We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family resort, very safe and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua da Torre d'Agua Lote 4.11.1B, Vilamoura 8125-615, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, up to 20% off
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Taunton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Great family resort, very safe and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

...But I echo what all the others say, the courtesy bus/taxi back situation put us off going to the marina after the first time we tried it (we waited over an hour for a taxi), meaning that most nights you are tied to the resort (probably part of the grand plan!). Luckily we loved eating in the 'cave cafe' as we called it. The maitre'd at Aquarela was an absolute pleasure to chat to, and nothing was too much trouble for her or her team. I *think* her name was Marilene - I kept saying it to myself to remember it, but I'm rubbish at remembering names. We enjoyed grilled sardines at Aquarela most lunchtimes, took a trip to the supermarket to stock up on essentials for the apartment, enjoyed the vast and varied breakfasts and very much enjoyed late night grown up drinks in the Rubi Bar.

The pools are great - the children always found something new and fun to do, and lots of other children to play with. It was scorching hot, so the 'teenage' pool always gave us respite.

The kids club was great and under-used - we took the children there a couple of times to play (staying with them).

We had room 1460, which overlooked the golf course. It was a one-bed apartment, with a sofa bed for the children. When the sofa bed is out, there is very little space in the apartment, but we were only really in it to shower and sleep so this wasn't really a problem.

We went to the water park one day (HUGE queues but great fun) and also on the dolphin watching tour. We didn't see any dolphins, but we did have great fun. Take some cash with you because there's a cash bar on board.

We didn't play the sun lounger game but somehow we always got some. I just refuse to do it!

All in all, an expensive but very professional operation, and a fun family holiday during which we felt comfortable, relaxed and it's very safe (for the children). If I didn't have my "don't go anywhere twice" policy, I would consider returning.

Room Tip: I don't think I would like to be facing the pool. The golf view was quieter and more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonVilamoura, General Manager at Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for staying at the Hilton Vilamoura and your enthusiastic review on TripAdvisor.

We are thrilled that you had a fun and relaxed time with your family at our safe, comfortable and friendly resort and your kind comments about the service in Aquarela were very well received by Marilene and her team.

However, I can understand how the long waits for the shuttle and taxi from the marina at night become an inconvenience and this is a service we need to improve on, together with the sun lounger situation although I must commend you for your very sensible approach toward the latter. Please be assured that we will continue to work hard to raise service standards and ensure all our guests have a memorable holiday experience.

Thanks again for your feedback and I sincerely hope you break your “don’t go anywhere twice” policy and return to the Hilton Vilamoura sometime soon!

Kind regards,

David Ecija
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    834
    382
    124
    32
    7
See reviews for
443
587
24
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this Hilton. As this was family holiday mainly aimed at keeping the kids happy we have to say that it hit the mark as the kids were very happy. Whist the hotel is a little way from the beach (5min by car), it was a perfect location for us as it allowed us to enjoy the pools at the hotel and the kids adventure park as long as we wanted. When we got enough it was only a short ride to Falesia beach, which is one of the best beaches I have managed to visit. Its big that even in August it did not feel too overcrowded. Hilton has its own bar at the beach but we never used it as we preferred to play in the sand. If you want to have a beach lounger then the Hilton club must be a good offer.

We had a 2 bedroom family room, which we did not find anything to complain. The living/dining room was very spacious and nicely furnished. The kitches has everything to need to cook (we only did few simple lunches however), which was niceas the kids are sometimes too tired to enjoy the restaurants. the balcony was good size and feeled safe for our kids as it was build clearly with safety in mind. The pool view was a hit -- a nice place to relax after day of swimming.

The restaurants were maybe the weak point. Whilst there was some choice it was not great in our view Moscada (buffet restaurant) changes its menu each day but still 2 visits were enough for us. Luckily taxes are cheap so heading to Vilamoura for dinner is not a problem. We also tried the Rubi bar. In away we though with the room we had room service was a good choice as we had plenty space at the balcony and could have our own drinks.

Breakfast was good with a large range of cold and hot foods as well as good to order Spanish omelette. If you are Hilton Gold member you get acces to a smaller breakfast room which we preferred as it had more quieter athmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonVilamoura, General Manager at Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay at the Hilton Vilamoura on TripAdvisor.

I’m delighted we “hit the mark” as the right hotel for your holiday needs, particularly since you travelled with your family. It’s wonderful that you enjoyed the resort services and facilities, especially the spacious and well furnished apartments, breakfast, beach and the many hours of entertainment for your children at the kids club.

However, I regret we didn’t meet your expectations in terms of restaurants and have shared your comment with our executive chef so as to introduce further enhancements to the buffet offerings in Moscada.

Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back on many more occasions.

Kind regards,

David Ecija
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This hotel has good quality rooms, friendly staff, good restaurants, and is spacious and well laid out. I can imagine it is good as a business hotel but I was on a family holiday and the amenities around the pool are not what I would expect of a five star hotel. You have to queue for up to half an hour to get a pool side chair in the morning, there is no waiter service at the bar, and overall there are not enough chairs by the pool so many people are disappointed each day. One other point is that there is no taxi rank and taxis are reluctant to come to the hotel (which is 10 minutes ride from the harbour) - this makes the hotel feel very isolated, and although there is a courtesy bus it again involves lengthy queuing to use it. Overall a good hotel but too many queues.

