We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but could be better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa to your Saves list
As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Brasil | Lote 4.11.1B, Vilamoura 8135, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good but could be better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed here a week ago, I always look over reviews on trip advisor and had seen a mix of reviews varying from amazing times to issues over cleanliness. We had a rough idea what it would be like as 3 years previously we had stayed at the Hotel of this resort and i can say that it was amazing maybe except for the food aspect (im an extremely fussy/ particular eater ) this was one of the reasons we decided to go for an apartment this time and we know vilamoura fairly well as it would be our 3rd visit. We arrived and parked in the underground carpark, this would be the last time, this was due to the staircases we used to get to reception/ apartments being extremely dirty they had little dead bugs and spiders all over them. Checking in was fine and we made our way to our apartment, which all in all was nice it just could have been better i may be being picky but throughout the stay we shared our kitchen with two spiders in a corner ,in the bathroom there were also numerous cobwebs and also in the bedroom it appeared no one had been in that room for a while. It was also a shame that we couldnt really use the outside terraced part of the apartment as yet again they could have done with a good clean i understand insects etc might be out there etc but the actually sun loungers were dirty and the cushions weren't tidied on. The last of the negatives is that my boyfriend cooked the first meal we were there only to find he couldn't get it out the oven as there wasn't any oven gloves or tea towels, we ended up improvising by using a towel out the bathroom. On the plus side it was a nice size apartment and fairly modern, the facilities were as good as 3 years ago the only thing i would say is during high season the staff around the pools are a bit more attentive during high season than they were when we came this time .

It was an enjoyable stay, could have been cleaner but overall served as a good base for the holiday .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    18
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
74
26
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This was the second visit at As cascatas and it didn't disappoint us. The apartments are lovely and very spacious and cleaned everyday by the housekeeping service. Staff are very helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Added bonus of being able to use Hilton facilities on the same site, ie gym, pools, free shuttle to marina and beach. Only drawback is the nearest supermarket is a 10 min walk away or a trip into town, but we knew that before we booked again, so the positive outweighed the negative! we will return again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica R, Sales & Marketing Manager at As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

We were delighted to learn that you and your family have enjoyed your stay with us.
Your kind words about our associates and the Resort grounds and facilities are very much appreciated.

Thank you once again for your comments and we really look forward to welcome you to our Resort again soon.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I have recently stayed at As Cascatas and I have to say it is the perfect choice for a relaxing vacation. Front office staff is extremly helpful. always available even on early hours.
Housekeeping cleaned the apartment perfectly in 30 minutes.
Apartments are very comfortable and large woth a full equipped kitchen, king beds and a huge libing room.The restaurants, choice of pools, bar service and walking distance to Vilamoura was just perfect. We will be back.... soon i hope!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica R, Sales & Marketing Manager at As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa and for you compliments regarding our facilities and services.

We value each and every Guests review and appreciate the time you take out to write them. We here at As Cascatas aim to please and satisfy our guests and truly excel to provide an unforgettable and memorable Holiday Experience.

We would like to thank you for sharing your feedback, as it gives us the opportunity to follow up on your experience and to ensure our service is up to our usual standards.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The facilities are excellent with 6 great pools, kids club, restaurants, spa. The apartments are also very well equipped.

However this is not a 5 star resort and it should be for the price. The main problems letting it down is the cleanliness of the public areas and the maintenance overall. The public areas do not seem to be cleaned regularly for example on the day we arrives there was an ice cream on the steps to reception and this was not cleaned until the next day. Another example is that on the stairs was a cigarette butt that was never cleaned away. The paths around the resort were dusty and dirty too. The sunloungers were also dirty. Yes, I'm being picky but this is not 5 star standards. The apartment was clean. Both the resort and apartment could do with some minor maintenance. For example the apartment had a pedal bin that was broken, and the wall in the kitchen by the bin was damaged badly also the dishwasher wouldn't open because the plinth didn't fit. In public areas the hedges needed a trim and marble was missing from the walls. I know this is a busy time of year but this could easily be remedied with more staff. The staff they do have were without fail all excellent.

Now on to sun loungers ... As other reviewers have said this is ridiculous with very selfish guests reserving them very early in the morning to only use them a few hours later in the day. Officially you're not allowed to reserve them but staff do not enforce this. At the Sensatori in Tenerife they do by removing personal belongings before 9, a much better system. Also do not take a lounger on the very wet grass areas as I was bitten badly by Mosquitos when I did - although this is often the only place left to get a sun lounger.

Wifi should have been free and I expected full satellite TV.

In summary I would have expected more for what we paid at this resort.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica R, Diretor de vendas at As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback at TripAdvisor and for your compliments on our apartments and resort facilities.

Although we regret to learn we haven’t fully met your expectations, we would like to thank you for sharing your feedback, as it gives us the opportunity to follow up on your experience and to ensure our service is up to our usual standards.

Your feedback are worth of our full attention and your comments were forwarded to the responsible person for each department in ordert to improve our services.

