We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vila Gale Ampalius

Save Saved
You added Vila Gale Ampalius to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vila Gale Ampalius
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Alameda Da Praia Da Marina, Vilamoura 8125-408, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 35 hotels in Vilamoura
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Excellent location and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I went with my wife and 6 month infant. The hotel looks impressive. I booked a Junior Suite with view of the sea and Marina. The room was massive. It had a kitchen, dining area and a balcony. I had told the manager that it was our anniversary. When we reached in the evening, there was a champagne bottle in the room as a gift. The swimming pools are impressive. My wife was very happy with the massage. The location couldn’t have been better. WIth a decent choice of restaurants and excellent views, I couldn’t have asked for more. On the downside, the furniture was completely worn out. The sofa bed was really old. The bathroom was really tiny compared to the size of the room. It seemed more like a bathroom of a small 2 star hotel/bed and breakfast rather than a 4 star hotel. Breakfast was ok.nothing great. I would still recommend this hotel for the excellent customer service, cleanliness and location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    204
    303
    119
    33
    13
See reviews for
160
278
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stopped here for a week in April on a golfing holiday. The hotel is in an excellent location with easy access to all the golf courses in the vilamoura area and also is very handy for Faro airport. The hotel is a reasonable standard, clean and tidy, we had breakfast which is okay but a bit repetative, plenty to eat, well cooked etc but a bit limited in choice.

There is quite a choice of rooms, we had a basic room with no balcony, some friends who also stopped at the same time booked through a different web site and got a very nice Junior Suite with balcony & seaview for only a couple of quid more so it is worth checking a few web sites before booking.

We have stoppped a few times at the Ampalius over the years and will again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights at Vila Gale Ampalius in late April.

The hotel is a refusbished old building in a great location, in front of the beach (though if you have a car there are much nicer beaches somewhere else) and a short walking distance to the Marina. We had dinnerat Akvavit and in Almancil at Malveiro. Both great choices.

Breakfast was rather poor, except for the bread which was very tastefull.

The hotel was packed and noisy.

No free wifi, except for the lobby.

Value for money: average. Would I stay again for the same price? Probably not. I would try a different hotel for the same price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed here Late April for a golfing holiday with 3 other friends. We had a room overlooking the pool which was clean, plenty big enough for 2 lads sharing and for the money we paid really good value. If you want a bigger more stylish room the ones overlooking the sea on the other side of the corridor seemed much bigger and I think had balconies. I would imagine you would have to pay more money for these rooms though.

Breakfast had a good choice and was always restocked with fresh food.

The location of the hotel was brilliant for us. Right next to the marina where the popular bars were but far enough away to not here any noise. It was also next door to the casino which we visited a couple of times. Swimming pools were clean although a bit cold but there is the option of the indoor pool if you want something warmer. Tennis courts were good but had a small charge.

The shuttle buses the hotel provided to and from the airport and the golf courses was probably the best part. Simply order and only wait 10 minutes.

We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the seaview rooms if you are fussy about rooms with balconies, extra space etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork Ireland
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I visited sharing a room in April for a golfing holiday. I was most impressed by the organisation and good timekeeping of the shuttle buses to the golf courses and the airport. The hotel was satisfactory in nearly all aspects-good clean rooms and en suite with parquet flooring. The rooms were cleaned every day and towels, soaps etc replaced. There is an outside pool with recliners easily available when I visited. The hotel was mostly frequented by golfers at this time. The breakfast variety was very good. There were fruit juices, fruit salads, fruit pieces, bacon slices, eggs,beans, mushrooms, tomatoes, cold meats, cheeses, breads etc available. We did not have dinner in hotel so cannot comment. The staff were friendly and spoke english. It deserves 4 stars. It is right alongside the beach.

Room Tip: Try and get a soutside balcony room overlooking the sea. It may be a bit more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ards
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Really good location for the marina and beach.
Rooms very clean
Staff friendly
Good pool area with plenty of sunbeds
I would definitely return as it was great value, we booked through easy jet holidays and got a fantastic deal

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Just back in Ireland having spent a wonderful week at this hotel. It again proved an ideal location for our one week golf vacation. From arrival to departure, the wonderful staff who we encountered daily could not have been more courteous, professional and friendly in the manner in which they enaged with us. Our Junior Suite was bright, spacious and serviced daily. Breakfast each moring was relaxed with food of excellent quality and of a wide variety, available in copious amounts. It is ideally lcated just a short stroll from the Marina and adjacent to the beach.

We cannot wait for our return in 2014.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vila Gale Ampalius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Ampalius

Address: Alameda Da Praia Da Marina, Vilamoura 8125-408, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#8 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#10 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#12 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Ampalius 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotel.de, Otel and Venere so you can book your Vila Gale Ampalius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Ampalius Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve
Ampalius Hotel Vilamoura
Hotel Vila Gale Ampalius

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vila Gale Ampalius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.