We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 bed villa for the price of a studio” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prado Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Prado Villas to your Saves list
Prado Villas
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Volta Da Manha, Vilamoura 8125-404, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
1€ P/NIGHT IN MAY
Ranked #21 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Brigg, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
262 reviews 262 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
“2 bed villa for the price of a studio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Ok so you'll really need a car and prefer peace and quiet to hustle and bustle, but you'll get a spacious 2 bed villa, albeit a little tired, for the cost of a budget studio nearer the beach.

All the other reviews sum it up well. Fantastic set up, superb basic villa, would benefit from a makeover.

It's a bit frustrating that an hour or so of simple DIY would make a big difference. Fit a holder for the shower head, a new bit of workroom, a freezer compartment door etc.

Also a small shop at the reception would save a trip to the supermarket half a mile away.

However you can't escape the charm of living amongst big villas on the side of the Old Course. We had a wonderful break and enjoyed feeding the friendly kittens!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    24
    9
    1
    3
See reviews for
17
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marinha Grande, Portugal
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We spent a week at Prado Villas in June 2013, The Villas are quite old and need some maintenance, our cupboard had only one door the other was missing, the shutter hinges are all rusty, internet access is only in the reception area, however it was clean and the pool is nice but small, the staff is friendly. Overall It was good value for the Money and I wouldn´t mind returning there. The Villas don´t have air conditioner.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

As a teenager, I first stayed at Prado Villas way back in 1992 with my parents and brother. It wasn't until mentioning our forthcoming holiday to my mother that she recalled it was the same place we'd stayed, just under 21 years later!

The 18-unit complex is located in a very quiet part of Vilamoura, backing on to the Old Golf Course on its north side and several private villas to the south. The huge, kidney-shaped pool sits roughly in the middle, cut into the hillside, with a reception area nearby. The villas are split into six groups of three units, each with their own parking areas, and ours was villa 3, "Goivo".

It was in very clean condition but somewhat dated inside. The kitchen cupboards and tiles are probably the originals, and there was an old-style CRT television, so if you're looking for the latest contemporary villa interior this may not be for you. Outside some of the white wall paint had stained and the wooden crossmember over the patio needed a lick of paint too. That said, this gave the villas a simple charm and they have all you need.

Facilities overall are limited but the pool more than makes up for it. Although most of the units were occupied during our stay, it was never truly busy and we used every day with our two sons (who loved it).

Perhaps the best thing about Prado Villas is the value. We got an excellent deal with Expedia, which undercut an apartment at Vila Sol, where we'd stayed twice previously, by more than half. It's not the most modern complex in the world, but you just can't ignore it at these prices.

Room Tip: The units each have sliding windows with external shutters, which meant that if you were in the comp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stayed here 17th to 21st November. Although the villa's bathroom fittings and some kitchen appliances are a little worn this is reflected in the price. The accommodation is spotlessly clean and very well equipped including electric heaters for the chilly evenings, ( you may wish to bring soap, flannel and hairdryer amongst your personal items). If you are arriving after reception is closed your envelope with instructions is left in the door. The supermarket in Villamoura is a couple of minutes drive away and you can stock up on drinks and snacks to enjoy by the pool. The peaceful setting is its biggest selling point, no noisy neighbours, well kept gardens teeming with birds and a great place to relax. The family of black cats visited for scraps everyday and proved to be lucky for us in the casino. The villamoura casino is worth a visit, it opens around 3pm, no membership required , no dress code and plenty of 1c, 2c, 5c and 10c slots including british favourites such as cleopatra, white orchid etc. If you are driving to albufeira for the evening the happy house chinese restaurant has an all you can eat buffet for 10.99, it opens at 6.30 and is always busy, the restaurant in the sister property prado do golf is also worth a visit as it is good value, a meal for 2 with a drink is around 30 euros. We really enjoyed our stay and hope to return again in the spring.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Great Location, upmarket Vilamora and a nice relaxing place to enjoy a super time. Set amongst a striking residential area. Loved it! Have been to the Algarve on many occassions and again this one didnt disappoint. However, this is one place we will return to again. Its not the Ritz but its great value with everything you'd want.

