We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice friendly hotel, perfect for Business Meetings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Collection Hotel Bolinder Munktell

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Collection Hotel Bolinder Munktell to your Saves list
Clarion Collection Hotel Bolinder Munktell
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Munktellstorget, Eskilstuna 633 43, Sweden (Formerly Clarion Collection Bolinder Munktell)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Eskilstuna
Stafford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Nice friendly hotel, perfect for Business Meetings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Lovely hotel with friendly staff, right by the river. About 15min walk from the train station.

Very useful location for business meetings as they provide rooms with all the amenities you will require.

If you stay at the hotel, do not miss a visit to the Munktell Museum.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    40
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
39
5
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Falun, Sweden
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Hotel is located central, however, adjacent to a park area. My room was recently renovated, also having very good WiFi connection (approx. 8-10 Mb/s). Staff is nice. In the evening, the hotel is serving a complimentary buffet, with a nice soup, some cheese selections and more.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Located in the building that used to be the headquarters of the local tractor manufacturer, this hotel is positioned nicely by the river in the attractive town of Eskilstuna. Reception is a bit dark and the whole place has the feel of somewhere that's several years out-of-date, as you'll see from the moment you enter the corridors and take the escalator.

My room was perfectly fine but again felt somewhat dated. If you're looking for a modern style hotel that has a brand new room, air con, large flat screen TV and so on, then you won't find those here. But this hotel does have a certain old-fashioned charm. Wifi is available.

I took both an evening meal and breakfast in the dining area, both of which were buffet style and both I enjoyed. If you're looking for steak and chips for dinner and eggs and bacon for breakfast, think again. But if you do like meats, cheeses and various types of pickled herring (which I do) then you're in luck, and your meal will be all the more enjoyable for that typically Swedish and traditional style.

I didn't use any of the hotel facilities, I'm not even sure if there is a bar! So if you're looking for a bed for the night, this hotel is fine. If you're looking for a good restaurant and lively bar (business travellers, I'm looking at you) then you'll need to leave the hotel to find somewhere nearby. I was lucky enough to be hosted at the micro-brewery pub nearby, which was superb, but is for members and guests only.

In summary, fine for a short stay, conveniently located.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

The hotel is situated close to the city center by a small lake and stream in an old industrial area in Eskilstuna. Surroundings are hence really nice for a stroll. My only complaint is the uninspired breakfast which was in contrast to the really nice free meal served in the evening. Staff both at front desk and in restaurant were very pleasant and we got a room with a view over the water upon request. Albeit the breakfast was on the sad side, chances are we will return here anyways since the overall experience was a good one.

Agree on previous description of tiny pillows in the bed ;)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

The Clarion of Eskilstuna is the favourite choice for me and my wife when in Eskilstuna. It is wonderfully placed by the river, very close to the city centre and close to the old town as well as the museums such as the Rademacher craftwork centre. Eskilstuna may not be the cultural centre of Europe but it is a quiet little Swedish town. Staying at the Clarion is very good, comfortable rooms, good food, good service, - very much above some other hotels in the town.
So give it a go! Eskilstuna is a very good place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

This hotel is very nice and clean, peaceful and quiet. If you don't care about entertainment or bar
in a hotel this is the place to stay in Eskilstuna. City center is just around the corner ...so there you can find entertainment if you want ;-)
Rooms are very very clean and you will get a good night sleep.
The room rate includes breakfest, afternoon tea/coffee and supper which are served every day. And you can get free tea and coffee all day in the restaurant.
Good choise if you travel to Eskilstuna.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012 via mobile

This was our second visit to this hotel which is actually quite nicely located on the river. Its the former hq of historic volvo plant machinery and has an industrial museum nextdoor which is free to visit if a hotel guest if you wish. The hotel staff try really hard to satisfy and are very pleasant and helpful. One really good bonus is the hotel provides both an afternoon tea and main evening meal for its guests which is free of charge which adds exceptional value to the stay. Some reviewers have stated the food is like school food but this is personal choice and im disappointed that such comments are passed when the hotel is trying to offer something which is far above most normal hotels offerings. The rooms were fine and we had a newly refurbished bathroom which was better than our last room. My only issue was the pillows were so small that a folded pair of socks would be bigger. I requested if larger pillows were available but i ended up buying my own at a local bedding store. Nice stay though!

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Bolinder Munktell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Bolinder Munktell

Address: Munktellstorget, Eskilstuna 633 43, Sweden (Formerly Clarion Collection Bolinder Munktell)
Location: Sweden > Swedish Lakeland > Sodermanland County > Eskilstuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Eskilstuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Bolinder Munktell 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Bolinder Munktell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Eskilstuna
Eskilstuna Clarion
Clarion Collection Eskilstuna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Collection Hotel Bolinder Munktell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.