We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserted facilities, uncaring staff, noisy gardeners” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua da Torre d'Agua Lote 4.11.1B, Vilamoura 8125-615, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - From €167
Ranked #3 of 35 hotels in Vilamoura
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Deserted facilities, uncaring staff, noisy gardeners”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2010

It all looks very promising upon first impressions, the usual high Hilton standards that you have the right to expect from the brand, however look closely and it's not that great a place.

With the exception of a couple of waiters in the restaurant, the staff are cold, unwelcoming, and above all unhelpful. We were awoken on the 2nd morning at 7.30AM by the sound of chainsaws right underneath our balcony (gardeners trimming trees), having previously been awoken at midnight by the garbage men emptying bins. I enquired at reception whether this was normal and likely to be repeated the 3rd night. "I don't know" said the good man. Can you find out? No I can't, he said. He offered to move us to another room. I said no point moving for 1 night if the noise isn't repeated tomorrow. I don't know if it will be and I cannot find out was the answer. So we moved. Exactly the same type of room but looking at the deserted pool area rather than the golf course. Reception tried to sell this as an "upgrade" to us, presumably because of the different view. Right....of course it is.

It bills itself as a spa hotel but even to set foot inside as a hotel guest is a chargeable experience, even just to use the pool. The lady in the spa made no efforts to welcome us, explain anything, offer anything such as towels or directions, just informed us that if we chose to use the spa: "I will decide how much I will charge you". Lovely attitude. So we walked out and never used the spa. If you're a paying hotel guest, anythign other than actual treatments ought to be free to use and you should be made to feel welcome.

One of the 2 restaurants was closed and since 90% of the Algarve seemed to be closed as well (this was pre-Christmas) we were forced to eat 3 nights in a row in the other hotel restaurant. This wasn't a huge negative as the staff were reasonably friendly by the usual rude Portuguese standards and the food was fine. On the 2nd night, the staff Xmas party was happening downstairs as we were eating and the waiters seemed to regard having to serve us as an imposition that kept them away from joining the party below. They popped out every few minutes to check on the party proceedings.

The hotel was practically empty the 3 nights we stayed. Rather than offer us a true upgrade into a nicer room for the noise disturbance (easily done with a sub-10% occupancy rate), management seemd more interested in pushing their timeshare apartments via flyers under the door and displays in the common areas.

This was our first experience of the Algarve and we left distinctly underwhelmed.

Hilton needs to review staff attitudes in this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,079 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    660
    293
    92
    27
    7
See reviews for
340
452
17
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2010

Our room was spotlessly clean, spacious and very comfortable. The staff were charming and very helpful. The spa had a wide variety of beauty treatments available but these were expensive, albeit no more costly than you would expect in a hotel of this quality. The pool in the spa complex was free and great fun, with jets, fountains, bubbles etc. I loved the aroma room - marvellously fragranced with eucalyptus. Breakfast was superb, plentiful and varied. As usual with Hiltons, the hotel was set outside the centre of Vilamoura, but the 20 minute walk was pleasant and taxis were cheap. The hotel provides a courtesy bus at certain times.
The exterior of the hotel is slightly 'Disney-ish'!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

We stayed at this Hotel for five nights, after spending a family holiday in Carvoeiro. Whilst my true love is Carvoeiro, this Hotel certainly shone out beyond all others. We had a lovely room overlooking the pool, large kingsized bed and luxurious bathroom. Clean, modern and very tasteful. Food in Hotel (of course the Hilton budrger as well) was brilliant- breakfast on the terrace, with a choice that has the waistline permitted would have meant you could sit there for hours. Evening meal was superb, theme evenings were great, all with a great selection of wines. Staff very friendly, helpful and professional especially at reception. The Hotel was very clean and tidy but not fussy. Would we go back - at the drop of a hat - yes please. Hilton you have delivered yet again! I would highly recommend this Hotel, it is not cheap but then most things this fab are not!

