We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua da Torre d'Agua Lote 4.11.1B, Vilamoura 8125-615, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Oslo
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We just came back from a 3 night stay at this wonderful hotel. Everything was perfect, from the greeting in the reception, to the room and facilities of the resort. We had dinner in the restaurant Cilantro one night, and it was amazingly good! Very surprised this restaurant is not listed on the hotels website, we didn't know it existed before we stumbled over the menu on our last night. We were three people who wanted sunbeds every day and had no problem with that, even though we sat on our veranda every morning and watched the show of people queing up from 8.30 am and running like crazy to grab sunbeds when the pool opened at 9 am. When we walked down half an hour later we had lots of sunbeds to choose from. We will certainly go back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonVilamoura, General Manager at Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are thrilled to have delivered on expectations and provided you with a wonderful holiday experience.

We are very pleased you were impressed with the resort services and facilities and I’m sure the Chef will be thrilled to know about the amazingly good dinner at Cilantro!

Also, I would like to thank you for your very sensible approach with regard to the sunbeds. I truly hope other guests will follow your example and refrain from occupying sunbeds if they’re not staying at the pool.

Thank you for your kind endorsement and we hope to see you year after year!

Kind regards,

Dinis Pires
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    780
    347
    117
    31
    7
See reviews for
418
535
21
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We spent one week here in mid July. Firstly its a very attractive hotel with very polite and helpful staff.

As others have stated, the long queue for sunbeds at the main pool from 8.30 am is truly a sight to see. The pool doesnt open until 9!! Many people reserve sunbeds all day without using and staff dont remove the towels to let others use thrm.
This results in not enough to go around.
There's a nice adult pool. However a large amount of mosaic tiles were broken or loose resulting in guests sitting/standing on them.
In the week we were there, the broken tiles remained piled at the pool and shower edge.
It would appear that the pool was obviously not checked by staff after closing for the night.

One of our rooms had a sofa bed. It had sharp metal bars on both sides. I bruised and scraped my knee badly on this. When I complained to reception, there was no apology. The sofa bed was just pushed to one side and replaced with two twin rollaway beds.

Before arriving we received an email offering Half Board at €29 daily per person. On arrival we discovered that this meant only dinner or lunch. It cost an extra €15 daily per person . This resulted in us having to pay an extra €420 for our family of four's breakfast for one week.
This is the only hotel that I've ever stayed in where half board only refers to one meal as it refers to breakfast plus either lunch or dinner in other hotels.

To summarize, we usually stay in the Tivoli Victoria and this is certainly where we will return to in future.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonVilamoura, General Manager at Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Vilamoura and sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

I regret to learn that we didn’t succeed in meeting your expectations during your recent holiday and you are therefore considering not returning to our property. Unfortunately, the shortcomings seem to have weighed heavily on your overall experience.

Of all the issues you raised in your review, the sunbed situation is undoubtedly the most difficult one to resolve as it requires the cooperation of all guests and constant monitoring by the pool attendants but we are making every effort to improve the situation.

I’m sure you will be pleased to know that the repair of the broken pool tiles is just pending the delivery of materials required for the job which shouldn’t take long now and we have removed the sofa bed for repair as well.

With regard to the half board, you are quite right in stating that it always includes breakfast and one other meal so we have now corrected this and combined both costs to avoid further confusion.

Thank you for your feedback and despite the disappointment on this occasion, we hope you will give us another opportunity at some point in the future to restore your faith in our property.

Kind regards,

Dinis Pires
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Amazing hotel. Looks like a Disney castle on arrival. Rooms are furnished to the highest standards with views across the resort. Facilities include multiple pools, a health suite, bars, restaurants, bike rental, a golf shop and more. Our group had a bit of an issue checking in with rooms not being ready but it was sorted quickly. A Hilton bus operates throughout the day taking people to / from the marina and taxis are cheap if staying out late. Great place for a group holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing in towards the resort as some rooms face towards the main road. Smiling nicely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonVilamoura, General Manager at Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to offer us feedback of your recent stay at the Hilton Vilamoura having travelled over on business.

I’m very pleased that your overall experience was outstanding and the issue at check-in quickly sorted.

We very much appreciate your endorsement and hope to welcome you back in the near future whether on business or leisure.

Kind regards,

Dinis Pires
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Have tried to use the 'rather tired' and 'uninspiring' gym a few times in the past 3/4 days. Made even more difficult by other users leaving their equipment strewn all over the floor making it a dangerous place to train. There is never a member of staff in attendance to tidy this up nor to replenish the water or towels. If you are going to offer a gym (and especially one that needs some updating) then you need to ensure it is usable and safe for everyone at all times.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonVilamoura, General Manager at Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

We very much regret that the gym facility has caused such a negative impact on your stay and apologise for this inconvenience.

Please be assured that I will meet with the trainer and staff with a view to implementing the necessary corrective measures and ensure that the rules are enforced so the facility is kept clean and tidy at all times.

Kind regards,

Dinis Pires
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

only disappointment was we had to pay for the sun beds on the beach. saw nothing in writing until we queried the bill.... really small print on the outside door on the bus. usually hidden by the driver holding the door . Otherwise a really nice stay

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonVilamoura, General Manager at Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Vilamoura and your feedback on TripAdvisor.

