We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice apartments! ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rio Apartments

Save Saved
You added Rio Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rio Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua de Franca 80, Vilamoura 8125, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 35 hotels in Vilamoura
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“nice apartments! ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I stayed here with my partner between the 19th and 27th Sept! it was a last minute booking and a Bargain so we weren't expecting much.
We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. The apartments looked great from the outside and were enclosed in gardens. we arrived late in the evening, but a friendly man was awaiting our arrival, handing us keys to room 302. this was a one bedroomed apartment on the top floor. i think it may possibly have been the only one with sea views! the kitchen looked like it had recently been refurbished and included two hobs , a microwave, sink and utensils. there is no oven...
the table on the balcony looks a bit tired when you first arrive, but if you check in the kitchen drawers there's a lovely blue and white table cloth which makes a huge difference.
the bedroom is nice a clean and bathroom lovely too. the living room has not really been designed around watching tv, so if that's what your planning on doing then this is not the place for you. there is no air con, so ask early on for a fan. we managed to get one from the reception staff who are always very helpful.
the swimming pool is not heated, so great for a cool off on the sun. lack of available sunbeds. people go out early in the morning to save them with towels despite the sign.
the walk to the marina and beaches is about 25 mins.
we hired bikes through the reception for 12 euros for the day.
we visited the restaurant once during tar stay. the staff were very pleasant and couldn't do enough.
we would stay here again!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    82
    45
    22
    14
See reviews for
28
95
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We've just returned from a week at the Rio and it was exactly as we expected. Having spent time reading the reviews we were well aware that it was a bit of a walk to the marina, but being a young (ish) couple the 20-25 minute walk each day was quite a nice stroll and helped make us feel slightly less guilty about eating and drinking as much as we wanted!
The apartments are tired and a bit dated but we'd spent the extra £20 to have a one bedroom instead of a studio so there was plenty of space and we were lucky enough to have one of the refurbished kitchens. I'm not sure why people are shocked about the TV....you're in Portugal so I'm not sure why there is such surprise that all the channels are Portugese!! The resort doesn't advertise having Sky telly or anything so why expect it!#
The pool area is not really big enough for the size of the apartments and there is a lack of sunbeds but we'd highly recommend the walk (or taxi) to the beach which is fantastic!
Finally the resturant was great, the food is decent home cooked food for a reasonable price, the service can be a bit slow if you're at a busy time but they always have a smile for you while you wait so just have another drink and relax! Yes Luis has a very dry sense of humour (which possibly can get lost in translation) but we never found him rude or inattentive....and as it's only 3 of them running the resturant 6 days a week, 10am - 2am I think they can be allowed to take Mondays off!!
All in all a pleasant week in a lovely area of Portugal. We didn't spend a lot of money on the accomadation and got exactly what we paid for.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

You get what you pay for they say and this complex fits in, room 007 was really poor, paint crumbling off the walls and ceilings, kitchen units had missing fronts, inadequate power points, very dark a death trap waiting to happen. One of the oldest televisions I have seen, now the best bit. The restaurant at Rio is run by the most miserable, rude, uncompromising owners I have ever had the pleasure of meeting. when you are on holiday you want an enjoyable experience. When we arrived at the hotel, we checked in our room in much need of a drink after our journey, we headed to the bar restaurant ordered our drinks, but to be TOLD to move tables if you are not eating, very abruptly I might add!! kind of set the tone for the week. Luis had no people skills what so ever. It didn't seem to matter to him whether you Spent 20 euros or 65 euros of a lunch time or evening.
All seemed to be to much of an effort for the restaurant owner, not that anyone staying at the Rio apartments had much choice to but to spend their money with them, as it was an half hour walk to the marina .They even closed on Mondays rather than bring in staff to provide a service to all the residents ,Apart from the hot stone steak the range of food was mediocre and every meal came with chips, we ask for boiled spuds or mash on the last night, we ended up with powdered smash, not a bad effort after 6 hours notice. He is Portugal,s Basil Fawlty , stay well clear.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

On a recent trip to the rio apartments with my daughter we found them very clean and very comfy beds . The pool area was a bit dated and some of the sunbeds were broken so hard to get one unless you were there early . The staff there were very friendly and couldn't do enough for us Sandra on reception was exceptionally helpful throughout our stay .
The staff in the restaurant were great and the food was lovely Isabella especially promoted home made desserts and they were gorgeous all in all you get what you pay for

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We arrived 25th August left 8th September everything was good for us clean, comfortable spacious apartment, friendly staff, good food on site. We hired a car therefore distance from Rio to Marina etc was not a problem but we only went to Marina once restaurants overpriced and full of wannabe's if you want a good time in Portugal get away from the tourist trail. If you want 5* accommodation pay 5* prices. The Brits are squeezing prices and then complaining about standards. You get what you pay for. Would we go back DEFINITELY

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

On a recent trip to Vilamoura and having never been there before I choose as advertised the 3 star Rio apartments. On arrival the exterior of the complex was fresh and clean and appeared good value for money. Unfortunately that is where thing's went steadily downhill. The interior of the complex was very disappointing. It was dull and in dire need of a complete internal refurbishment. The hallways were dull and shabby and seemed to suffer from water leeks as for the duration of my stay there was towels on the floor of the hallways. On arrival in my assigned apartment things didn't improve. It was clean but very dull and in dire need of a completely update. The walls were badly marked, the ceiling in the bathroom was suffering from mildew problems as there was no ventilation, the kitchen was very dated and the units were in poor condition, the blind didn't work, there was only one plug socket and the handle of the electric kettle became very hot if re boiled. One of the chairs on the balcony was dangerous and collapsed if sat on and all the furniture supplied was old and very dated. The TV had no english speaking channels which is of no use to an international clientele. The pool area was not too bad but required modernisation and some new sun furniture. On the positive side the staff of the complex carrier out their duties very well and were very friendly and helpful. So Rio getting your act together and and get a completely internal refurbishment because you have a good location and externally the apartments look really good and are well landscaped. Three stars is possible but needs a lot of work

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Had a weeks stay at the Rio Apartments and enjoyed it. It is a good half hours stroll to the Marina where all the life is but it's a pleasant walk . Vilamoura is a lovely resort and somewhere I would certainly go back to. The Rio Apartments staff were very friendly,the food was good and reasonably priced as were the drinks. There is a supermarket close by to stock up and just down the road a lovely little bar called Topazio which is ideal for your first drink . Some of the restaurants around the Marina are pricey (Which you probably would expect) but you do get stunning views of the luxury boats and there are plenty. Parky's Bar is a good night out especially the ELVIS tribute act and the 19th hole also is a good lively pub. Plenty of trips available and we went to the Slide and Splash park which was a great day out. Boat trips along the Algarve coast are available from the Marina and this was also a very enjoyable day out.. Overall a good week at the Rio..!!

Room Tip: All looked pretty much the same but nice to have a balcony overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rio Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Apartments

Address: Rua de Franca 80, Vilamoura 8125, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rio Apartments 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Rio Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Apartments Hotel Vilamoura
Rio Apartments Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rio Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.