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

We stayed here for a short break at the end of October and would highly recommend this hotel. It is a large complex, with many pools in an attractive garden setting, although even out of season it was very hard to find an available sunbed in the sun. Our room (standard) was a reasonable size and very clean and comfortable, with a large bath as well as a shower. The staff at the hotel were always very friendly and helpful (even when we checked out at 4:30 am!) Unfortunately as we were staying here at the end of the season, not all the restautrants were open. However, the food we did eat in the hotel in the buffet restaurant and the bar was very good; the bar also served one of the best cocktails I've ever had!! We didn't have time to visit the spa, but it did look excellent. The walk into the centre of Vilamoura was about 20-30 minutes, but the location is by far one of the best in the resort.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

This is one of several Hilton hotels I have stayed in. It is the best hotel I have stayed in and I was hugely impressed.

The rooms are very big, the bathrooms are perfect, we had a balcony which was large and perfect for hot evenings (we stayed in Sep 09 but I haven't gotten round to reviewing until now so the time on this is wrong - sorry).

The staff are superb. They have clearly been very well trained and couldn't possibly do more to help. The food is out of this world. I would understand if some people found it expensive but when you consider the quality, choice and atmosphere of the restaurant I think you will agree it is worth every penny.

I can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

travelled to the hilton in september and all in all was not overly impresses.

the kids club looked great on website and the reviews seemed good - but the hotel just didnt suit our needs. We have a very active 3 year old and i felt the hotel was not suitable.

the pool area is very very cramped and you feel like you are sitting on top of the people beside you - with a noisy 3 year old i felt self consious all day. the kids club was ok - but as you spend most of your day by the pool - this was the biggest let down for us ... i wouldnt return. I like some open space and green areas and a bit of room by the pool to relax - this was like sardines squashed together - nice hotel, nice rooms but for me with a 3 year old - a no go!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

The hotel was amazing. The staff were totally into customer service. Every member of staff smiled and said hello. The room was spotlessly clean. Sat in the very deep bath, watching the huge flat screen tv was great! The hotel looked like something out of vegas, with real bannanas on bananna trees around the pool! The beds are huge! Im six foot four and had loads of leg room. They are so wide you could get lost. Free underground parking for our hire car was a bonus. The ONLY negative worth mentioning about the hotel was that all of the outside pools were FREEZING!! The hotel claimed they were 19c, but even that is way too cold. Every pool is cool when you first get in, however, you never warmed up even after twenty minutes! The breakfasts are to die for. You can get breakfast upt to 11 am, so you can have the lie in! As mentioned it is a very family friendly hotel, so lats of children are around. The pool beds are very close together, but that is a very minor moan. When a hotel is this good, you have to look very hard to find any faults. Felt the marina was a let down, but went to Albufeira for evening entertainment. Some fantastic traditional meals. Albufeira was 18 miles away, but very easy to get to with a hire car. I shoud have booked driect through the hotel, DO NOT BOOK VIA EXPEDIA. Expedia charged us £36 for one small suitcase to take on the plane. The customer service rep of easyjet actually said, "Never book with expedia, this always happends". Did not realise the charge until booking in with easyjet. Could not pay online on easyjet site for luggage as flight was booked through expedia and not easyjet. When challenged at home expedia were horendous with their customer service. No phone number to the customer service, you can only email them!!! Politely told, 'tough'. Never ever use expedia, i will never again. This rant has pulled me away from the hotel - sorry! Back to the Hilton, the best hotel we have ever stayed in. Just book via their website!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa

Address: Rua da Torre d'Agua Lote 4.11.1B, Vilamoura 8125-615, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#3 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#3 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#3 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#3 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to a fabulous spa weekend, enjoy a fun-filled family holiday, or experience the perfect golfing break at the award-winning Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa, one of the leading family-friendly Algarve hotels. This attractive, modern Algarve hotel is situated in five acres of glorious manicured gardens in the heart of the sun-kissed Algarve, Portugal. Set amid the lush greenery of some of Portugal’s finest golf courses, the Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa is replete with distinctive Moorish architecture, spectacular covered and outdoor pools and glorious cascading waterways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort And Spa
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Hotel Vilamoura
Hilton International Vilamoura
Vilamoura Hilton
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.