We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place don't miss it. ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rafael Restaurant Bar

Rafael Restaurant Bar
Avenida Tivoli | Lote H5, Vilamoura 8125-410 , Portugal
+(351)289324558
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 147 Restaurants in Vilamoura
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: With over 25 years of experience, Chef Luis Rafael, after working in various hotel units reference in Algarve, now boasts of having your own space where you have the greatest pleasure to welcome you for lunch or dinner, enjoying an area of ​​excellence, friendly, able to bind more than 80 seated and with ample poolside terrace.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great place don't miss it. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Great food, the stuff is nice and efficient. One of the best places to eat in the area.
A ray of light in place full of tourist traps.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    8
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Amazing food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We went here for a meal whilst staying at Dom Pedro Marina as you could also use other Dom Pedro hotels as part of your Half board. It was one of the best meals we had. The staff were so friendly and helpful and the chef was just superb and also very friendly.
The choice on the menu was plentiful and the food was simply delicious. The portions were big and good value for money. I had fish and would never have got that amount of fish at a restaurant in the uk.
Definitely recommend eating here if you are in vilamoura. It's only 5 mins from the marina and quite a bit cheaper than some of the restaurants around the marina.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

This is our second year coming to this restaurant. In 2013 it had a different name but same people. I gather it is a family run restaurant,& the family name is Rafael,but not 100% certain. Anyway,last year the food was great,so we had no hesitation in coming back again in April of this year. The restaurant was quiet on the evening we went for dinner. We were served by one of the owners,& he recommended his specialty of the day,Monkfish Cataplana. It was absolutely exquisite. I would eat this several times a week,no bother. It was a dish for 2 people @ €32 for 2. We could not finish it & they very kindly carefully wrapped what remained,& we finished it for our lunch on our balcony the following day. We had some lovely food during our week in Vilamoura,but this Cataplana was probably the best. If you like seafood then I would very strongly re comment this excellent dish. I am getting hungry just writing about it. All the staff at the restaurant are also very friendly & helpful.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Stayed in Portobello hotel and ate in the fabulous "Restaurante Raphael" several times, I must say I can only describe it as superb. Chef Luis and his brothers certainly know how to look after their clients . Extremely clean with first class food and service at an affordable price. A real find just a stones throw from the marina. Can't wait for early June when were are back again with our group.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South of London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Superb food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Just a 5 minute walk from the marina. We visited the restaurant three times in a week, I wish it had been more. The restaurant was very clean, I was surprised it was quiet but that was probably the time of year. The staff were friendly and attentive, the whole experience was wonderful. The sea bass was superb and the portions will bring a smile to your face. The cost for two was about 50 Euros, and worth every penny. Here in the UK I would expect to pay three times more for this.
I can't wait to get back there again.
Try a visit I'm sure you will not be dissapointed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rafael Restaurant Bar also viewed

Vilamoura, Faro District
 
Vilamoura, Faro District
Vilamoura, Faro District
 

Been to Rafael Restaurant Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rafael Restaurant Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.