We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and peaceful.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cegonha Country Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cegonha Country Club to your Saves list
Cegonha Country Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vilamoura 8125, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Banbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Quiet and peaceful.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

First impressions very good, we had a lovely apartment just overlooking the bar by the pool area.
Bars were not open until june, we were there in May.
Mini market is not what I would call it, all we could see was a back room by reception, few tins of food, few bottles of wine, not much else.
Luckily we knew the area so found some good supermarkets.
Hired a car in Vilamoura for a very good price..
It also said guests could use the facilities at the nearby hotel, which we did find down the road but it had been closed for years.
A good holiday all round but some holiday sights about this complex need t update there information.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    26
    10
    7
    3
See reviews for
14
25
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

We stayed at these apartments october 2011, as late deal, the gentlemen staff on the reception was very helpful and kind on are arrival, but the women the next day was very rude and miserable, however the apartments itself was very spacious, clean, and tidy. the apartments at the time was getting refurbished. the facilltes in the apartments was top class, i.e large fridge/freezer, microwave, dishwasher, kettle, toaster, etc everything you need and abit more. very large balcony. the grounds were imaculate, the pool was nice but in busy periods may get abit cramped. like the others reviews it is a good base but would need a car as its in the country. they is a childrens play area, but no small pool. Overall lovely place and good value for money, would recommend this place and would go back.

Room Tip: pick a room away from the pond as the mosquitos. we stayed in room 40.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Do not expect a "fun holiday hotel", It is a fare way from the town and beach, therefore a car is needed. We had 10 days there in Sept 2011 and used it as a base to tour the Algarve. For this it was excellent, it was clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. It was cheap and we got what we paid for.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Mayo
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

We stayed at the Cegonha Country Club in late September / early October 2011. Our first impression of this resort was favourable , the grounds and gardens were tidy and well kept.
The 1st floor apartment was spacious and reasonably clean however the tiled flooring was laid unevenly quite worn and the furniture and fittings tired and in need of replacing.
These apartments appear to be run by very young staff without senior management and we understood that the present owner pops in once in a while when needed and when not on business in Lisbon. The result is that although the staff try to be helpful they do not appear to be either well informed or able to take decisions.
Guests staying at this location should be aware that this hotel is some 4 - 5 kilometres from the centre of Vilamoura and that the one and only local bus service is infrequent and the last bus back to Cegonha is at 7.15 p.m. Also, the drivers were not very consistent with charging of fares - some took more and others less!
Resort facilities are limited and the on site "shop" is not much more than a store cupboard
with very few basic groceries and the same is true of the so called shop at the petrol station.
In fact the nearest supermarket is Jafers in Vilamoura.
Having said all this , on the plus side , the resort is in a quiet location , reasonably clean with a relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

I will not be returning to this hotel as it was disgraceful ! The rooms were appalling. There was cockroaches and spiders in our room. The beds were very uncomfortable , the TV was rubbish and there was no electric kettle or washing machine. The pool area was very small and there was not enough sunbeds for the amount of people that were staying at the hotel the same time we were. But on the other hand , the staff were fantastic with all their hard work.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

loved it here ... were here for a couple of days and felt likr we had the whole place to ourselves ..staff very friendly ..clean ..worth way more than the £30 a night we paid .. will deff go back ..

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

My wife and I have just returned from a week at Cegonha and could not fault it.Reception staff very helpful and spoke good english.Apartment was cleaned every day and towels changed.Possibly not 4 star but it depends how Portugal categories these establishments.
Yes a car is recommended but it is in the countryside which suited us as we had a dog with plenty of walks.There is a bus service but only about every two hours.Grounds well kept with a gardner most days. Anne and David Roberts

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cegonha Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cegonha Country Club

Address: Vilamoura 8125, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cegonha Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Cegonha Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cegonha Country Club Hotel Vilamoura
Cegonha Country Hotel Apartments
Cegonha Country Club Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cegonha Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.