We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Engagement long weekend” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Algardia Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Algardia Apartments to your Saves list
Algardia Apartments
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Edif. Algardia - Praca Cupertino Miranda, Vilamoura 8125 403, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
ENGLAND
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Engagement long weekend”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed here in October 2012 as we where looking for a cheap break after the expense of the ring! We had booked to stay at the moulinez apartments but had an up grade when was disappointed with what they had offered us which where dark damp cold apartments.The receptionist told us this may have not been possible if it was full season. It looked like a derelict building! However made much of our stay by staying in room 500 after being shown 4 different types. It was quite old and needed much up dating but had use of a sun balcony and over looked the marina in the distance. Basic with kitchenette lounge bathroom and bedroom. Due to the cold weather we wasnt able to go to beach but did pass it when out walking . Had a short boat ride and lots of meal outs The Mayflower is where me and my fiance got engaged...it was lovely. I enjoyed my time in Portugal and thanked the receptionist for making us feel welcome she was so helpful but the place really needs up dating. Near shops ..and close to harbour .

Room Tip: room 500 Dont stay at the Moulinez appartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    13
    8
    6
    7
See reviews for
13
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

There is no words to describe this place but if i have to its derelict old and graffiti all over one part of it. the views we had were of the main road and boarded up apartments absolutley horrible place very old fashioned needs a good revamp or pulling down we couldnt use the pool it was to dirty i know its cheap to stay there but i wouldnt pay even a pound to stay here.we ended up staying with friends for the rest of the week

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed here for the first week in October having wanted an inexpensive break in the sun. We read the reviews, hoped for the best and booked through travel republic. Firstly I have to say that our 1 bedroom apartment only cost £162 for the week so we were prepared for the worst. Our flight had been delayed so we knew that the reception would be closed on our arrival after 7pm there was a note on the door with a telephone number to ring. We were informed that someone would be with us very soon and before I had put my phone away a car pulled up and we were checked in and shown to our 1st floor apartment by a very nice man.
What a pleasant surprise we got when we went in too, a very spacious living area with table, 4 chairs, settee and arm chair, coffee table and TV. It looked clean bright and quite modern. The Kitchen had a microwave, cooker plenty of cupboard space and utensils and kettle. There was no toaster (NB we asked the next morning if we could have one and it arrived a few hours later). The bedroom had twin beds, 2 bedside tables, a chair and a large mirror. Bathroom was also ok with bath, overhead shower, bidet, handbasin, there were 4 Bath and 4 hand towels. In the hall were a cupboard with iron, ironing board, electric heater and a safe (cost was 10 euros + 20 euros refundable deposit), and a large double wardrobe with extra bedding.
We went to find the pool the next morning and yes I agree with some comments regarding this. It is obvious that this is not used a lot. It is kept locked and you pay a deposit for a weekly swipe card to enter the gate. Please note to exit there is a small white post on your left just before the gate with a button on it that has to be flicked down to release the gate, we saw several people panicking during our stay not knowing how to get out. There are a few patio table and chairs but no sunbeds. There is grassed area all around and we lay on towels to sunbathe and found it not too bad although obviously beds would have been preferable.
The apartments are not all in one block, they are in different buildings around the streets. Ours had no balcony and did not have spectacular views, but for what we paid I cannot fault it and will definately return. They are in a perfect position for the marina, and in a very quite location, it felt safe late at night too. The receptionist was a lovely lady who spoke very good English and was exremely helpful. I would definately recommend these as long as you don't expect 4* accommodation, be realistic in your expectations, for what you pay and you can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterhead
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

close to the marina and spacious thats the two good things about these apartments.there are more bad than good,dark dingy lobby,no balcony,no beds at pool,not enough hot water,dirty smelly shower curtain,no air conditioning.the apartments were cleaned twice in the week we stayed but still hair round the bath after they had been in to clean.Vilamoura itself is lovely,but i can't recommend these apartments.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
132 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We were moved here from the Rio apartments and were pleasantly surprised!
The apartment was very spacious with loads of cupboard and wardrope space which was great as we were there for 10 nights and really made it our 'home away from home.' The apartment we had was a one bedroom and was for myself my husband our son (4) and my sister and was fine for us. The tv only had english channels for an hour a day which wasnt very good as we were ther3e for a while in december/january with not very much to do after we had done everything near by about 10x. We asked at reception regarding this and were told there was nothing that the girl could do. (However on our transfer to the airport another couple who had also stayed at the apartments said she complained of the same issue - to another receptionist - and ws moved room and ended up with a large screen tv and all english channels.) As we were there early January the weather was not the best to be at the pool but we did however take a walk down and it looked nice enough. Out the way in a nice little sun trap with toilets and a grass area for sunbathing. There was a little pool there for the kids too.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, Cambs
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Having booked a 5 night break, we were looking for somewhere cheap and safe. We were booked into the Mouraliz Apartments but were changed due to leaking ceilings, into apartment 207 in this complex. It was clean, had been recently refurbished (IKEA) and was perfectly adequate. Only complaint is the bed is almost on the floor! Yes part of the complex, owned by another company has gone bust and is a bit of an eyesore, yes the kitchen and bathroom face onto the main roundabout, yes the reception closes for lunch, yes there is no security but for £65.00 each per week what do you expect!
We never felt apprehensive or threatened at all during our stay, day or night. having visited Vilamoura about 15 times, staying in hotels and self catering apartments, this had to be great value for money.
A couple of things to point out:
If you are driving ensure you park in the 'gratuitos' car parks and not on the street because if you get a parking ticket you get fined a tourist rate of 8 euros which you have to travel to Loule to pay!
There now seem to be at leat half a dozen 'gentlemens clubs', ie lap dancing clubs. This really is begining to 'cheapen' the area just behind the Marina, where some of the best restaurants are.
If you want useful numbers just google Vilamoura. This will give numbers to the hospital, GNR, Tourist information etc. i can't believe someone complains that this wasn't handed out at reception!
Don Alphonso, O Vitoria and Figo/Chines deck side restaurants are all very good with great service.
Will we go again? Of course. Will we stay here? Of course.

Room Tip: Room 207 balcony faces late afternoon sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

I have stayed at this apartment on more than one occasion, as have my daughter, and her friends. I have also recommended it to many friends and family.

The apartment is situated a 5 mins walk from the town and the marina, and 5 more minutes walk to the beach.

The apartment itself is clean, spacious and tastefully decorated inside. The apartment block it sits in is clean and very well served.

It has a very spacious, clean and green pool area which is a delight to relax in.

On top of all this, the owner is caring and very attentive, nothing is too much trouble.

Overall, I couldn't rate this apartment highly enough, I will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
1.0 mi away
Parque Mourabel Apartments
Parque Mourabel Apartments
#17 of 36 in Vilamoura
3.5 of 5 stars 424 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rio Apartments
Rio Apartments
#22 of 36 in Vilamoura
3.5 of 5 stars 251 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Apartmento do Golfe
Hotel Apartmento do Golfe
#9 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 stars 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 stars 2,337 reviews
0.7 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#4 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 stars 448 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Algardia Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algardia Apartments

Address: Edif. Algardia - Praca Cupertino Miranda, Vilamoura 8125 403, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Algardia Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Algardia Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algardia Apartments Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Algardia Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.