We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vila Gale Ampalius

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Vila Gale Ampalius to your Saves list
Vila Gale Ampalius
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Alameda da Praia da Marina, Vilamoura 8125-408, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ideal Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stopped here for a week in April on a golfing holiday. The hotel is in an excellent location with easy access to all the golf courses in the vilamoura area and also is very handy for Faro airport. The hotel is a reasonable standard, clean and tidy, we had breakfast which is okay but a bit repetative, plenty to eat, well cooked etc but a bit limited in choice.

There is quite a choice of rooms, we had a basic room with no balcony, some friends who also stopped at the same time booked through a different web site and got a very nice Junior Suite with balcony & seaview for only a couple of quid more so it is worth checking a few web sites before booking.

We have stoppped a few times at the Ampalius over the years and will again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teesside-gordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Lisboa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights at Vila Gale Ampalius in late April.

The hotel is a refusbished old building in a great location, in front of the beach (though if you have a car there are much nicer beaches somewhere else) and a short walking distance to the Marina. We had dinnerat Akvavit and in Almancil at Malveiro. Both great choices.

Breakfast was rather poor, except for the bread which was very tastefull.

The hotel was packed and noisy.

No free wifi, except for the lobby.

Value for money: average. Would I stay again for the same price? Probably not. I would try a different hotel for the same price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burnsziela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed here Late April for a golfing holiday with 3 other friends. We had a room overlooking the pool which was clean, plenty big enough for 2 lads sharing and for the money we paid really good value. If you want a bigger more stylish room the ones overlooking the sea on the other side of the corridor seemed much bigger and I think had balconies. I would imagine you would have to pay more money for these rooms though.

Breakfast had a good choice and was always restocked with fresh food.

The location of the hotel was brilliant for us. Right next to the marina where the popular bars were but far enough away to not here any noise. It was also next door to the casino which we visited a couple of times. Swimming pools were clean although a bit cold but there is the option of the indoor pool if you want something warmer. Tennis courts were good but had a small charge.

The shuttle buses the hotel provided to and from the airport and the golf courses was probably the best part. Simply order and only wait 10 minutes.

We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the seaview rooms if you are fussy about rooms with balconies, extra space etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Macca198687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork Ireland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I visited sharing a room in April for a golfing holiday. I was most impressed by the organisation and good timekeeping of the shuttle buses to the golf courses and the airport. The hotel was satisfactory in nearly all aspects-good clean rooms and en suite with parquet flooring. The rooms were cleaned every day and towels, soaps etc replaced. There is an outside pool with recliners easily available when I visited. The hotel was mostly frequented by golfers at this time. The breakfast variety was very good. There were fruit juices, fruit salads, fruit pieces, bacon slices, eggs,beans, mushrooms, tomatoes, cold meats, cheeses, breads etc available. We did not have dinner in hotel so cannot comment. The staff were friendly and spoke english. It deserves 4 stars. It is right alongside the beach.

Room Tip: Try and get a soutside balcony room overlooking the sea. It may be a bit more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ards
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Really good location for the marina and beach.
Rooms very clean
Staff friendly
Good pool area with plenty of sunbeds
I would definitely return as it was great value, we booked through easy jet holidays and got a fantastic deal

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiger_anne_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Just back in Ireland having spent a wonderful week at this hotel. It again proved an ideal location for our one week golf vacation. From arrival to departure, the wonderful staff who we encountered daily could not have been more courteous, professional and friendly in the manner in which they enaged with us. Our Junior Suite was bright, spacious and serviced daily. Breakfast each moring was relaxed with food of excellent quality and of a wide variety, available in copious amounts. It is ideally lcated just a short stroll from the Marina and adjacent to the beach.

We cannot wait for our return in 2014.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 days in April to play golf,the hotel is perfectly situated,30 second walk to the beach or a ten minute walk to the marina.your close to everything but far enough away not to hear noise at night.

The rooms are very basic but clean and the towels were changed everyday we were there.the breakfast is excellent with a good variety of hot food,pastries,cold meats,cereal.everything you could want to set you up for the day.

The hotel runs a free shuttle bus to any golf course in vilamoura which saved us alot on taxis.

I will be choosing this hotel next time I come to play golf.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Marina
Vila Gale Marina
#14 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 stars 819 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#8 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 stars 3,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#12 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 stars 724 reviews
1.3 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#4 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 stars 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Ampalius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Ampalius

Address: Alameda da Praia da Marina, Vilamoura 8125-408, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#5 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#9 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#11 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Ampalius 4*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This attractive hotel is situated directly next to the Marina beach and is located in the tourism centre of Vilamoura. Just across the street guests will find the local casino and the marina just 100 metres away with a huge offer of shops, restaurants, bar and other entertainment attractions in the immediate vicinity. The nearest golf course lies 2 km from the hotel and it is just 50 metres to the nearest public transport connection. The hotel was built in 1992 and completely renovated in 2003. It has 357 rooms divided by 10 floors, including 84 suites suitable for families. Guests are offered a large, peaceful garden and pool area, a stylish lobby with 4 lifts, and a reception that is open to guests around the clock with a safe. It also has parking lot, a game room, a newspaper stand, a shop, a cosy bar and an air-conditioned restaurant with a non-smoking area and highchairs available for small children. The hotel is fully equipped with a conference room and the public Internet terminal room. For an additional cost guests may take advantage of the laundry service and the garage. The impeccable rooms are equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, safe, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. The hotel has an outdoor pool with a children's area, a snack bar, sun loungers and parasols. In addition, it offers an indoor swimming pool, a gym and a spa centre with Jacuzzi, sauna, massage service and beauty treatments. It is also possible to take advantage of offers such as tennis, golf and snooker/billiard tables. There is a fine buffet available at breakfast and in the evening. At lunch and at dinner guests may dine a la carte or chose from the set menu. It is possible to book a half-board stay. The hotel accepts American Express, Diners Club, Eurocard, MasterCard and VISA as payment options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Vila Gale Ampalius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Ampalius Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve
Ampalius Hotel Vilamoura
Hotel Vila Gale Ampalius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing