We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Prado do Golf

Save Saved
You added Prado do Golf to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Prado do Golf
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Avenida do Parque, Vilamoura 8125-507, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 35 Hotels in Vilamoura
Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Family Holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We arrived around 10.30pm and reception was closed, but we had an apology and an envolope left for us with all the details that we needed. Unfortunatlly for us it was a bank holiday when we arrived so the bar/bistro was closed as was everything else!!! SO we were without any food or water till the morning!!! This was not the fault of the hotel but just worth remembering if you travel around the same time (14/8-24/8) !!!

As with the other reviews i must say that with a little TLC this place would get an excellent review. It was super clean and tidy, the maids came around with fresh towels and bed linen twice in our 10 night stay. The pool area is nice and quiet and we never had any problems getting sunbeds. there were parasols too,and lots of shade if you follwed the sun around.
We had a lovely piece of grass outside our villa, just in front of our patio area (that has a BBQ) the kids loved it and played out quite happily in the evenings. We did end up hiring a car as there was 5 in our party and that ment 2 taxis!!! Although only 6/7 euros each way to villamora, it can soon add up.
To sum up, we had a brilliant time and would defo go back there again. Would recommend to anyone wanting some peace and quiet and to families.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    27
    9
    1
    6
See reviews for
17
22
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Reception closed on arrival and no contact telephone numbers answered with no explanation or note left - Forced to stay in a neighbouring hotel for the night. To date no explanation or apology. Day two Reception closed but envelope with instructions (no apology) taped to reception door (had obviously been forgotten the day before). Accommodation basic and clean and the pool appeared to be clean also. Accommodation in state of disrepair - Toilet flush mechanism broken, bath filled when showering as drainage poor, broken window taped up and kettle only worked if you stood and held the button down. Some paving slabs out of place and quite dangerous and pool area toilet door warped so often stuck closed (impossible for children to open whether in or out). No sun umbrellas by the pool and no shade. Only suitable if you are prepared to sleep in your hire car on the first night and take your own porta loo, kettle and sun umbrellas. However, bar and bistro area by the pool is run by a separate entity and if you are unlucky enough to stay at Prado do Golf, at least the food and beverages are of good quality and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Try another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

I stayed in a one bedroom apartment here in the last week in October, just to get away from the atrocious weather at home for a bit.

The apartment itself was clean and spacious, with a large south-facing balcony and a well-equipped kitchen (oven, four-ring hob, electric kettle, toaster, pots, delph, cutlery etc, as well as a full-size fridge-freezer, but no microwave). It isn't air-conditioned, so I'd say it gets quite hot in the summer, although all the windows open. The windows aren't exactly secure and I wouldn't leave valuables lying around, although I didn't notice dodgy characters hanging around or anything.

The apartment was quite dated, including the furniture - probably fabulous when built but I think that was a few decades ago. This carries through to the whole complex, which has a kind of neglected air - but at the prices they charge for staying this isn't surprising. You can't expect to pay rock-bottom rates to stay in a palace. If they could just give the apartments/villas a lick of paint every so often and tend the gardens a bit better it'd be perfect. The pool looks fine with plenty of sunbeds and a bar/cafe beside it, but the weather was a bit cool so I didn't use it. Personally I was perfectly happy with the accommodation and the complex.

The location is also grand, but it's not far short of 2km from Vilamoura and the marina, although there is a scheduled bus route there and a bus stop directly outside the complex. It's probably a half-hour walk to the marina if you've no car - 8 minutes if you have. I'd recommend hiring a car - it's cheap to do so, there's plenty of free parking in Vilamoura, and it gives you the freedom to venture further afield for a day or two if you want. Vilamoura itself was nice, but almost deserted, although everything was still open - late October is probably too late to go if you're looking for a bit of a buzz (it might also be due to the recession, of course). I reckon September would be the perfect time. You're also not too far from some good beaches if that's your thing.

In short, I'd definitely return here and am happy to recommend it, but you need to hire a car to make the most of it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011 via mobile

