We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snowmobiling down a frozen fjord” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barents Safari Tours

Barents Safari Tours
Fjellveien 28, Kirkenes 9900, Norway
+47 901 90 594
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Kirkenes
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Great Adventures in Norwegian Lapland since 1996. ATV/Quad - Riverboat - Snowmobile - King Crab-Safari
England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Snowmobiling down a frozen fjord”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This was an exhilarating trip snowmobiling down a fjord of the Barents Sea frozen 2-3 feet deep. A strong emphasis on safety delivered with a blend of humour, prepared you well. It was minus 12 deg + wind chill + velocity which took the temperature really low, but hardly noticeable in the necessary thickly padded suits, gloves, boots & visored helmets which protected you from the bitter cold. Only 3k from the Russian border, we were regaled with stories of brown bears, wolves, ice fishing and the life of the Sami people.
Bizarre seeing bridges over the fjord & holiday homes along its banks as you hurtle along the snow. Coffee, dried reindeer to chew on & songs in the Sami tent were a great end to a wonderful trip.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    2
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
surrey
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great fun on snow mobiles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

WE have just returned from a short trip with Hurtigrunton to Kirkenes and had the most wonderful time on the snow mobile trip. Hans is a real people person, with stories to entertain. He is also very careful with the instructions for safe usage of the snowmobiles. We were all given warm suits and had our crash helmets individually fitted, to make sure they did the job. The ride was amazing and the coffee and songs afterwards in the sami tent were the icing on the cake. Do not miss this treat if you are in the part of the world, it is THE BEST.
We actually took too much stuff with us, The suits and boots provided do a wonderful job in the freezing conditions, so you don't need to wear too much stuff and overheat on the coach journey there! This trip is not cheap, but it's worth every penny.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Exciting driving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We visited this experience at Kirkenes from a Hurtigruten cruise this March. We shared a very new snowmobile between hubby and I. Excellent instruction, all warm gear required provided. I was a bit apprehensive, but didn't need to be as it was all great fun and our guide was so good. I absolutely loved it - safe, but thrillingly fast (speed we went was under our control, and was our choice); snowmobiles were stable and very easy to manoevre and drive. I got up to 70-80 kph!!! We drove along a straight and level track (it was an iced-over fjord). Best trip on our holiday and I want to come again! Many thanks to the team - also gave us some great entertainment in the Sami lavo afterwards, songs, and hot drinks, and a taste of dried reindeer - yummy!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent day out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We enjoyed an excellent day out on snowmobiles with Hans last week. Picked up and dropped back to our hotel, we were treated to the best in warm clothing, apparently new skidoos and bags of interesting information about the area - geographically varied and historically fascinating. Hans seems to love introducing people to his remote part of the world. Besides being highly competent with the machines and instructions, and invariably good-humoured, he is very knowledgeable about every aspect of life there, which made our trip so very fulfilling . He also provided us with a highly adequate lunch in surprisingly civilised conditions in this end corner of the Western world - all on top of the basic fun of learning to ride the skidoos. Highly recommended.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT SNOWMOBILE TRIP”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Our day out with Ulf on 11th February 2013 was absolutely amazing.

He kitted us out in warm clothing which was a godsend due to my case going missing at the airport!!! We were then provided with an almost brand new snowmobile for our excursion. I just loved the warm handlebars.

Ulf was a wonderful guide taking us to the Russian border and across some wonderful landscapes.

We stopped for ‘lunch’ at his remote cabin where he provided us with a delicious ‘survival meal’ and coffee. Well cooked!!! The outside toilet was a challenge to say the least!!! LOL.

He clearly knows his stuff and was very knowledgeable on the area, making it a very interesting trip.

Many thanks for such an entertaining day out Ulf. Hope Colin didn’t damage your snowmobile when he tipped us off it!!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barents Safari Tours also viewed

 

Been to Barents Safari Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barents Safari Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.