We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic holiday! Great Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Vilamoura

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Vilamoura to your Saves list
Four Seasons Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apartado 507, Vilamoura 8125-908, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Blackpool
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday! Great Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

We visited for the first time last year and loved it so much we went again this year.

The apartments are great; spacious, clean and well-equipped. Although they are not new, they are still better than many other places we have stayed and there is a refurbishment programme working its way around the resort. Pools, gardens and other facilities are excellent and well maintained too. The staff are all friendly and extremely helpful.

We ate at the poolside restaurant several times and had some fantastic evenings at the bar where there is live entertainment most nights. The theme evenings (brazilian, italian, portuguese, etc) were great value too.

Outside the resort was "The Old Village" which was very pretty, with a small supermarket, bars and restaurants and not far away was Vilamoura with its beautiful marina.

I cannot fault this resort and think the people who put some of the reviews on here must have tried very hard to find things to moan about!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    86
    13
    6
    2
See reviews for
173
75
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

The location of this hotel is lovely,set in the picturesque old village, and to my husband's delight, close proximity to an upmarket golf course.
We were greeted warmly by staff on arrival, we were early for check in but our rooms were ready and waiting.
The apartments are spacious and well equipped. As a mum I particularly appreciated the washing machine and tumble dryer, there is a wide range of TV channels ( I must mention the professional hairdryer!).
The pool and gardens of this resort are simply stunning, and the general overall ambience is serene and relaxing.

My husband and I had several treatments from the spa and hairdresser, which were affordable and delivered by truly professional and skilled therapists/stylist who were also very friendly.

The food at the restaurant is delicious and varied. There are some barbeque evenings ideal for family, but there is also an 'a la carte'menu for fine dining. The restaurant staff are friendly, knowledgeable, and deliver excellent service with an 'ease' that in my opinion comes only with experience. They were particularly accomodating to my 3 year old!
The person who enjoyed this holiday the most is our 3 year old daughter, she was delighted with the brand new adventure playground,and the large outdoor and indoor pools.
We were impressed with the Kid's Club and their wide range of daily activities. My little one made lots of new friends, and she keeps asking to go back. There was also a good ratio of staff to children.
The welcome evening was a nice touch, held on the terrace with complementary drinks, there was face painting and balloons for the kids. It was a nice opportunity to mix with the other residents.

Overall, our 2 weeks were thoroughly enjoyed, and everything we were looking for in a family holiday.
As my occupation is Cabin Crew for an International airline, I travel worldwide on a regular basis and I stay in many hotels, my expectations are high.
I think the Four Seasons, Vilamoura, cleverley balances the desire for a hotel experience with the privacy and practiality of a 'home from home'style accomodation.

We will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meath
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stayed in the Four Seasons Vilamoura with my husband & 2 children aged 3 & 6.
Arrived to the hotel in happy mood after lovely flight to the coldest rudest receptionist ever. No smile, no welcome, just a cold stare! Room was very dated and badly in need of refurbishment. Kids club a disgrace. Is situated in the garage in the underground car park which was absolutely awful. Told there will be a new location shortly, beside the playground which is nice, but the other problem was the woman running the club who had absolutely no idea how to interact with children and made no attempt to encourage the children to stay or return to the club. Live music 5 nights a week until midnight in the bar which is very loud and can be heard in the rooms.
The rest of the staff were very friendly and very helpful. The pool area is lovely & has a sign up asking people not to reserve sunloungers. The food was very nice, great selection on menu. Location very picturesque, nice & quiet in 'The Old Village' but nothing for kids in the evening in Vilamoura - only the Marina which has fabulous restaurants, very upmarket but you would walk around it in 20 minutes.
Alot of the clientele were elderly. The apartments are probably 20 years old and are privately owned & rented. Most of the children there seemed to be on holiday with granny & grandad!
I would recommend the Four Seasons for the older traveller and would not return with my family unless the rooms had been completely modernised and the entertainment for kids during the day & evening reviewed.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoaquimEusebio, General Manager at Four Seasons Vilamoura, responded to this review, June 28, 2011
Dear FionaMeath

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

At the outset may I say how surprised I am that you were not greeted with our usually high level of customer service at the reception desk? We pride ourselves on consistently giving 5 star services to our valued customers, so I am therefore sorry we did not meet your expectations.

Our newly built kids club and new colorful adventure playground has been very well received… pictures are on our website of this fantastic facility. We listened to previous comments from our customers and have hence invested heavily in this new facility.

We are pleased to hear that your thought our pools are lovely, our food was good and with a wide selection.

Four Seasons appeals to all types of holiday makers… we are a very family friendly resort with golf courses on our doorstep and the Marina is only a 15 minute walk away. I am afraid your comments do not match that of the majority of our very happy customers.

