We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded yet only minutes away from the Golden Triangle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Vila Sol Golf & Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Pestana Vila Sol Golf & Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Pestana Vila Sol Golf & Resort Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Morgadinhos, Vilamoura 8125-307, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Lagoa, Portugal
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Secluded yet only minutes away from the Golden Triangle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel Vila Sol is a wonderful discovery. Beautiful spacious modern design, lovely gardens and pool and a world class golf course 100 metres away. As a guest you get special prices for playing on this course. Rooms are quite spacious, well fitted and nearly all have a large private veranda. The whole hotel was designed to give rooms wonderful views out over the gardens, golf and pools. Staff are welcoming and attentive, and there is so much light in the public areas due to the extensive use of glass. The hotel is situated in a quiet residential development, masses of parking space, and very peaceful. If you want to relax, this has to be a great choice. The main restaurant is good, service is very good. Prices are not unreasonable for a hotel of this quality. Faro airport is about 20 minutes away, and the beach just a few minutes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    201
    50
    14
    10
See reviews for
146
199
5
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We visited this hotel for a 4 night golf holiday organised by "Golf Breaks" The hotel is listed as 5 star but I would give it 4 stars. The facilities are good and the staff were absolutely charming and extremely helpful. We had a bit of a problem as our room had been allocated to somebody else but this was rectified efficiently the following day. The restaurant breakfast was great but the evening meals were nothing special Golf facilities were about 200 yards from the hotel and the course has 27 holes. We played 1- 18, 4 times and it was very good. Not easy but not impossible for someone like me at 18 handicap. There are 4 holes where water comes into play but again not too difficult unless the wind is up. We felt the buggies were expensive at 40 euros a round especially as 3 of our came to a halt with battery problems. It is a good idea to take a phone with you and then you can call for assistance. The number is on the back of the score card. Club house facilities were good and the food was excellent. In all a great place for a short break, close to the airport with wonderful staff. There were a couple of good offers which you had to ask for including happy hour in the bar between 6 and 8pm and a 30 euro menu in the restaurant which included wine.

Room Tip: Avoid garden rooms before May as they are rather cold and you have to walk in the open for a couple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soest, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Great location, lovely place with 27 beautiful golf holes and a golf academy make this an attractive place for a long weekend or a mid-week of golf.
Rooms in the main building are very comfortable and have a very nice view of the golf amenities. Big bathrooms are very well equiped and maintained very well. The whole place looks well kept, except for the main Restaurant. The chairs all have spots and smudges and most are a little rickety. We had the half board buffet style meals once, but never again. So disappointing! This is really not the 5 star lay out you'd expect. The hotel management urgently needs to do something about this.
Breakfast is ok, and you can order eggs and pancakes from the kitchen. The scrambled eggs should be left alone, they're made of the usual hotel powder+water stuff and taste like it.
The front desk people are very helpful and friendly and will do everything they can to accommodate you e.g. at early check-in.
All in all a very nice place with a little room for improvement.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top florr of the main building to have a great view and sun most of the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Lovely hotel set I lovely grounds, surrounded by shrubbery ,
There is also villas and apartments on the same complex.
Great hotel if you want to be in Good location for golf . The via sol has it's own course and is also close to at least 5 or 6 other courses .

It is closer to Quarteira than VIlamoura .

If you have golf clubs you will need a transfer company to get you to the hotel . Regular taxis can't always carry clubs as they are too small .
So I suggest yellow.fish transfers com as they have cars and minibuses . Book them on line and tell them what you are carrying and they will make sure the vehicle is big enough to cater , they are competitive rates and well organised .
Good golf monthes I think are jan - may sept -oct .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

If you wish to golf I can't tell you if this is a good choice because I haven't.
But if you wish to stay in an excelent hotel, with a 5 star package that includes service, staff, breakfast/lunch and location, I can tell you that this is it.
The Clubhouse terrace overlooking the golf course, is a great choice for a meal with the family not expensive and with an excelent quality.
The vilas are romantic, very private and quiet (don't know about the rooms).
We had the perfect sunny winter weekend and we recommend.
Also well located! A five minutes drive takes you to Vilamoura marina.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thames Ditton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Travelled to this hotel as part of a group improving our golf! Great stay - rooms and breakfast all very good, as were the golf facilities. Made to feel welcome and the staff were outstanding. Having played golf on the final morning, our checkout was extended to allow time to clean-up and pack but in haste I left gloves, scarf and hat behind. I realised this when I arrived home and unpacked and e-mailed, receiving a swift response. Housekeeping had found these items and reception would post them on to me in the UK. They arrived by post as promised, today!

Having travelled extensively and stayed in a variety of hotels worldwide, this service and the customer care shown by staff at the Pestana Vila Sol was outstanding! I highly recommend this establishment and will be returning. Well done!

Room Tip: Stayed in a Garden Room which was quiet, warm and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

i will start with the positives,,,the staff were friendly and efficient ,,check in and check out was easy , the breakfast was very good,,,location was good,,, Now for the rest ,,,,this hotel was a big disappointment ..im afraid its best days are long ago,,,,it is in a dire need of a makeover ....too many instances to list but start with the bathroom nothing wow about it so 30 years ago ,,the bed itself was comfy but a tiny and i mean tiny tv,,,,,no coffee and tea facilities in the room and a mini bar whose only alcoholic drink is a bottle of heineken really isnt worthy of a top rating .....a gym that had only the very bare minimum of equipment etc ,,,the only plus side was the price i booked on a discount site and got a good discount,,,,Around this time last year i wrote a not too flattering account of the hilton in vilamoura and i have to say i did them a dis service as it is light years better than the pestana,,id only revisit if it gets a makeover or if it continues to trade at a big discount sorry to say this as i normally try to be constructive ,,,,oh last gripe charging 15e for a gin and tonic just because the mini bar doiesnt have one is very naughty ,,,,ps i dont play golf but can see its a great base for those that do but even that said there are better hotels in the area that cater for golfers too

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pestana Vila Sol Golf & Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Vila Sol Golf & Resort Hotel

Address: Morgadinhos, Vilamoura 8125-307, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#9 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#10 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#11 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Vila Sol Golf & Resort Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pestana Vila Sol is located 5 minutes from Vilamoura and a 10 minutes ride to Marina de Vilamoura and the beaches. It has a 27 hole golf course, extensive green areas, fountains and small lakes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pestana Vila Sol Golf & Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Vila Sol Golf And Resort Hotel
Pestana Vila Sol Golf Hotel Vilamoura
Vila Sol Hotel
Vila Sol Resort
Pestana Vila Sol Golf & Resort Hotel Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Vila Sol Golf & Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.