We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at these apartments” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pe do Lago Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Pe do Lago Apartments to your Saves list
Pe do Lago Apartments
902 Parra, Vilamoura 8125, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great stay at these apartments”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Reading previous reviews about these hotels I was worried but it was one of the best i have stayed in. we had everything we needed and more. 3 fans,microwave,massive fridge freezer, the place was spotless and spacious, nothing but good things to say. The parque mourbel is the main reception and the staff were very helpful. I would definately stay here again. A taxi was only 4-5euro to the marina so even though the hotel isnt in the centre it is only 5mins drive.

If you go to the marina to eat go to Anchora its a portuguese place and its very nice and cheap. AVOID going to Rui's carvery & steak house, we waited over an hour and a half for our food to find hair in it and the staff didnt even say sorry to us, no manners at all!

There is a cocktail bar called Absolutly and it is a great place to go the people are lovely and the drink is cheap. The 19th hole is a very good place to go also and there is a band called the Sun that are brilliant that plays there.

All in all our stay was very enjoyable and i would definately recommend it!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    10
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
13
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Carmarthenshire
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Myself and 2 friends booked this last year though Low Cost Holidays, we thought we were going to the Parque Miroubel Oasis Village, these apartments are part of that group of buildings, We paid for a superior apartment.
On arrival we were unable to check in as our apartment wasn't ready, we told to put our luggage in the cupboard and go to the bar to wait until 12 which was ok. At 11.50 they gave us the keys and we were transported by minibus to the Pe Do Lago apartments. The apartment we were given was on the 3rd floor 2 lifts serviced the building and both were out of order. We expalined that if this was an on going problem then the 3rd floor was out of the question as my one friend has had hip replacement and would struggle with climbing 3 floors every day, we were assured one lift would be repaired within the hour and fair play it was. We got to the apartment which was very shabby but was clean, it was spotless. but the toaster didn't work ( they changed it) the TV reception was awful (not that this bothered us) and the middle electric shutter on the balcony couldn't be raised along with the other 2.
The pool area looked ok until further inspection, some loungers where broken and dirty and the mattresses left a lot to be desired on the cleanliness front, there was cigarette ends around, dirty tissues, sweet wrappers and the bins around the pool were not empied everyday, the pool wasn't cleaned everyday either!!!!! On Sunday at 10.30 we couldn't even get into the pool area which should have been opened at 10 as someone hadn't unlocked the gates. And rats were seen running around the wall on the perimeter now and again.
The lifts broke down again on Saturday night these were reported by us and several others we were told 1 hour to be fixed it took until Monday morning at around 11, even though we continued to report them, Sunday morning, evening, and Monday morning each time we were told 1 hour, my friend on Sunday struggled to get back up to the apartment for the loo and ended up staying up there until it was time to go for our evening meal, as the snack bar near the pool was closed. Our bins got emptied on the Thursday, but not again until the Saturday night.
We tried to see the Manager on Monday before we went out for the day, but he had got stuck in traffic but when we went to reception on Tuesday to empty the safety box he was there and had a word, he appolgised for the inconvienice and gave us a voucher for a weeks holiday next year, and showed us the Miroubels superior apartments, it made ours look like a slum!!! it had been completely refurbed, the pool area was spotless, lovely new clean sunbeds, and he assured us that we would be given one of these apartment should we decide to take up his offer. There were at least 4 lifts serving each building and he said the Oasis Village was on the standard.
The reception staff were unhelpful and miserable a personality transplant would be helpful, it costs 50cents to have them phone for a taxi to take you to the marina, don't be fooled that its a 20-25 minute walk unless you walk very fast and are able bodied, I walk usually 3 miles everyday and it would have taken me 35-40 minutes at a quick pace, taxi's can cost anything between 4 and 6 Euros depending which one you get we were never charged the same fare twice, either up or down.
The apartments have everything in them, Microwave, kettle, full sized cooker ( if you want to cook) We didn't seem to have 3 of any item the same size plates, cups nothing, we bought 3 cheap mugs for our tea/coffee, they supplied t.towels, which I was surprised at, chopping boards, fridge freezer, really we equiped apartments, but like I said we were happy with the apartment until we saw what we could have had, mainly our biggest gripe was the lifts and the cleanliness of the pool area.
Would I go back? if I could be given a promise that I wouldn't be in the Pe Do Lago and that it would be the Miroubel yes, i certainly wouldn't want the Pe De Lago unless it was completely given the make over that the Miroubel obviously had.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forkhill, null, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Just back from 10 days at pe do lago on 18th august. 2012.Not just quite what we expected for the money we paid.The most we ever paid for accommodation.No air conditioning.Not nearly enough beds or parasols at pool area.Pretty clean but very dated.Staff friendly and helpful.Taxi service in the general area was diabolical.Taxi drivers in general not very helpful and sometimes down right ignorant.Marina area was beautiful but at least 30 minute walk from pe do lago apts.Only for Parkys bar and the outside restaurant at that complex about 500 yards from pe do lago there is really nothing else to do.