Again I apologise for the disappointing experience on this occasion.We will continue to work hard to ensure that we are meeting everyone’s’ expectations.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on another occasion in order to provide you with a memorable experience.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

There are several issues that demonstrate why this resort should not be 5*. No overview of the apartments or the facilities were provided at check-in other than cards for pool towels & a resort map. Wi-fi is €18 per device per week even 3* star hotels offer this for free. The apartments are well equipped & spacious but are not clean. On arrival clumps of hair, dust & crumbs were clearly visible on the floor, balcony & under furniture. This is not helped by housekeeping turning up each night at between 6 & 7.30 as our family of 4 were getting ready to go out for dinner. This resulted in a 5min clean as they worked around us. Reserving sun loungers is also another big issue with some guests leaving books, clothes etc on loungers at 8am, well before the pool attendant opened the pool area... See pic. We witnessed 1 family reserve 7 beds before leaving for the beach & returning at 2pm... Very poor show !! The pool area could also do with a thorough clean. Although positioned in a nice area the supermarket & marina are a 15 & 30min walk respectively. The Hilton do offer a shuttle bus to the beach & marina but queues often form for this service. The last bus departs the marina at 9.20pm & there is a chronic shortage of taxis in Vilamoura. Food & drink are a total rip off with water priced 10 times more than the supermarket. 5 star prices but certainly not 5 star standards!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica R, Diretor de vendas at As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We regret to hear that that your stay did not meet your expectations.

Our guetst feedback is very important for us and We have taken particular note on your comment regarding houskeeping, front office, pool service and F&B services that have been forwarded to the responsible person in order to improve our services.

We would like to thank you for your feedback, as it gives us the opportunity to follow up on your experience and to ensure our service is up to our usual standards. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience caused.

We truly hope you grant us another opportunity to welcome you back to our Resort and make your next stay memorable.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Paying more than 350 € per night, without breakfast you would expect the apartment to be wonderful or at least meat the expectation of a 5 star or luxury, having stayed previously in this hotel and in the Hilton next door I was expecting a very good experience, but after only 30 minutes of arriving at room 116 I started to annoyed with many bad things. From damaged sofa, uncomfortable chairs, broken fridge, broken trash bin crawling with ants, old and dirty and damaged outside chairs, bad tv quality. Not even enough or clean glasses I had in the kitchen, for a reservation for 5 I had like 3 water glasses.
After complaining for 30 minutes they said they will move me in the next day to another apartment, this one was in better conditions, but also found some issues like old carpets or no carpets at all in one of the rooms. Again bad tv quality and this time got a technician from the Hilton (because this hotel only has 1 technician) which said that the problem was with the splitter that was to weak, he would inform the hotel but until the end of my stay that was 4 more days, nothing was changed.

Overall and comparing to the previous stays, this hotel is not anymore a 5 star apartment hotel. They stop caring and looking after its conditions.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren L, Sales & Marketing at As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at As Cascatas Golf & Spa Resort. We value each and every Guests review and appreciate the time you take out to write them. We take all of your comments on Board and try to implement them in making our 5 star resort an even more enjoyable location for your much needed and deserved holidays.
We regret to see in your review details of what happened during your stay with us.

We are aware of the situations that occurred and we are sorry that even after the room change and the attempt to make things right, still did not satisfy you. All of your comments will be analyzed for future implementation on always improving our services and facilities. We hope that you come back to visit us again in the near future here you experience can be once again a positive and memorable one.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My Husband & I stayed here for 2 weeks in March and had such a fantastic time.
We rented both 2 bed and 1 bed apartments during this time and we were so pleased with both. The apartments are immaculate, very spacious and have everything you need. We are regular visitors to Vilamoura and can honestly say that As Cascatas is the best place we've stayed in. The staff are so friendly and helpful and we will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren L, Sales & Marketing at As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at As Cascatas Golf & Spa Resort. We value each and every Guests review and appreciate the time you take out to write them. We here at As Cascatas Golf & Spa Resort aim to please and satisfy our guests and truly excel to provide an unforgettable and memorable Holiday Experience. We Take all of your comments on Board and try to implement them in making our 5 star resort an even more enjoyable location for your much needed and deserved holidays.

Thank you for your lovely review you made regarding your 2 week stay in March. We truly appreciate your lovely compliments about our accommodation, resort and staff! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilamoura
1.6 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#3 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 stars 468 reviews
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 stars 2,507 reviews
3.4 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#1 of 162 in Albufeira
5.0 of 5 stars 490 reviews
4.8 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 17 in Almancil
5.0 of 5 stars 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa

Address: Rua do Brasil | Lote 4.11.1B, Vilamoura 8135, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#8 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5-star Suite complex is located in Vilamoura, with the Largest and most Luxury Suites in Vilamoura, within a unique resort set in five hectares of gardens, featuring three onsite restaurants, bars, kids club, six pools, a semi-indoor pool, Golf simulator, fitness centre, tennis and occasional live entertainment. Enjoy all the homely comforts in your Suite while having access to the service and facilities provided by one of the world’s leading luxury international hotel chains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Splendia so you can book your As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
As Cascatas Golf Resort And Spa
As Cascatas Golf Hotel Vilamoura
As Cascatas Hotel
As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.