We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Holiday with Infant, May 2014” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pinhal da Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pinhal da Marina to your Saves list
Pinhal da Marina
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Praca Dos 3 Caminhos | Quarteira, Vilamoura 8125-439, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Family Holiday with Infant, May 2014”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed at the Pinhal da Marina the middle 2 weeks of May 2014. It's about 25 minutes from Faro Airport by Taxi (~€35) and it's about a 20 minute walk to the Marina in Vilamoura (with our Child in the Buggy). The staff were exceptionally welcoming and polite at all times and made sure our Apartment had both the Cot and High Chair before we arrived. The Campus is quite large, and is centred on 2 different pool areas. The Main Pool has a Bar and Restaurant, while the second Pool is deeper into the Campus and is set among more apartments. We booked our apartment based on the recommendations on Trip Advisor for the second pool - which is apparently among the more recently refurbished apartments (Blocks 80). The Apartment was nice and clean and Spacious. The Kitchen capability is basic enough but all we needed - a Microwave, 2 hotplates for boiling or frying, kettle, etc. TV with some English news stations. There is a WiFi across the Pinhal da Marina but it's signal strength is stronger closer to the Main Pool & Bar than where we were, although we still had a decent WiFi signal at most times.

Overall - we were very happy with our 2 weeks in Pinhal and we plan to go back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
p_t12320092010, Gerente geral at Pinhal da Marina, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Good morning,
First of all, thank you for booking your holiday with us and for your feedback, which is highly appreciated. We are pleased that you enjoyed your apartment and the service provided by our staff. We would be very happy to serve you again soon!
Kind regards,
Pinhal da Marina Apartamentos Turisticos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    77
    15
    6
    6
See reviews for
69
76
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

As we had a young baby this place was ideal. Set in a very quiet residential area, it's a 15 minute walk from the marina. Rooms are clean, well furnished and the pool area is great. A large pool for adults and also a small pool for kids. The restaurant is good, basic food at a reasonable price. The breakfast is continental which is ok although a bit boring after a week.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
p_t12320092010, Gerente geral at Pinhal da Marina, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Stephen,
Thank you for your feedback, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your holiday with your family as we make every effort for families with young children to feel welcome and comfortable at Pinhal da Marina.
Warm regards,
Pinhal da Marina Apartamentos Turisticos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We are just back from a weeks stay in Pinhal da Marina with our one year old daughter. We booked a studio apartment which had plenty room with fully equipped kitchen and plenty space, we were very impressed and perfect just for the three of us. The staff were very welcoming and friendly, our room was cleaned everyday. We loved every minute staying here, there was plenty to do from volley ball to tennis to snooker and a playground for the kids. There are two lovely big pools and a kids pool which we seen cleaned everyday. These are great apartments and very well kept with lovely landscaped gardens all around the location. We will be booking again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed in Pinhal da Marina in september, 6 people divided in three rooms. We can say that those are not rooms, but apartments, very comfortable apartments with kitchen, living room, bathroom and bedroom. Also a garden is available for apartments at ground floor. All is clean, breakfast is ok, and the position is good. Fifteen minutes walk to reach the beach. We travelled for golfing purposes and here we found everything is needed for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

My husband and I took our daughter and son-in-law and three grandchildren, 17,12 and 8 years old, to this hotel for a week's much needed break during October half-term. We were delighted with the service and facilities although they were not all available as the hotel was very quiet at this time of year. Our room met our needs and was spotlessly clean although it was a family room which had not yet been updated and was a little tired.We did require ground floor accommodation.The gardens are beautifully kept. The reception staff were most helpful and organised trips for us too. It is a pleasant 20 min walk into Vilamoura and the marina and there is a Spar shop only 10 min walk away which met all our needs - we had breakfast in our apartment and went out for our evening meal each night. There are lots of restaurants to choose from, in and around the marina. We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday and would recommend this hotel to families - it's perfect! Thank you to all the staff at the Pinhal da Marina!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

We had 11 nights self catering at the apartments starting 25 September 2013. The accommodation was a 1st floor superior studio apartment overlooking the adult pool. It was a great size with plenty of seating areas, a large balcony and a good bathroom with excellent shower and a bidet too. Kitchen was extremely well equipped. Constant very hot water readily available. All staff very helpful and friendly, housekeeping was excellent too. We only ate on site a couple of times - one being an evening when the monsoon did not stop long enough for the walk to the Marina. I think we had been spoilt by the meals we had eaten elsewhere as we were disappointed with what we had although the price was very reasonable.

The grounds are large, well kept and very attractive and the apartments are 10 - 15 mins walk to Albufeira with a few local food shops on the way. Excellent range of restaurants, all prices, around the Marina and inland a bit. We had a really good break, only the weather let us down (we will not leave it so late in September again), and despite the noise of barking dogs on and off all night (as others have reported) would thoroughly recommend these apartments as excellent value for money in a very convenient location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Icmeler, Turkey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

This hotel exceeded our expectations! Typical beautiful laid back Portuguese hospitality the staff couldn't do enough for us and all the other guests. Lovely space, lovely features, lovely grounds very close to Centre and marina. Wish I could go back today!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pinhal da Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinhal da Marina

Address: Praca Dos 3 Caminhos | Quarteira, Vilamoura 8125-439, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Vilamoura
#7 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#8 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#8 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pinhal da Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pinhal da Marina Apartments 10/15 minute walk to the Marina for restaurant's, bar's, shop's, and the casino, with a choice of 2 excellent golden sandy beaches either side of the Marina. The Vilamoura golf courses are all within a five minute drive. "Pinhal da Marina" itself comprises of 128 apartments (from studio to 3 bedroom apartment) all furnished with air conditioning in the living room, heater in the bedrooms, satellite tv, a safety deposit box, and if your clients are eating in, the kitchen's are equipped with cooker's, micro wave oven, toaster, tea-coffee facility's and cooking utensils. A feature of the apartments is the spacious veranda's overlooking the gardens or swimming pools where you can sit and watch the sun go down with your favourite beverage in hand. "Pinhal da Marina" host's two large outdoor swimming pool's, a child's paddling pool, a children's playground, restaurant/bar, tennis court, and football, volleyball, basketball area's. Wi-Fi is free of charge in common areas (pool and reception) at Pinhal da Marina Pinmar restaurant is located at Pinhal da Marina by the main pool and it is open from Abril to October. Every day you can have meals a la carte or choose to have half / full board regimen. Also you can have a snack or drinks all day long. Continental breakfast is served daily from 7 am to 10 am (extra cost per person/ day). O Pinhal da Marina is a great place for family holidays and self-catering holidays all year around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and HostelBookers so you can book your Pinhal da Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinhal Da Marina Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pinhal da Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.