We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Prado Villas

Save Saved
You added Prado Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Prado Villas
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Volta Da Manha, Vilamoura 8125-404, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 35 hotels in Vilamoura
Turin, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Prado Villas is a delightful place, and offers excellent value for money. The grounds are beautiful, and the villas are spacious. The furniture is fine, though the fittings (doors, windows, lights) need attention. Perhaps that is why it has fewer than five stars. The pool is clean; rarely empty but never full of people. The staff are helpful and very friendly. It is a bit isolated: it’s a fair way to the nearest shop, and the bright lights of Vilamoura are even further. All in all, a great place to chill out.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    25
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The staff were lovely . But I have to admit the first impression I got when I entered the villa was shock. No Air-Con. That's like coming to a hotel Scotland in the winter and finding out you room has no heater, In these modern times when travellers are more savvy air con is a must. Also found the kitchen was so out dated and the fridge condition despicable. Also the cooker was not directly fed from a separate spur unit , but was a 110v plug. Not safe by any standards . When returning to the villa at night there was no lights on the walk way. Take a torch with you just to be on the safe side. Only two umbrella's at the pool side, this is unacceptable. There was a juice bottle that was at the pool area for 6days while I was there . Nobody made any attempt to clean it up and the bin next to the pool shower was never emptied. Cracked and broken tiles in both bathrooms . Had trouble trying to get the door open. The handle was broken. The patio doors did not lock and the seals were hard and brittle. I did notice one apartment has been modernised but that should have been done 20 years ago.

Room Tip: Ask for the modernised villa if booking up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed at the prado villas from 27 July to the 07 August this year 2013 and had a very relaxing holiday.We had booked two villas as we were travelling with another couple and both were poolside.
The villas are huge with two bedrooms one being en suite and had everything you needed for self catering however they are suffering from the lack of maintenance with ill fitting doors and very dated.The pool area was never crowded and plenty of sunbeds at any time of the day but the most enjoyable thing was the utter peace and quiet with no pool bar or any distractions.
The weather was very hot and we did suffer a few nights due to no air con or fans but with the windows open and the shutters locked it remained fairly cool most nights.
The nearest shop was a good 15 minute walk and the marina at least 30 minute but the taxi was on average around 5 euro so we were able to do a big shop at Jeffers supermarket and loaded the taxi to the brim which meant we only had to carry small amounts for the rest of our stay.
The marina was lovely and we ate at parkeys bar most nights as the food was great and reasonably priced but there is plenty to choose from.
If you want to escape the world for a while the prado villas is ideal but expect to do a lot of walking to get around.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We went to Prado villas again as it was a good price. We stayed at Prado Villas 7 years ago and for the price it is good value BUT needs so much updating. The villa was exactly as it was years before. Very tired and old fixtures and fittings. Complex is really nice and pool lovely. If they spent some money updating the place they could make it perfect. We stayed when the 40 degree heatwave struck and had the worst sleep ever. Bedroom was 30 degrees and you couldn't have a window open because of the mosquitos so be aware of that! For £412 in a 2 bedroom i'd say go for it but for the price being charged now, no way. Isobela is lovely by the way. The Portuguese are all so friendly and the cats were sweet.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Lincs
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Ok so you'll really need a car and prefer peace and quiet to hustle and bustle, but you'll get a spacious 2 bed villa, albeit a little tired, for the cost of a budget studio nearer the beach.

All the other reviews sum it up well. Fantastic set up, superb basic villa, would benefit from a makeover.

It's a bit frustrating that an hour or so of simple DIY would make a big difference. Fit a holder for the shower head, a new bit of workroom, a freezer compartment door etc.

Also a small shop at the reception would save a trip to the supermarket half a mile away.

However you can't escape the charm of living amongst big villas on the side of the Old Course. We had a wonderful break and enjoyed feeding the friendly kittens!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marinha Grande, Portugal
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We spent a week at Prado Villas in June 2013, The Villas are quite old and need some maintenance, our cupboard had only one door the other was missing, the shutter hinges are all rusty, internet access is only in the reception area, however it was clean and the pool is nice but small, the staff is friendly. Overall It was good value for the Money and I wouldn´t mind returning there. The Villas don´t have air conditioner.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

As a teenager, I first stayed at Prado Villas way back in 1992 with my parents and brother. It wasn't until mentioning our forthcoming holiday to my mother that she recalled it was the same place we'd stayed, just under 21 years later!

The 18-unit complex is located in a very quiet part of Vilamoura, backing on to the Old Golf Course on its north side and several private villas to the south. The huge, kidney-shaped pool sits roughly in the middle, cut into the hillside, with a reception area nearby. The villas are split into six groups of three units, each with their own parking areas, and ours was villa 3, "Goivo".

It was in very clean condition but somewhat dated inside. The kitchen cupboards and tiles are probably the originals, and there was an old-style CRT television, so if you're looking for the latest contemporary villa interior this may not be for you. Outside some of the white wall paint had stained and the wooden crossmember over the patio needed a lick of paint too. That said, this gave the villas a simple charm and they have all you need.

Facilities overall are limited but the pool more than makes up for it. Although most of the units were occupied during our stay, it was never truly busy and we used every day with our two sons (who loved it).

Perhaps the best thing about Prado Villas is the value. We got an excellent deal with Expedia, which undercut an apartment at Vila Sol, where we'd stayed twice previously, by more than half. It's not the most modern complex in the world, but you just can't ignore it at these prices.

Room Tip: The units each have sliding windows with external shutters, which meant that if you were in the comp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Prado Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prado Villas

Address: Volta Da Manha, Vilamoura 8125-404, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Prado Villas 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prado Villas is a small, private development of 18 well appointed two bedroom linked villas, ideal for those seeking a self catering holiday in Vilamoura. The villas are set out in extensive grounds, with the communal swimming pool (unheated) and its large terrace area at the heart of the complex and framed by landscaped gardens. With only 18 villas, guests are ensured that their stay will be quiet, relaxed and free from the noise and disruptions of larger resorts. Located at the end of a cul de sac and bordering the 13th Fairway of the Old Course the tranquility of Prado Villas is retained even in the busier summer months. Each villa offers:•2 spacious bedrooms with twin beds with fitted wardrobes and drawers•One en suite shower room and a separate bathroom with a bath/shower, bidet, toilet & sink•A well equipped kitchen including oven, hob, fridge/freezer, kettle, crockery and utensils•A generous open plan lounge/dining room with defined areas including dining table and chairs and relaxed seating•A private sun terrace through sliding doors from the lounge, with table and chairs. Additional features include:•Satellite TV•A safety deposit box (2 euros per day)•Full length mirrors in the bedrooms•Hair drier•Ironing board and iron•Shutters on the windows•Maid service is twice a week, change of towels mid week (pool/beach towels are not provided), change of linen (more than 7 nights). Our friendly reception team will endeavour to ensure your stay is as enjoyable as possible and are able to assist with all requests including:•Booking airport transfers•Booking taxis, car hire and bicycle hire•Booking of green fees across the Algarve with up to a 30% discount•Organisation of excursions•Local information, advice and assistance. Within walking distance or a short drive away:•Falesia Beach and the Marina (Central Vilamoura)•Old Course, Pinhal, Laguna & Millennium Golf Courses•Brown’s Sports & Leisure Centre (promotional rates available)•Health Spa•Family Golf Park (Mini Golf)•Lawn Bowling•Horse riding•Nature Reserve•Water Sports & boat trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Prado Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prado Villas Hotel Vilamoura
Prado Hotel Vilamoura
Prado Resort Vilamoura
Prado Villas Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prado Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.