Room Tip: Dont stay at pe do lago.Modern apartments are at parque mourabel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Jut back on Good Friday from 11 nights at Pe Do Lago.......for the price we paid for our holiday I was pleasantly surprised by the one bedroom apt we received.....(some of the furnishings were slightly jaded but they were all working and functional) we were in room 419 (4th floor up - which was fine until we had an 8 hour power cut and couldn't use the lift!!) We overlooked the 2nd part of the complex opposite with a side view to the pool and garden which was lovely to sit out on the loungers round the big pool.....not many around at the time of year we were there (late March).

The room was really spacious with everything you would need to cook a full meal if this is the sort of holiday you want - kettle toaster microwave full cooker hob and extractor fan, fridge freezer and every sort of pot pan and utensil you would need - even a coffee perc. Plenty of cups plates bowls and cooking casseroles too. hairdryer in the bathroom, also iron and ironing board should you need it. As we were there in Spring it got chilly in the evenings so we were thankful for the really warm oil (de longhi style) heaters - one in main room and a smaller one in the bedroom. There were just the two of us so didn't use the bed settees as used the twin bedroom which contained double sliding wardrobes with shelves but there were NO drawers space in the bedroom at all which was a bit of an inconvenience...(not many coathangers either so a tip would be to pack a few to use yourself)..... the twin beds although comfy creaked dreadfully and each time one of us turned over we woke the other up for the first couple of nights until we sort of got used to it....... we removed the mattress protector as it was plastic and wrinkled dreadfully so after two uncomfy nights I pulled them both off and the maid left them off too........... bedding changed one time during our 11 night stay and towels changed every three days - the maid missed us one day as i left the Do Not Disturb on the door instead of Please make up the Room so my fault doh - she also didn't come on Sunday but we expected that. Not the best of cleaning but it was adequate as we don't make that much of a mess really and tend to clean up after ourselves too. Made bed emptied bin and cleaned bath loo and sink that was about it - the balcony was a disgrace by the time we left but we had some heavy overnight rain several nights and that brought a lot of muck down so we wouldn't have been sitting out there anyway.
Bathroom was fine with bath with overhead shower, basin and large mirror with long shelf for all your bits and bobs, loo and bidet. plenty of hot water day and night.
We only used the dining room part of Mourabel on our last morning while waiting for taxi transfer and were rather sorry we had not used it earlier - the full brekkie was great value - you could get continental breakfast for I think 4.50 euros if you wished or English PLUS continental for 6.50 euros..... OK you get Full English elsewhere i.e. Parkys for 4.95 but this breakfast was great value. i.e. Cereal, juice, fresh made crusty cob to go with three rashers bacon two fried eggs and a pile of beans........ fresh fruit available too if you wanted, ham / cheese if you wanted it, yogurt again if you wished, fruit salad.............. as much toast as you wanted with jam etc tea coffee or hot choc......... great price 6.50 for all of that if you could possibly fit it all in!!!! We had also had a cooked breakfast at Parkys a couple of times - only 5 / 10 minutes stroll away which was lovely too, other than that me made something for ourselves in the room.
Spent early doors each day in Parkys Bar using the free WiFi and watched some football.

We had a hire car for the duration so used that to get down to the Marina a couple of times in the day - played the Family Crazy Golf one day when it was cloudy - great fun for all ages.. we had such a laugh there but it was busy......... never had any trouble parking but it was early in the season so perhaps later in the year would be another story.