Please accept our apologies if you didn’t receive the information at arrival.
All guests should receive a welcome letter at check-in where the beach prices are mentioned.

Despite this disappointment, we are pleased you had an enjoyable and relaxing holiday and hope you will visit again soon.

Kind regards,

Dinis Pires
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Stayed here back in 2011 and was a pleasant stay this time staying in the adjoining as cascatas which is villa but you use the hilton pools ect can't fault the Cascatas but the hilton had really gone down hill I think 1st of all there is a policy of not putting towels on sunbeds to keep the bed every morning people que at 8.30 just to put towels on the beds then they leave and go and get breakfast or go out for the day everyday I see people complaining and when you see family's sitting on floor and beds empty it's disgusting see pictures, the pool bar on a number of occasion I've asked for bottles of sagres and clearly in the fridge they are but the bar tender says sorry only draft beer???? Make more money on draft ? Am not even half way through my holiday and I think next time I will give this a miss a shame really as back in 2011 it was a really good stay

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonVilamoura, General Manager at Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

We very much regret that your second visit to the Hilton Vilamoura did not meet your expectations. We sincerely apologise for the inconveniences you experienced with the pool service (sunbeds and bar) which appear to be the main reasons for the disappointment.

As mentioned in other reviews, we are making every effort to sort out the pool setup but the lack of space prevents us from adding more sunbeds. As for the bottles of beer, the law requires that we use only plastic around the pool for safety reasons.

Thank you for your feedback and we hope you will consider returning again at some point in the future.

Kind regards,

Dinis Pires
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I have never felt the need to actually write a review before until my stay at the Hilton vilamoura. I have stayed in many hiltons beforehand in Norway Dubai etc and as far as hiltons go, the hotel is lovely. Room was amazing visually -I did find some type of bugs in the shower area and the hair drier ceased to work at my first attempt. But the rooms were very nice and fairly quiet.

There was an issue upon arrival whereby the hotel wanted us to put down €50 deposit per day for any room charges, which was fine only they wouldn't accept visa debit and so the idea of bringing them €50 cash seemed redundant when we'd just pay it ourselves if we were going to use it. This was fine only the staff decided to lock our mini bar fridge so we couldn't cool water. For a 5 star hotel it is absolutely ridiculous carry on.

The queuing was a bloody joke. The Hilton makes a point of advertising the fact that although they are not seaside one can walk (u really wouldn't walk it though) or else there's a shuttle. The shuttle only runs to the beach before 6.30 not to the harbour which means you have to walk to the harbour or suffer the overpriced pool food at the Hilton.

In the evening you could easily see yourself waiting 30-40 mins on shuttles collecting people from the marina. At 10pm there is just queues of loads of people with children and it's just a bit ridiculous. We opted to go flag a taxi only to find they cannot be flagged and will only pick u up at a taxi rank which ironically had an equal sized queue.

I've just returned from a week there with my husband. The adult only pool is really cramped -beds on top of each other. Another couple stole our sun cream which is bizzare and was pretty frustrating. Pool was nice though bar the broken tiles around the place. Luckily we didn't have the 9am towel queue like in the kids pool. The gym is ok, pretty small for such a large complex.

This hotel seemed very much for families I'd say 90-95% of people there were families with very young children.

All in all, lovely hotel, staff are lovely, food and gym are ok.. Queues for their shuttle are a joke and while they sometimes brought out an extra bus you could still have been waiting ages. It really took away from the experience and I have never appreciated the importance of proximity in terms of hotel/ beach/ harbour. With the petty ness of the fridge locking and everyone so angry about the queues left a bad taste in my mouth. I will not be back. I do like the area and would consider going to the lake resort next time.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonVilamoura, General Manager at Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

We regret that your visit with us did not meet your expectations and that we didn’t deliver the high quality service our guests have come to expect and deserve.

Although you liked the property, staff and accommodations, it is quite clear from your review that the queuing for the shuttle and sunbeds were the two main shortcomings which detracted from your overall experience.

Please accept our apologies for all the inconveniences you experienced during your stay as well as the situation with your debit card at check-in. As for the unlocked fridge and as we have an automatic system in place, the mechanism which controls the unlocking of the minibar is activated only when a credit card is associated to the room account otherwise we cannot control the charges.

Please be assured that we will continue to work hard to ensure all our guests have positive holiday experiences and despite the disappointment on this occasion, we hope you will give us another opportunity to restore your faith in our property.

Kind regards,

Dinis Pires
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa

Address: Rua da Torre d'Agua Lote 4.11.1B, Vilamoura 8125-615, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#4 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#4 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#4 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#4 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to a fabulous spa weekend, enjoy a fun-filled family holiday, or experience the perfect golfing break at the award-winning Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa, one of the leading family-friendly Algarve hotels. This attractive, modern Algarve hotel is situated in five acres of glorious manicured gardens in the heart of the sun-kissed Algarve, Portugal. Set amid the lush greenery of some of Portugal’s finest golf courses, the Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa is replete with distinctive Moorish architecture, spectacular covered and outdoor pools and glorious cascading waterways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Hotel Vilamoura
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort And Spa
Hilton International Vilamoura
Vilamoura Hilton
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.