This place can either be half board or b&b. We booked on a Mon night to go on Fri morning for the weekend. Arrived at about 10:00am at the hotel and room was ready. The lady on reception was very friendly and had a sense of humour which was nice. You don't need a car unless you want to constantly go out and about and back to the hotel or travel to another area as there is a free bus to the beach and the Marina. Had it not been for the fact I tripped and vert badly sprained my ankle (still hurting after 5 weeks!) the holiday would be perfect. It also would have been perfect had there not been a group of idiots on a stag weekend running around like unruly chdren playing knock on the door and shouting about the place as much as they could after drinking all night. That was not the hotel's fault. Had it not been for this the place would be the most relaxing place as not a lot of people are at the pool as they are golfing and there were only a couple of kids. I would go again but be more careful when walking! The food was not brilliant but ok however the soups were gorgeous. The staff serving the food were a little unsure as to how to take compliments. Very clean place and unobtrusive staff. The pool was cleaned every day and we saw samples being taken and tested which was a good sign and reassuring. The main pool was not big but did not need to be. It had proper ladders but no walk down into the pool steps so if you were infirm you would not be able to use it. The kids pool was very clean and not too near the main one. Lots of sun loungers available and not the usual towel hogging in sight!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Stayed in a two bedroom villa, in its hay day i think they would of been really nice, althou not terrible villa are in need of a refurbishment, outside paint work tatty sdo were the garden area around our villa number 31. No air condtioning which is a must, no kettle etc, they only available if you upgrade to a delux villa. Ita an hour walk to the marina, but a pleasant walk in early evening or 5 euro in a taxi. Overall not a bad place just needs some tlc. Bar/ bistro staff very friendly, pool was quiet most days. would go again but would recommend an up grade to delux to get air con.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

Have stayed here several times in the 1 bedroom villa but never in the summer season. The weather was in the high 80s and the lack of air conditioning meant that the evenings were very humid. However this is such a great place to stay that this wouldnt put us off. The 34 apartments are set in the hillside so that they feel quite private and the complex is very quiet. The small supermarket has just reopened after being closed for a year so all the basics are now available. There are friendly new owners of the bar/restaurant with good value meals, a meal for 2 ( 1 gammon, 1 ribs) with drinks came to less than 25 euros. The pool area is always quiet with plenty of sunloungers available . The villas although needing a coat of paint and updating are very well equipped, the only thing missing is a hair dryer. Villamoura and its many attractions is a 5 minute drive away. There is a bus stop right outside or reception will book a taxi for you if you dont have a car. Falesia beach in high season is busy with expensive sun loungers but if you buy a sun umbrella for 12 euros from the supermarket in villamoura you can find a quiet spot and pitch it on the beach like the locals do. The villas also have its own dog a small papillon/miniature collie cross who was abandoned but is now looked after by the staff, he is wary at first but will soon eat ham and bacon from you!.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

I visited the complex whilst staying with friends and was recommended to go to the Bistro, the food, was very good value for money, i found the staff both courteous and willing to make you feel welcome. i would recommend Paula and Baz and their staff at the Bistro to anybody thats wants a good meal and to be made welcome.

Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Prado do Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prado do Golf

Address: Avenida do Parque, Vilamoura 8125-507, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Vilamoura
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Prado do Golf 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prado do Golf offers guests a relaxed and calm base for a self catering holiday, ideally located in a peaceful corner of the stunning resort of Vilamoura, Algarve. Families, sports club groups, couples and independent travellers all agree that the quiet and pleasant surroundings, alongside the value for money ensure Prado do Golf is a popular alternative to booking into a larger hotel. Prado do Golf has 44 units of one and two bedroom apartments and villas (standard and deluxe) with off road parking, that are spread amongst the attractively maintained gardens. The heart of the complex is the large communal pool (not heated) with surrounding terrace and sun beds, besides which the bar and bistro terrace offers alternative areas to enjoy the sunshine and extended balmy evenings. This social and secure area is a sheltered haven for sunbathers and where parents can easily keep an eye on their children as they play and make new friends. Prado do Golf has a local bus stop outside the entrance for convenient transportation around Vilamoura, popular with those who do not wish to hire a car. At Prado do Golf, Vilamoura guests choose between one or two bedroom apartments and villas, the apartments are in blocks of 4 with 2 on the ground floor and 2 on the 1st floor. Those with restricted mobility are advised to inform staff at the time of booking to enquire about availability of the ground floor units for their convenience. The standard apartments and villas offer basic, comfortable, spacious open plan, value for money holiday accommodation, with plenty of space in the living areas for families and well equipped for self catering. Each apartment and villa offers:•1 or 2 Spacious bedrooms with twin beds and fitted wardrobes with drawers•Bathroom with a bath with a shower, bidet, toilet & sink•A well equipped kitchen including oven, hob, fridge/freezer, kettle, crockery and utensils•A generous open plan lounge/dining room with defined areas including dining table and chairs and relaxed seating to enjoy the cable TV•A private sun terrace or balcony outside opens through sliding doors from the lounge, with table and chairs. Additional features include:•A safety deposit box (2 euros per day)•Full length mirrors in the bedrooms•Hair drier•Ironing board and iron•Shutters on the windows•Maid service is twice a week, change of towels mid week (pool/beach towels are not provided), change of linen (more than 7 nights). Some guests prefer to upgrade their holiday and spend a little more to secure one of the deluxe apartments or villas which offer more contemporary furnishings with the added luxuries and convenience of: air conditioning, microwave, dishwasher. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Prado do Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prado Do Golf Hotel Vilamoura
Prado Do Hotel
Prado Do Resort
Prado Do Golf Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prado do Golf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.