We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good, very good and the little bad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Apartamentos Zarco

Save Saved
You added Hotel Apartamentos Zarco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Apartamentos Zarco
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Parque das Amendoeiras, Vilamoura 8125-543, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 35 hotels in Vilamoura
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The good, very good and the little bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed 17 days Sept 2012

Ok so we couldn’t find any recent reviews for Zarco anywhere and my oh my we searched. The photos looked decent so we rolled the dice and stayed there. So glad we did. This is a super little 3 storey complex. All the good later but first the bad:

Travelling with an 18 month old we wanted ground floor accommodation. Numerous emails back and forth preceding the holiday confirmed our request. We arrive to be told ground floor not available for the first 3 nights, Grrrr. The in house management were loosely sympathetic; the outside management were completely unsympathetic, to the point of being bang out of order. We were offered a 5 euro discount per night with very much a take it or leave it attitude. We decided to stay and were glad we did. Just be aware if you have any issue at the hotel you may be left frustrated and annoyed at their attitude. Not typically Portuguese I would add and the fault is with the Hotel’s management.

So the good and there was lots of it. These apartments are ridiculously quiet. Fantastic for a toddler (ours slept 10-12 hours straight every night) which meant we slept too. The cleaning was superb and I mean superb, Every single day, fresh towels, floors mopped etc. Swimming Pools immaculate and the garden lush and green.

Ok no restaurant on-site but you can get coffee for 60 cents and ice creams, cold drinks etc all around the 1 euro mark. There is a supermarket literally just around the corner and a few local restaurants. The best by far being A Carpa
which does great simple food at a good price. Parky’s is, well what it is. Plenty of reviews of Parky’s on the net but I will just say we enjoyed a number of drinks there and found the entertainment of a comedy value (even tho it’s not meant to be )

Zarco’s is about 30 mins walk to the Marina, pleasant enough in the evening but tough in the afternoon sun. The Marina remains overpriced for meals so try the back streets for better food and prices. Highly recommend Sun Dragon Chinese, set buffet price of 9.90 euro, Food cooked fresh and was very very nice. Also ask for Concorde restaurant, great food in a nice square. There is also a bar a couple down from here ran by Al.

Zarco’s is part of a Portuguese chain called Clube Interpass which offers membership in Portugal and members can then stay at the differing hotels for cheap rates. This would explain the lack of reviews available as it has mainly Portuguese guests.

We hope if you have stumbled on Zarco’s this review will help you make a wise choice in staying there, a fantastic value for money holiday base.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    4
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed 17 days Sept 2012

Ok so we couldn’t find any recent reviews for Zarco anywhere and my oh my we searched. The photos looked decent so we rolled the dice and stayed there. So glad we did. This is a super little 3 storey complex. All the good later but first the bad:

Travelling with an 18 month old we wanted ground floor accommodation. Numerous emails back and forth preceding the holiday confirmed our request. We arrive to be told ground floor not available for the first 3 nights, Grrrr. The in house management were loosely sympathetic; the outside management were completely unsympathetic, to the point of being bang out of order. We were offered a 5 euro discount per night with very much a take it or leave it attitude. We decided to stay and were glad we did. Just be aware if you have any issue at the hotel you may be left frustrated and annoyed at their attitude. Not typically Portuguese I would add and the fault is with the Hotel’s management.

So the good and there was lots of it. These apartments are ridiculously quiet. Fantastic for a toddler (ours slept 10-12 hours straight every night) which meant we slept too. The cleaning was superb and I mean superb, Every single day, fresh towels, floors mopped etc. Swimming Pools immaculate and the garden lush and green.

Ok no restaurant on-site but you can get coffee for 60 cents and ice creams, cold drinks etc all around the 1 euro mark. There is a supermarket literally just around the corner and a few local restaurants. The best by far being A Carpa
which does great simple food at a good price. Parky’s is, well what it is. Plenty of reviews of Parky’s on the net but I will just say we enjoyed a number of drinks there and found the entertainment of a comedy value (even tho it’s not meant to be )

Zarco’s is about 30 mins walk to the Marina, pleasant enough in the evening but tough in the afternoon sun. The Marina remains overpriced for meals so try the back streets for better food and prices. Highly recommend Sun Dragon Chinese, set buffet price of 9.90 euro, Food cooked fresh and was very very nice. Also ask for Concorde restaurant, great food in a nice square. There is also a bar a couple down from here ran by Al.

Zarco’s is part of a Portuguese chain called Clube Interpass which offers membership in Portugal and members can then stay at the differing hotels for cheap rates. This would explain the lack of reviews available as it has mainly Portuguese guests.

