the third time that we have been and have not been disappointed yet. Ignore the bad reviews and give this place a go. It will be worth it.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, Surrey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Long wait and very disappointing food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

I visited and ate at the White Hart about 6-weeks ago with my wife and we were very impressed with the quality of the food. Decided to take some friends there today for lunch and waited nearly an hour for our food to come and it was dry and completely over cooked when it arrived. Be very careful before eating here during a busy lunch time. Personally, we will not be returning!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Hart also viewed

 
Fleet, Hampshire
 

Been to The White Hart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Hart, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.