We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good and great view.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thon Hotel Kirkenes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Thon Hotel Kirkenes to your Saves list
Thon Hotel Kirkenes
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Johan Knudtzens gate 11, Kirkenes 9900, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kirkenes
Mexico City
Top Contributor
334 reviews 334 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
“Very good and great view.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

The room with view to the ocean is great. Decoration and cleanliness are very good. Hotel is modern. No body lotion as in the rest of the norwegians hotels we stayed in. Free wifi. Excellent breakfast. Good free coffee all day long. The terrace is great. As we had a beautiful summer day, lots of people were enjoying the terrace.
Dinner at the restaurant was good. Service slow but nice.
The shuttle to the airport stops at the hotel which is very convenient.
walking distance to the city center. There is no much to see but it is worth visiting the World War II underground refuge.
If you want to save on food, you can walk two blocks and buy hot dogs for 25 krons.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben R, Hotel Manager at Thon Hotel Kirkenes, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
My dear guest viajeramx1,

Thank you for your feedback. Many travelers will appreicate your accurate information. Welcome back to Kirkenes and Thon Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    106
    22
    5
    2
See reviews for
26
104
17
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I think that this is one of the top hotel chains in Norway. Although we arrived over 2 hours late (see posting SAS and Oslo airport), they set out a snack of soup and fresh bread for all the late arrivals. The soup was the best; thick and tasty and the fresh bread. Wow!
Breakfast was also a wonderful experience, along the lines of all Norwegian hotels, but 4 star. I would stay here again and not be afraid to stay at any of their hotels in Norway.

This is the first hotel where we experienced the following: the lights won't work unless you insert your card key(Room Key) into a slot by the door. I imagine that this is to eliminate the possibility of guests leaving the lights on when they leave the room. I think that I read that electricity has gotten expensive in Norway.

Room Tip: We arrived late Friday night, had a snack, went for a walk and collapsed into bed. Slept well, no n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben R, Hotel Manager at Thon Hotel Kirkenes, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Undersigned and all my staff at the Thon Hotel Kirkenes would like to thank you for your feedback. Pleased that the hotel lived up to your expectations. Our solution with the room key is one of our initiatives with focus on the environment. Hope to see you again in Kirkenes.

With best regards Ruben – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Very relaxing and welcoming. Staff helpful.
food good and a variety on offer. Rooms very good with plenty of room.
breakfast very good with a good variety.
Staff English speaking and helpful with special diets.

Room Tip: Overlooking the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben R, Hotel Manager at Thon Hotel Kirkenes, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear guest from Brecon,

Thank you so much for your review, and you highly recommendation. Hope that you will visit us next time you are in Kirkenes. Best Regards Ruben, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

I arrived at Thon Kirkenes Hotel with my family, first impression was set by the receptionist Daniel [--]at the front desk. First glance I was fine with how he dealt with us and did not mind as we arrived at the hotel at 12:20+\- and Check in time was only at 15:00 ( Something he made quite clear while pointing to the sign behind him.) My brother in law advised him that he got confirmation of sea facing rooms and they were discussing this while I went back to my luggage, the view did not really bother me and I was just quite happy to get a room with a double bed. An e-mail was even shown to him that sea facing rooms was confirmed to my brother in law but I did not follow or listen in on that conversation. We went into town to meet with my brother in laws brother. We had lunch in town and I wanted to return back to the hotel and Check in. Came to the hotel by myself and I checked in with another very polite, nice and friendly guy by the Alexander and he helped me and then I advised him that I will need a double bed, he read on the screen that we requested sea facing and that he did not have any with a double bed available but they can move the twins together to make it a double. I was very please at him being so accommodating even if I did not Ask for it. I was about to answer when the receptionist that helped us earlier, Daniel came out and said something to the receptionist who is helping me in Norwegian. Next minute he turns to me and says we do not have anymore sea facing rooms and we (they) should give it to people who is paying Kr. 2000 per night. I must be honest, this a hotel????? More low rent and insulting behaviour have I not experienced in my entire life. Very unprofessional, rude and he should not work in Hotels. If this is what Thon is about, people do not waste your money even if you are not paying for an upscale room.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben R, Hotel Manager at Thon Hotel Kirkenes, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
My dear guest Randall, from Stavanger.
We who daily work in tourism and hotel industry appreciates good -and bad feedback. Yours is the last category, and this I fully appreciate. I apology the experience regards our service who not impressed. I really hope you`re testing us again, because I know we are better than 2 out of 5. I hope I`ll meet you as my guest again soon. With best regards from Ruben - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Great location right on the water - very modern and clean rooms. Great breakfast (one of the best I've had) and dinner was fantastic. Would recommend this for holiday makers and tourists to Kirkenes. Highly recommended if your at the top of the world.

Room Tip: Sea front view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben R, Hotel Manager at Thon Hotel Kirkenes, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Jeff,

Thank you for a great review! Our staff really appreciate feedback like this. Hope to see you on another occasion.

Best Regards Ruben - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Having stayed in several hotels on Noway's arctic coast, this is definitely one of the best ones. The rooms are perfectly clean and in top conditions, though a bit small. But you shouldn't spend too much time in your room anyway. Food is very good (especially the salmon, of course). The prices are typical Norwegian, but not exaggerated. The curtains have a good quality and darken the room well during the endless days in summer, so you can always have a good sleep. Staff is also very kind and helpful. The hotel has a tour operator's desk inside which allows you to book your tours easily.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben R, Hotel Manager at Thon Hotel Kirkenes, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear guest EndlessTraveller100,

Thank you for your kind feedback! Our goal is to be top 25 hotel on tripadvisor in Norway and we met your expectations, we appreciate it. The salmon is also my favorite, it is delivered by our local supplier Villa Artic. We want to offer our guests a menu with local food.

The tourist information desk will be open until the end of august, It Is a collaboration with local authority. Hopefully we can continue the partnership next year. We know our guest appreciate it.

Welcome back! Best Regards Ruben - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadso, Norway
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Me and my wife stayed 2 nights in the weekend. We have stayed at the hotel several times. Nice rooms. The hotel has great location at waterfront, but near city centre. Breakfast is also good. Nice staff and service at the hotel.

Room Tip: 3 or 4 floor on front or sides
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben R, Hotel Manager at Thon Hotel Kirkenes, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Alfen,
Thank you for a fantastic review and your numerous stay with us at the Thon Hotel Kirkenes.
Welcome back!

Best Regards -Ruben - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thon Hotel Kirkenes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Kirkenes

Address: Johan Knudtzens gate 11, Kirkenes 9900, Norway
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Nordland > Kirkenes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kirkenes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thon Hotel Kirkenes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New hotel, (open 5/2010) located directly on the seaside. 200 m from shoppping and restaurant area. The restaurant 69’north is specialized on local food, as king crab, reindeer and salmon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Thon Hotel Kirkenes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thon Hotel Kirkenes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.