Room Tip: All excellent as its peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

These villas represent good value for money when you consider their location i.e. you are surrounded by multi-million pound properties and a couple of golf courses! It is quite amazing that such a development is allowed among such wonderful and palatial residential homes but I found out that the complex was there first lol. Having said that, the villas do show their age (approx 30 years old) but do so without hindrance to your hoilday, they are of a basic standard, clean and comfortable, the pool is also a nice size and kept very clean. If you are looking for peace and tranquility then this is the place for you, we met a lovely Portugese family on holiday that had a severely disabled adult son and they go there quite often as it caters for all which speaks volumes in itself. It is a lovely walk into town and the marina taking approx 40 minutes, taxi's are available if that's to long to walk (bookable)(or from outside the Hilton) costing 6 euro's. All in all, it is a no frills, Down to Earth complex... with Luxury at the Hilton Spa only 5 minutes away

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Prada villas are old style portuguese , old but nice,
Its not really walking distance to Vilamoura , we always took a taxi.
The Villas suit everyone really , we had groups of golfers, familys and other couples,
As its a walk to town we regularly ate in the pool bar restaurant in the day or even at night there was generallly a good crowd.
The food was very nice and varied ,British style .
The chef a guy called Steve was very friendly ,He also worked in the bar ,.
He arranged our taxi transfer back to the Airport for us , We picked one up in Faro Airport and they charged us 45 euro , Steve sorted us a transfer company called yellow fish transfers on the way home it was a company of his friend,and the price was only 25 euro . We were made up..
Vilamoura has a lovely marina but i do think its very over priced ,
The night life is also not great with not too many bars,
It suited us to stay on the complex as there was a good group of people there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pradovillas, reservations department at Prado Villas, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our holiday resort. From what I have read you stayed at the sister resort Prado do Golf and not Prado Villas. At the moment Prado Villas does not have an onsite bar/restaurant. We appreciate your comments and very happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having you stay with us in the near future once again, please do not hesitate to contact us directly on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Prado Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prado Villas

Address: Volta Da Manha, Vilamoura 8125-404, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Prado Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prado Villas is a small, private development of 18 well appointed two bedroom linked villas, ideal for those seeking a self catering holiday in Vilamoura. The villas are set out in extensive grounds, with the communal swimming pool (unheated) and its large terrace area at the heart of the complex and framed by landscaped gardens. With only 18 villas, guests are ensured that their stay will be quiet, relaxed and free from the noise and disruptions of larger resorts. Located at the end of a cul de sac and bordering the 13th Fairway of the Old Course the tranquility of Prado Villas is retained even in the busier summer months. Each villa offers:•2 spacious bedrooms with twin beds with fitted wardrobes and drawers•One en suite shower room and a separate bathroom with a bath/shower, bidet, toilet & sink•A well equipped kitchen including oven, hob, fridge/freezer, kettle, crockery and utensils•A generous open plan lounge/dining room with defined areas including dining table and chairs and relaxed seating•A private sun terrace through sliding doors from the lounge, with table and chairs. Additional features include:•Satellite TV•A safety deposit box (2 euros per day)•Full length mirrors in the bedrooms•Hair drier•Ironing board and iron•Shutters on the windows•Maid service is twice a week, change of towels mid week (pool/beach towels are not provided), change of linen (more than 7 nights). Our friendly reception team will endeavour to ensure your stay is as enjoyable as possible and are able to assist with all requests including:•Booking airport transfers•Booking taxis, car hire and bicycle hire•Booking of green fees across the Algarve with up to a 30% discount•Organisation of excursions•Local information, advice and assistance. Within walking distance or a short drive away:•Falesia Beach and the Marina (Central Vilamoura)•Old Course, Pinhal, Laguna & Millennium Golf Courses•Brown’s Sports & Leisure Centre (promotional rates available)•Health Spa•Family Golf Park (Mini Golf)•Lawn Bowling•Horse riding•Nature Reserve•Water Sports & boat trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Prado Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prado Villas Hotel Vilamoura
Prado Hotel Vilamoura
Prado Resort Vilamoura
Prado Villas Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prado Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.