We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but not worth full board and not for families!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oasis Village Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Vilamoura
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oasis Village Apartments
Save Saved
You added Oasis Village Apartments to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Caminho do Lago, Vilamoura 8125, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 35 hotels in Vilamoura
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice place but not worth full board and not for families!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We went the last week of Oct. Everything was closed for the season so it was VERY quiet. Only went as it was recommended by the travel agent as family friendly! Never been to Portugal before but for first our 1st time I can say that the holiday was pleasant. I was disappointed as it was our 1st family holiday. We made the most of what we could do. The weather wasn't great but as I said made the most of it.
The "resort" as they call it is made up of 2 hotels and a blocked of apartments. We were in Oasis village in a 2 bed apartment it was very nice like a little house. Theres a kitchen, living area, bathroom, shower, toilets up and downstairs and TV with some English channels. The Apartment was really nice. That apartment in another location would have been fantastic!!! There was 1 pool I seen that was for all 3 hotels.
There's a restaurant in the "resort" and we had gone Full Board, which wasn't worth it because got sick of the food by the end of the week, as it was the same thing every day. What made it worst was that they have a separate menu for paying customers and the food looks lovely. We don't eat beef so chicken was the alternative so they gave us a dry chicken breast with chips every night. you had a choice of veg soup everyday for starter at lunchtime then dinner time, it got boring. we had to eat out a few time. Breakfast was nice though. I would recommend self catering or BB for this resort. As anything else isnt really worth. staff are very nice and attentive!
I Know this review sounds a bit mixed but there were good bits and bad bits like all hols I suppose. Just not a family hoilday. Its for Couples, Older people and Golfers!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    24
    14
    7
    14
See reviews for
17
21
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
belfast
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I hate to have to give such a review but would hate other families to be disappointed like we were after working all year for a family holiday. Firstly our apartment, we where delighted with our apartment which i must admit was the best apartment we have ever had on any holiday! It had 3 large bedrooms dinning room, kitchen, 2 bathroom and large living room with tv! However the other family in our party had booked a sup studio and were given a very small apartment with only kitchen and livingroom, the livingroom had 2 settees and they were there beds for the 10 days!! The complex is a place that the portuguese holiday in and therefore very few english speaking ppl round the pool and no company for the kids at daytime. There is no day or evening family entertainment in the complex! To get a taxi into town 20 mins away you had to wait up to 1 hour and the wee train was not very reliable. The marina where all the restaurants and bars r is a beautiful place but again not geared toward families. Some great restaurants and the Irish cabin was a great bar and the only one we felt relax enough to have kids with us in. Overall was worse family holiday we have had and would defo not recommend to other families. Villamoura is a beautiful place for couples but you would defo be better staying closer to marina because the taxi service is so bad at all times of the day!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

1 week stay and i am happy with my stay at oasis village. We stayed in one of the upgraded rooms on the 4th floor with AC and we even had a view to the ocean about 2km away. Clean, tidy, friendly staff, no problems. Overall a very positive experience. One thing on the downside though, was the lack of WiFi in the pool-area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Just returned from a weeks stay at the Oasis Village apartments. To start with the good, the pool area was very nice, plenty of sun loungers and shady areas, no complaints there. We stayed HB and the food was fine, basic but fresh and tasty, service in the restaurant was quick and the restaurant staff were all very plesant. However, its a shame the same couldn't be said about the reception staff who I found to be very unhelpful and all looked totally bored with their job.

Now for the really bad, basic accommodation is fine with me on holdiay so long as its clean but I can honestly say the apartment we stayed in was DIRTY and nothing like the photos on the travel agents website. The decor was dated, the bathroom was shabby, there were stains in the toilet and bath and the taps were covered with limescale, the cupboards and wardrobe were dusty inside and the kettle was so dirty we couldn't bring ourselves to use it. We complained to the reception staff who were totally indifferent and said they could not upgrade us as there were no more rooms available. The cleaners did come by each day to change the towels and make the beds, but thats all they did! Also, the towels they left were useless hand towels and most of them were stained with goodness knows what. On the first morning whilst using the bathroom I saw a cockroach on the floor, deciding this was Portugal and it was probably a one off I didn't feel too concerned, that was until the next morning, when I awoke with one inside my bed. We complained to the reception staff who were totally indifferent and said they would have someone check the room. Well if they did, they clearly did not solve the problem as every day we had several roaches in the room.

Vilamoura itself is a lovely place and the marina area is well worth a few visits, I would love to stay in Vilamoura again but, next time I'll pay more to stay in one of the 4 star marina hotels not The Oasis Village.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

I recently had a ten day holiday at oasis village and highly recommend the place. The apartment was spacious with excellent facilities. There was only two minor things we would have liked parasols around the pools and English tv channels for when we preferred a relaxing nite in. However this did not spoil our holiday and we are looking forward to return in September .

Room Tip: All rooms are of a high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Just returned from a lovely weeks holiday at the Oasis Village Apartments. We had a studio on the third floor and although it was a bit out dated it was clean and very well equiped with - tv, fan, full oven and 2 ring hob, microwave, toaster and full fridge freezer, the only negative was the 2 single sofa beds which involved removing covers and cushions every night. The walk to the Marina is 30 minutes but taxis are only 4/5 euros. There is a free bus during the day which picks up at the main receiption at 9,11 and 4 and takes you to the beach or marina and return. Not very many restaurants in the area but we got a good special offer at reception on half board basis for 12 euros 50 which included full breakfast and three course evening meal. We booked the package at a good price with Low Cost Holidays and had no problems with any part of the holiday. Dont get a lounger and shade at Felisia beach as it will cost you 15 euros 20 for the day.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

We have just returned from a week at Oasis village. The apartments were clean, and were cleaned every day. Sheets and towels changed regularly. The grounds are lovley and well kept. Staff i reception were helpful. The restaurant was fine and the staff friendly, Swimming pool in very pleasant grounds. It is about 30 minutes walk to vilamoura or the beach, there is a courtesy bus three times a day.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oasis Village Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis Village Apartments

Address: Caminho do Lago, Vilamoura 8125, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 35 hotels in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Oasis Village Apartments 3*
Also Known As:
Oasis Village Apartments Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve
Oasis Village Vilamoura
Oasis Village Apartments Hotel Vilamoura

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oasis Village Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.