We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweden in May” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Collection Hotel Bolinder Munktell

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Collection Hotel Bolinder Munktell to your Saves list
Clarion Collection Hotel Bolinder Munktell
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Munktellstorget, Eskilstuna 633 43, Sweden (Formerly Clarion Collection Bolinder Munktell)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Eskilstuna
Brampton, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Sweden in May”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I traveled to Sweden last week for business. I was very excited as it was my first time traveling to any Scandinavian country. I checked in on Sunday and was staying a total of 5 nights. When I arrived, there was no clear indication where I could park to check in or where reception was. The park garage was behind the main hotel build, off the side road and there is no free parking, at least not for non-members.

Once inside, the interior hotel was nice. Their buffet restaurant sits on the side of the river and it was quit nice to sit outside during the long days.

My room was very no frills. Power is controlled by placing your card in a card holder by the door, much like at hotels in the Caribbean. The furniture was old Ikea, reading lamps by the bed didn't work and there was no alarm clock for by a TV clock that was not set and would loss time when you you removed your card and left the room. There was no face cloths provided by the hotel and the hot water tap was restricted. The only saving grace was the bed, two single bed pushed together but the most comfortable I have slept on in a long time.

Additionally, the room had floor to ceiling curtains, to block the sun during sleeping hours, useful for those who need darkness to sleep, and there was a mini frig with soda and snacks for purchase.

The meals provided where average, but there are lots of restaurants and bars in walking distance. If I have to go again, I may try another hotel.

Room Tip: The hotel provides a free breakfast and dinner buffet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    33
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
30
4
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Lovely hotel with friendly staff, right by the river. About 15min walk from the train station.

Very useful location for business meetings as they provide rooms with all the amenities you will require.

If you stay at the hotel, do not miss a visit to the Munktell Museum.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falun, Sweden
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Hotel is located central, however, adjacent to a park area. My room was recently renovated, also having very good WiFi connection (approx. 8-10 Mb/s). Staff is nice. In the evening, the hotel is serving a complimentary buffet, with a nice soup, some cheese selections and more.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Located in the building that used to be the headquarters of the local tractor manufacturer, this hotel is positioned nicely by the river in the attractive town of Eskilstuna. Reception is a bit dark and the whole place has the feel of somewhere that's several years out-of-date, as you'll see from the moment you enter the corridors and take the escalator.

My room was perfectly fine but again felt somewhat dated. If you're looking for a modern style hotel that has a brand new room, air con, large flat screen TV and so on, then you won't find those here. But this hotel does have a certain old-fashioned charm. Wifi is available.

I took both an evening meal and breakfast in the dining area, both of which were buffet style and both I enjoyed. If you're looking for steak and chips for dinner and eggs and bacon for breakfast, think again. But if you do like meats, cheeses and various types of pickled herring (which I do) then you're in luck, and your meal will be all the more enjoyable for that typically Swedish and traditional style.

I didn't use any of the hotel facilities, I'm not even sure if there is a bar! So if you're looking for a bed for the night, this hotel is fine. If you're looking for a good restaurant and lively bar (business travellers, I'm looking at you) then you'll need to leave the hotel to find somewhere nearby. I was lucky enough to be hosted at the micro-brewery pub nearby, which was superb, but is for members and guests only.

In summary, fine for a short stay, conveniently located.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

The hotel is situated close to the city center by a small lake and stream in an old industrial area in Eskilstuna. Surroundings are hence really nice for a stroll. My only complaint is the uninspired breakfast which was in contrast to the really nice free meal served in the evening. Staff both at front desk and in restaurant were very pleasant and we got a room with a view over the water upon request. Albeit the breakfast was on the sad side, chances are we will return here anyways since the overall experience was a good one.

Agree on previous description of tiny pillows in the bed ;)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

The Clarion of Eskilstuna is the favourite choice for me and my wife when in Eskilstuna. It is wonderfully placed by the river, very close to the city centre and close to the old town as well as the museums such as the Rademacher craftwork centre. Eskilstuna may not be the cultural centre of Europe but it is a quiet little Swedish town. Staying at the Clarion is very good, comfortable rooms, good food, good service, - very much above some other hotels in the town.
So give it a go! Eskilstuna is a very good place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

This hotel is very nice and clean, peaceful and quiet. If you don't care about entertainment or bar
in a hotel this is the place to stay in Eskilstuna. City center is just around the corner ...so there you can find entertainment if you want ;-)
Rooms are very very clean and you will get a good night sleep.
The room rate includes breakfest, afternoon tea/coffee and supper which are served every day. And you can get free tea and coffee all day in the restaurant.
Good choise if you travel to Eskilstuna.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Bolinder Munktell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Bolinder Munktell

Address: Munktellstorget, Eskilstuna 633 43, Sweden (Formerly Clarion Collection Bolinder Munktell)
Location: Sweden > Swedish Lakeland > Sodermanland County > Eskilstuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Eskilstuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Bolinder Munktell 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Bolinder Munktell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Eskilstuna
Eskilstuna Clarion
Clarion Collection Eskilstuna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Collection Hotel Bolinder Munktell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.