Ate out every night - mostly at A Carpar on the corner near Parkys as walkable - great food and staff, loved it in there........... also ate several times at O'Sino, Paula and Baz's place which was lovely too.......... directions to get there walking.... if you come out of the gate at P do L and turn left to end of road and left again - just keep walking along (about 20 mins) until you almost reach the little roundabout they are on the right hand side of the road about a minute walk before the rb, you will see a blackboard at the end of the drive....closed on Mondays so beware - can recommend this little bistro.

All in all we would most likely come back and we would once again use these apartments as we enjoyed their peaceful location, I would say transport would be preferred as it was a fair walk to the marina........... NB. builder started work in our last five days though on some of the privately owned apts in the block and did make some noise and muck but only after 9 am and usually finished around 6 ish - I should think the building work MAY??? be going on for a few months as they looked like total refurbs and on about 8 apartments....... they caused us no inconvenience though at all.

Room Tip: No Aircon so perhaps a higher floor maybe cooler in hot months. Lifts not noisy so would not be an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

We booked late, through tele text hols (broadway travel) all by telephone and internet. we arrived at night, taken to our room and enjoyed a hot but good nights sleep. we had a good breakfast and the staff were friendly and helpful and this set the tone for the stay. we found everything we wanted locally and found our way around this very clean resort easily despite not speaking the language. despite having to book out of the room early we were able to leave the luggage enjoy the last day and have a shower before getting on the coach back to the airport. we would recommend this resort to anyone, so lay back and relax.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

We booked the accommodation through Low Cost Holidays who were excellent, I have to say we were very sceptical booking at Parque Mourabel Oasis Village looking at reports but our fears were unfounded when we arrived we were given rooms at Pe do Lago, we travelled as a family with our daughters, son in laws and 4 grandchildren and apparently Pe Do Lago apartments are generally given to families as it has a separate children's pool. On arrival we were told they had upgraded my husband and I to a one bedroom superior suite as opposed to the superior studio which we had booked the reason was to keep us all together. The rooms were really lovely very modern state of the art furnishings and kitchen, lovely bathroom, the bedroom was quite small and basic with plenty of wardrobe space but beds are really hard! The only downfall was that they put the two families upstairs and although there is a very small lift there were also two sets of stairs to climb after getting out of the lift and with 4 pushchairs it was a struggle. There is a little bar downstairs which also serves food, the people who own it were really friendly and helpful with tickets to the Aquashow (which was a fantastic day out) and transport locally. Yes it is a little way out from Villamoura but the walk as everyone says is really lovely down through a park. We used Yellowfish Transfers for the airport pick up and drop off, they were really great helping us with luggage as there were 6 adults 2 children and 2 babies! I would definitely recommend them they charged €116 for the 10 of us and provided baby seats and booster seats. All in all a great holiday!!

Room Tip: Upgrade to Superior - its worth the money! Try to ask for Pe Do Lago. Request low floor for famili...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North east england
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

Arrived here end of aug beginning of sept!!! Was pleasantly suprised with the accomodation. We booked the mourabel but like many others were put in the pe do lago ( about 3 mins around the corner). We didnt have to wait for the room we were taking around straightaway. Room was spacious n quite modern n very well equipped for a s/c holiday (kettle, microwave, large fridge/freezer, iron/iron board, hairdryer etc). We shared a 1 bedroom apartment with 3 adults and 2 young children, twin beds in bedroom, 2 single matress sofa beds in living area and a fold up campbed for little 1. Pool was quite big and there was a little pool for the kids ( which they loved). This hotel is a BIG walk to the main drag we didnt even attempt it with 2 kids aged 3 and 4 and a 72 yearold. This hotel is very quiet and quite boring its purely for those wanting to chill out and enjoy the sun. The marina is nice but everything is really expensive and theirs countless restaurants to visit but again really expensive!! The main road at the back of the hotel was pretty noisy and there was a few dogs in the private gardens that liked to bark a lot i slept in the front room so didnt really hear them but my gran got woken up a few times by them.. Hotel was fine just a bit boring nothing much to do if i visited again id be booking something a bit closer to the beaches and marina... oh yeah and to add if your taking small kids id request a ground floor room as they stuck us 3 floors up (quite a high drop) which was a lil dangerous i thought!! Hope this helps : )

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pe do Lago Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pe do Lago Apartments

Address: 902 Parra, Vilamoura 8125, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Vilamoura
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Pe do Lago Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pe Do Lago Apartments Hotel Vilamoura
Pe Do Lago Apartments Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pe do Lago Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.