We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy going, peaceful hotel - definitely would return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golf Motel

Golf Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Vilamoura
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Golf Motel
Estrada Monumental 256, Vilamoura 8125, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 35 hotels in Vilamoura
Whitley Bay, England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Easy going, peaceful hotel - definitely would return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

My friend and I stayed here for 4 nights. Upon arrival the desk clerk upgraded us to a garden room as I was in a wheelchair. I'd read previous reviews which said that it was a good hotel for those with mobility issues, so I didn't think to mention it. However, you will be assigned a downstairs room (the hotel is built on a hill so the main level is upper). if you don't let them know. Thanks for the upgrade. The room was spacious with two single beds, a fully equipped kitchen - microwave, double hob, toaster, kettle, fridge etc. There is a lovely little balcony which gets the sun all day long, a reasonable sized bathroom with shower and bath. Our room was a stone's throw from the pool which is great for those of us with limited mobility as you can get about a bit on your own. We went HB and I have to say, the food didn't disappoint. We arrived at 10pm and they had a table ready for us in the restaurant. We were provided with a menu but opted for a salad starter only, which they promptly made up to a main dish without us asking. There were 2 choices per course (3 courses with bread and olives) each evening waiter served, which is a delight instead of the usual buffet style you get. For breakfast there were a choice of eggs, frankfurters, bacon, pastries, fruit juices, breads, cereals etc. A glass of wine is 2.50 Euros which is fairly reasonable. There are a lot of golf groups staying which means there are fewer kids and people are fairly well behaved (it's a small hotel afterall). A free shuttle service takes you from the hotel to the supermarket, beach and marina (I would definitely see the latter as the yachts are amazing). There's no entertainment for kids so if you have a family you should probably take them to one of the hotels in the town centre as it's also a bit of a hike from this hotel to town. I did my research for transfers and would recommend Alpharooms as the cheapest by far. The only downside is you get picked up a great deal in advance from your hotel to the airport.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
3
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

wonderful,quiet place,even during the world cup,NO groups of teens or noisy groups,good bar ,restraurant,exellent staff,very friendly and helpful,rooms cleaned and beds made everyday,bedding changed twice a week,a thoroughly relaxing place to stay,free minibus to the supermarket,beach,marina 4 times a day,saves a mint on taxi fares,will highly recommend and will be returning next year,

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norhtern ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

we have just stayed in the vilamoura golf hotel and we have had a very nice time.I was there with my sister and the purpose was relaxation.The room was clean and spacious and had everything you could possibly need if you were going self catering.downside was that we didnt have a balcony rather a terrace which wasnt too nice.Rooms are not cleaned until late in the day either.The pool is lovely and it wasnt too crowded,u dont need to be up early to bag the sun loungers!The pool side bar offers plenty of choice but is expensive.its 3 euro for a pint or a can of diet coke!The hotel staff were more than nice.We went self catering and sometimes paid the 6 euro for breakfast and there was plenty of choice.We attempted to walk into vilamoura - that didnt happen!! The hotel does offer a shuttle bus in and out 4 times a day but the last time is at 5pm.There is a supermarket in vilamoura and it offers everything and is way more cheaper than the hotel.There is no shop anywhere near the hotel.The beaches at vilamoura are absolutely out of this world and def worth a trip.The marina offers tonnes of choice food wise and limited shopping.We were there for relaxation and Im 31,my sister is 27 and we were prob the youngest there by far so single people dont go there if you are looking for singletons! Most people were there for golf - the men tended to go play golf and the women laid by the pool. I found this place so relaxing, no loud music, no drunk people falling about the place - it was great! Its not a 5 star accomodation, i would say its 3 but its very, very clean and def comfortable. I would recommend to anyone but do be prepared that you are 10 mins out of the hub of things and you will have to pay taxis n and out at night.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milton keynes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2007

My fiance and I have stayed at hotel do golf two years in a row.
The staff are friendly, the rooms are spacious, comfortable and the cleaner comes in every day.

The kitchen is well equiped and although the hotels resturant menu is a little limited the food is of a good standard.

There is a bus free bus service down to Vilamoura Marina four times a day, throughout the year. The whole place has a calm,and relaxing atmosphere and the grounds are very pretty

We love portugal and the algarve and particularly this hotel.
It is well worth staying in these apartments. Depending on the time of year it can be phenomenally cheap. we paid £80.00 for the two of us for 7 days in November.
We will be going back again.

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2007

We stayed over the Christmas holidays, most places was closed and definitely recommend hiring a car to get about. since the hotel is not near the town centre and public transport forget it. Great location if you want to play golf 6 courses nearby and they will pick you up for free. Food is nice there too.

  • Liked — large rooms
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorks
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2007

Stayed there for a week at Easter with my wife and her parent who are not young (76/81) - the place was clean and well presented. The staff were excellent - friendly but professional, nothing too much trouble etc The food (we took half board) was a little limited in range but what it lacked in choice it more than made up for in quality - really good stuff!

The area is calm and peaceful but sufficiently out of the way to being difficult to find - make sure you are well prepared if traveling independently - but it was well worth the 40 minute drive round Vilamoura trying to find it.

  • Liked — Tricky qwuestion - either staff or food
  • Disliked — tricky to locate
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2006

i went to motel do golf on a girls golf hoilday and returned 8 times since, on my own in a group, the whole place is relaxed no hassel do what you want when you want and no stress, bus service is great to marina as it is a 45 - 1 hr walk away but worth it once there for shopping, food ect,
at the motel the staff are great and i got to know all of them and when there on my own they would look out for me always, it is right on golf courses and 1 of the best in europe the old course, so you do tend to get many groups of male golfers (some female) but i have always had a great laugh with the golfers no problems, i have met so many people at the motel and have stayed friends with them english, and portuguese, it's like my second home, i have had many other hoildays but if i need a quick break then i always know i can go there for a relaxing week, no to many children (only in portuguese school hoildays) but never a fight for sunbed there is a lovely snack bar all day til late in the eve for dinner, also a bar til( very late) with a restaraunt and always golf if you want to watch it on the big screen. overall i would recomend anyone to go there, rooms spotless, maid service everyday with clean towels bedding ect, really freindly staff do anything for you. (not for you less mobile as there is a slight hill to get to the motel) otherwise (FANTSTIC) 10 OUT OF 10

  • Stayed June 2003, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Golf Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golf Motel

Address: Estrada Monumental 256, Vilamoura 8125, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 35 hotels in Vilamoura
Also Known As:
Golf Motel Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golf Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Golf Motel to your Saves list