Room Tip: all rooms pretty good, some overlook the road which is not as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonVilamoura, General Manager at Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for staying at the Hilton Vilamoura and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are very pleased that you liked the hotel, especially the rooms, restaurants and friendly service but regret that you were disappointed and inconvenienced by the queues for the sun loungers, taxis and shuttle into town/beach. Please be assured that we are fully committed to resolving these recurring issues so as to ensure more relaxing holiday experiences for all our guests.

Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to see you and your family back again soon!

Kind regards,

David Ecija
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This hotel has nice rooms, friendly staff, good restaurants, and is spacious and well laid out. I can imagine it is good as a business hotel but I was on a family holiday and the amenities around the pool are not what I would expect of a five star hotel. You have to queue for up to half an hour to get a pool side chair in the morning, there is no waiter service at the bar, and overall there are not enough chairs by the pool so many people are disappointed each day. One other point is that there is no taxi rank and taxis are reluctant to come to the hotel (which is 10 minutes ride from the harbour) - this makes the hotel feel very isolated, and although there is a courtesy bus it again involves lengthy queuing to use it. Overall a good hotel but too many queues.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonVilamoura, General Manager at Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for staying at the Hilton Vilamoura and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are very pleased that you liked the hotel, especially the rooms, restaurants and friendly service but regret that you were disappointed and inconvenienced by the queues for the sun loungers, taxis and shuttle into town/beach. Please be assured that we are fully committed to resolving these recurring issues so as to ensure more relaxing holiday experiences for all our guests.

Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to see you and your family back again soon!

Kind regards,

David Ecija
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was clean, rooms very comfortable. Lovely crisp sheets. Housekeeping excellent. Stayed in Room 2140 which overlooked the main reception area, which was fine. We didn't have a problem finding a sun lounger. The shuttle service to the Marina was very useful although the last bus back to the hotel was at 9.30 pm which was too early. The bus stopped by the Lake Resort Hotel. Breakfast is served 7am-11am. Food in the evenings is far too expensive. Room service was cheaper or eat at the Marina. Drinks are very expensive. Coffees worked out at 4.50 euros. There's a supermarket about 10 mins walk away.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonVilamoura, General Manager at Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the feedback on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at the Hilton Vilamoura.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and will continue to work hard to raise service standards and ensure all our guests have a great holiday experience.

Hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

David Ecija
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galway, ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed in the Hilton last week and was very impressed with the service from reception to the pool bar and breakfast. The rooms were so comfortable, clean and modern. Grounds inside the pool area were gorgeous and its possible you wouldnt leave the grounds of this hotel as it's so nice inside. Location is approx 10 minutes taxi into the centre of Villamoura. Loved the stay and would love to go back. The pool was busy with children but it also had a couples pool to the side which was a bit smaller and quieter.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonVilamoura, General Manager at Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your very kind and complimentary review of the Hilton Vilamoura.
It is greatly appreciated by the whole team.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we would certainly all love to have you back again soon!

Kind regards,

David Ecija
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I have been staying at this hotel many times in the past, this summer I couldn't get 2 bed room apartments so I had to stay at as cascatas next door and sharing the same resort, the hotel next door was a nightmare and I would advise Hilton to separate them from the apartment hotel next door because it doesn't have anymore 5 star conditions as advertise.

Although I was at the apartments next door the breakfast was in the Hilton and comparing the quality of food and service I am sorry to say but this Hilton is dropping their standards, the food was not good like previous stays, the brands used in the food from what I could see we're changed to cheaper and lower quality brands.

Hope that they can change this around. Also felt that being Portuguese at this hotel at this time the staff didn't care to take my orders and care about serving me the same way as they did like other nationalities. I truly want just to be treated like everyone, not special but not forgotten either.

Hopefully this time the Hotel will not delete this review saying that because I didn't slept there I cannot review it. Because I am not reviewing the night but the breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonVilamoura, General Manager at Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your continued preference for the Hilton Vilamoura and your feedback on TripAdvisor. I’m sorry we weren’t able to accommodate you in our apartments on this occasion and that you felt the breakfast service has dropped in standard and you weren’t well looked after by our staff.

I sincerely regret that you did not enjoy your experience as much as you should have. I will certainly address your comments with the team for improvement.

As a final note, I would like to clarify that the apartments where you stayed belong to the residential complex known as “As Cascatas” and although their residents and guests share the resort facilities alike, it has never been part of the Hilton brand.

Despite your disappointment on this occasion, I hope you will consider staying with us again next summer. I would be delighted to assist with your future booking to ensure everything goes smoothly.

Kind regards,

David Ecija
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa

Address: Rua da Torre d'Agua Lote 4.11.1B, Vilamoura 8125-615, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#3 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#4 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#4 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#4 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to a fabulous spa weekend, enjoy a fun-filled family holiday, or experience the perfect golfing break at the award-winning Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa, one of the leading family-friendly Algarve hotels. This attractive, modern Algarve hotel is situated in five acres of glorious manicured gardens in the heart of the sun-kissed Algarve, Portugal. Set amid the lush greenery of some of Portugal's finest golf courses, the Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa is replete with distinctive Moorish architecture, spectacular covered and outdoor pools and glorious cascading waterways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Amex, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Hotel Vilamoura
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort And Spa
Hilton International Vilamoura
Vilamoura Hilton
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.