We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but value for money!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rio Apartments

Save Saved
You added Rio Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rio Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua de Franca 80, Vilamoura 8125, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 35 hotels in Vilamoura
North Wales
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Basic but value for money!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Just got back from a week in the Rio. our studio apartment was basic but clean and represented very good value for money. Restaurante Rio is excellent - great value and great atmosphere and the owners Luis and Isabel are great hosts. We would definitely return for a similar price - we got what we paid for!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    86
    46
    22
    14
See reviews for
29
98
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halesowen, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

hello, me and my boyfriend have just got back from their after spending 8 nights, we arrived late at night and the receptionist had stayed up to give us our key. The room was clean and had everything we needed, their was only one plug in the kitchen which was abit of a pain but nothing to realy moan at, we where facing the garden so didnt get much sunshine but after spending most the time at the beach we didnt mind abit of shade and for the price we paid for the hotel we couldnt realy moan. Its about a twenty minute walk to the marina and theres lots of lovely places to eat and drink. We went on two day trips one to the Loule market and one to splash and slide (water park) which were both great days out Everyone is so friendly and the weather was beautiful! Were both in our twenties and their wasnt much night life but it was great to just relax! i cant wait to go again and i would stay in the rio apartments again! LOVED IT! ps its worth going to "parkys" for a meal great food and not over priced!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We have just returned from a week at the Rio Apartments, first impressions were basic but for the price we paid we didn't expect very much, the accomodation actually cost us less than It would of cost to go camping in the Uk.The apartments are very run down, we were given a studio with a garden view, which was dull and dreary, it didn't get any natural light and the electric lighting was awful.The first apartment we were given had water leaking through the kitchen ceiling off the flat roof, we told reception and the lady sent the staff up to have a look, when we came back from the supermarket she told us it was ok now, we went up to find that they had simply mopped the floor and it was still leaking in, so we went back down and were then moved to another apartment.This one was ok as far as water leaking in, but had obviously had problems in the past and the damaged areas had been painted over, this just emphasised the need for decoration as the new paint stood out from the rest. The kitchen only had one plug socket so you could only do one thing at a time either use the kettle or use the toaster or microwave. Towards the end of the week we got some unwelcome visitors lots of ants and as quick as we killed them more would come, in the end we just ignored them and made sure nothing was left out for them to contaminate. The walk to the marina is a good 30 minutes walk even if you cut through the tennis academy, but after a couple of days you do get used to it. The marina is lovely but after going every day it does get a bit boring, the weather wasn't great whilst we were there and there really isn't a lot to do except walk, the small "O'Sheas Irish Bar" just off the marina next to a crepe shop is really nice, the staff are very welcoming and friendly. Keep an eye open for the nest of a white stork on the roof of a disused apartment building near Mcdoanalds, its been coming back for years apparently. The staff at the Rio are very nice, and I suppose it must be hard to do repairs to the apartments when they charge so little. We went for a quiet relaxing week and to be fair we did do a lot of relaxing, mainly because we couldn't really find that much to do. Definitely not a great area if you have children. If you go then a hire car is a must, and if we do ever go back then a car would be at the top of our extras list.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view as the garden view rooms don't get any sunshine
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

was at this appartment very damp cold diffent colours all over would never go back couldnt get sumthing to eat at hotel or anywhare neer son was so board he was steeming up windows to play games so if any body was looking to go a holiday to portugal i would not recomend this hotel at all go somewhare different

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Just back from 2 weeks at the Rio apartments. On arrival make sure you have a phone with you as the receptionist isnt always on site. When she arrived approx 15 mins she gave us our keys & wished us a nice stay. When we opened the apartment door we were quite shocked that we had been given a 2 bed apartment rather than 1, it was clean, very spacious & with a well equipped kitchen so happy days.
It is a bit of a walk to get to the Marina etc, not a problem to us as that is what we do on our holidays. The beaches are clean & lots of places to explore if you dont mind walking a lot.
Vilamoura is a very green resort with a small park & tree lined walkways & if you go to the beach at the right of the Marina the walk along the top of the hills is lovely.
Our last day at the apartments was going to be a be a bit of a nightmare as checkout was at 11am & our transfer wasnt until 5pm, I asked at reception if we could have a room till 5pm & it wasnt a problem & free of charge.
The hotel was quite empty all the time we were there & the bar was shut. Cant comment what its like the rest of the year but it didnt bother us anyway. The one thing it could do with is a wifi connection, just because of its location as we didnt want to take a netbook all the way to the Marina just to check e-mails etc.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Me my mum, borther and my mums boyfriend al went to rio last summer. It was very enjoyable. When we got there the room we payed for was double booked but we offered a larger apartment which was huge! They had a small poola nd a medium pool which when busy was very cramped. The area was great though, the supermarket in walking distanc and bar and restaurant on the site. The food was pretty good in the restaurant and we met people who moved to the area and they said the hotels bar was the best one in the area they had been to. When we got the room it was very clean but one of the sofas was broken and unlike they said it was never fixed during our visit! The marina and beach could be walked but takes around 20 minutes and very cheap in a taxi! So great trip and the place opposite a little chippy thing with chicken being cooked!

Room Tip: The larger suites are very big and a large balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
renfrew
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We have returned to these apartments time and time again over the last 10 years. we have stayed in five star hotels all over the world but haven't been back to any of them.

If you a want a clean, safe base in Vilamoura with a restaurant/ snack bar on site , this wee gem is for you. The marina is a good 30mins stroll away but its a pleasant walk.
we pay about £500 for ten days , flying from Glasgow or Prestwick for 2 adults which is pretty good I think. The staff in the restaurant Louis and Isabelle are hard working and the food is brilliant , big jugs of sangria go down a treat too.
Give this place a try , you wont be disappointed !

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rio Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Apartments

Address: Rua de Franca 80, Vilamoura 8125, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rio Apartments 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Rio Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Apartments Hotel Vilamoura
Rio Apartments Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rio Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.