I will be contacting you directly to attempt to resolve any dissatisfaction you feel from your recent stay with us and hope that you will allow me to redress the balance in order to limit your disappointment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

This was our fifth visit to the Four Seasons and it never fails to live up to our expectations! Good location - pleasant strolling distance from the marina and cheap taxi ride back. Beautiful, well kept gardens and clean and tidy pool area. No problem with sunbed grabbers. Entertainment at nights is ok and handy if you dont want to go out of the complex but a little repetative! The themed food nights are value for money and the staff work hard to serve you quickly and with a smile! Only downside is that the appartments are beginning to look a bit dated - I know refurbishment is underway but the bathrooms are really looking dated and should be upgraded sooner rather than later! The decor in the clubhouse is also now looking very old fashioned - this was highlighted even more when we visited the Four Seasons Country Club at Quinta de Lago where the clubhouse is very tastefuly furnished. Overall. another relaxing week - cant wait for next years visit!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoaquimEusebio, General Manager at Four Seasons Vilamoura, responded to this review, June 28, 2011
Dear Northerntribe,

Thank you for your kind comments about Four Seasons Vilamoura.

We are very glad that you and your family, once again, enjoyed your holiday with us.

As mentioned by you, we are currently undergoing a refurbishment programme that emphasis specially in the bathrooms and apartments. We are also undergoing an evaluation of our Club House.

Looking forward to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

Good points re the hotel were the large clean pool, OK location near the Old village, quite well equiped kitchen especially appreciated having a dishwasher.

Bad points re the hotel were the poor fitting sheets and duvet covers for the sofa bed. Insuffccient pillows for the 4 occupants. But most annoying was the sunbed grabbers out from 7:00 am to put towels out to block swathes of up to 10 sunbeds, only to use 3 or 4 of them for most of the day. You could see the individuals leaving to go into town for the day and still leave the towels on the sunbeds for the entire day.

Vilamoura was a rather soul-less destination and we would not go back there again

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoaquimEusebio, General Manager at Four Seasons Vilamoura, responded to this review, April 14, 2011
Dear Maxalan,

Thanks you for your stay in July 2010 and very good comments about the Resort.

We will evaluate and action your "Bad points".

The apartments are under a strategic refurbishment programme on which this point has been looked at.

The "sunbed grabbers" is problem suffered by many resorts around the world. This issue made us recruiting this year someone to make guests respecting the rules.

Vilamoura is one of the top Algarve spots destination. The quality of this area is highly recommended by all visitors. I am disappointed that you and your family did not enjoy this superb location.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascais
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

We have reserved one week at the resort but unfortunately we were only able to spend three days there, due to work shedule.
When we arrived the apartment was clean and tidy but had a cat sleeping in one of the rooms!!!!!
Friendly service at the front desk however when we ask to stay in the appartment one or two hours more the lady kindly explained that she can't decided and that she had to ask to the housekipping service .
We find it very strange, because we work in hotels and is unusual the services of housekipping have this kind of decision.
We were further surprised when they phoned to report us that it was not possible, without giving any explanation.
In summary we regret what happened and remember that hospitality is the key for a good service.
The housekeeping service should have the primary duty to check the apartments so that strange episodes do not happen !!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoaquimEusebio, General Manager at Four Seasons Vilamoura, responded to this review, April 14, 2011
Dear Teresa Ferreira,

Thank you for your stay and comments made about Four Seasons Vilamoura Resort.

We were very sorry to hear that you could not enjoy your full week with us due to work schedule.

We very much appreciate your comments about the "friendly service".

In terms of your "episode", we are very sorry to hear, however, as you may understand, this is an open air Resort and animals like "cats" can go in and hide without being noticed by the Housekeeping Staff.

Also, check-out time is not normally like an hotel. In a Resort, the amount of time spent cleaning an apartment is far superior to a hotel bedroom. So, it is normally the Executive Head Housekeeper, who makes this type of decision based on the workload and staff allocation.

I hope to see you back soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

We visited this resort, with our family, to look at apartments and were stranded by the ash cloud. The staff could not have been more friendly or helpful, we had none of the rip-off experiences we heard of elsewhere.
We loved it so much we went back later in the year just as a couple and it was just as good second time around.
We loved the complex, the area around it and Vilamoura itself. Thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoaquimEusebio, General Manager at Four Seasons Vilamoura, responded to this review, January 19, 2011
Dear obecalp1, thank you for your review and I am so glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us on the 2 occasions.

We pride ourselves on delivering good, friendly and efficient service to our valued customers and we are very happy that you have experienced this on your visits.

I will pass on your kind comments to our staff. We are delighted that you scored us 5 stars with regards to nearly everything.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Vilamoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Vilamoura

Address: Apartado 507, Vilamoura 8125-908, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#2 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#2 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#3 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Seasons Vilamoura 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Four Seasons Vilamoura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura Hotel Vilamoura
Vilamoura Four Seasons
Four Seasons Vilamoura Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Vilamoura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.