We hope if you have stumbled on Zarco’s this review will help you make a wise choice in staying there, a fantastic value for money holiday base.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sintra, Lisboa, Portugal
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

I spent a week in Zarco and it was lovely! they treated me and my friend really well and we look forward to go back! great service, great facilities, very clean!
I certainly recommend you to spend some quality time there!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

We have just returned from a 10 day stay at Zarco Apartments. The accommodation was excellent for what we paid. It was very quiet - less than half of the apartments were occupied but that meant there was always free sun loungers! The whole of the resort was quiet - maybe a sign of the times! It is a 30 minutes walk to the Marina which you only want to do once a day when the weather is hot. The apartments are clean and the towels were changed, rubbish taken away, beds made and floors cleaned every day. We would definately stay at these apartments again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2008

We were moved to the Zarco at the last minute by the travel agent due to a double booking by the Vilamoura Golf resort.
Bit annoyed but as it was only 2 days before departure and we are not really golfers we accepted and hoped for the best.

We neednt have worried.

The apartment complex is quite small but clean and well kept and in our opinion our apartment was spotlessly clean.
The Zarco have 3 floors and a lift to all.
A medium sized pool surrounded by gardens and flowers (not heated but in the hot weather its a refreshing dip) and a selection of sunloungers.
While we were there although there were not many sunloungers we didnt ever have a problem obtaining one, infact as it was early season the first 3 days saw us have the pool area to ourselves which was fab as so peaceful.
Also many of the guests hire cars and drive to the beach anyway.

Our apartment itself was spotless. We had a one bed apartment with a fully equipped kitchen and small balcony overlooking the pool from the front room which had a table and 4 chairs as well as a sofa and television.
There was also a small balcony from the bedroom which was nice as it overlooked the pool next door.
The bedroom was 2 single beds with orthapedic mattresses and pillows and they are also covered with anti allergy sheets for hygiene which I thought was a nice touch considering the state of some hotel beds I have seen over the years. There is also a large mirrored built in wardrobe.

The complex is gated for additional security and you will be provided with a key to come and go as you please.
All rooms have a safe for a small charge (about 15 euros).

The Reception staff are efficient and friendly and they have a small bar area which you can buy a drink from to have at the pool or in your room. The manager can be regularly observed taking pride in the appearance of the hotel.

The hotel/apartments themselves are situated a 5 min walk from a small local complex which contains a supermarket, couple of restaurants and a couple of bars (one of which, the Cactus bar sells pints for 1 euro if you drink beer).
15-20 mins walk further on (through gardens seperating the road) and you come to Vilamoura marina and beach. This is the resort centre area and also where the casino is. Some nights we found it too far to be bothered to walk back so got cabs from the marina which cost about 5 euros.

We thought Vilamoura was lovely, the beaches are clean and beautiful and the marina is gorgeous lined with shops and restaurants.
The casino is worth a visit, if you dont want to gamble visit anyway to see it. There is a small moroccan inspired bar inside as well which is a gorgeous setting for an evening drink.

The resort appeals to all it seems, we saw loads of groups of golfers as well as families and couples. I think it has something for everyone and was a great place to choose for a weeks break in the sunshine.

I would return to both Vilamoura and the Zarco.

  • Liked — It was so well kept and clean! Friendly staff.
  • Disliked — It was a little way from the centre and beach but ok if you dont mind a little walk.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2007

My wife and I stayed in the Zarco last 2 weeks of June 07.It is a small complex, 2 klm from the Marina area, three floors, thirty appartments, sitting/dining area, seperate kitchenette ( which was well equiped ) twin bedroom and an attractive bathroom. Furnishings are modern and of good quality, ash tables and chairs, orthopedic matresses on beds, etc.
Towel change daily, bed linen every two days
Small balcony with room for only two chairs but with double glass doors opening onto it.
Air conditioning in both sitting room and bedroom.
Housekeeping was of a high standard both in the appartments and in the well kept garden area which has a fairly small pool.
Bar consists of a few bottles behind the reception desk.
Staff are multi lingual and most helpful
Be sure to get a map or detailed directions if you use an airport taxi as the appartments are a little hard to find.
Overall impression was very good and we intend to return

  • Liked — Standard of service/cleanlieness/tranquil
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Apartamentos Zarco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Apartamentos Zarco

Also Known As:
Hotel Apartamentos Zarco Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve
Address: Parque das Amendoeiras, Vilamoura 8125-543, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 35 hotels in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Apartamentos Zarco 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Hotel Apartamentos Zarco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Apartamentos Zarco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.