We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearly perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tivoli Marina Vilamoura

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Tivoli Marina Vilamoura to your Saves list
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apartado - 65, Vilamoura 8125-901, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Vilamoura
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nearly perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This was our second visit and we were not disappointed however I really do hope these reviews are looked at and the feedback used because there are just a few things that might stop us booking next year . Although we found there were loads of sun umbrellas and plenty of room to sit it was impossible to relax properly because the sun beds were sooooo uncomfortable and the umbrellas too small. The location was perfect but the staff were not fun to chat too they just went about their day to day jobs as if they were just doing there job without enjoying it . Except Justin who has been with the hotel 25years and he was so friendly and always had a smile and kind word for us At breakfast and lunch .As opposed to the omelette chef who scowled at you every morning .the food was excellent . Outside we also has some fantastic meals you can't really go wrong but we managed it one night when we made the mistake of going to The Colonial please don't go near here its terrible .. One other thing about the hotel a little entertainment in the evening would make a huge difference the massive space available was deserted because nothing going on just like an empty shell . The biggest plus without a doubt is the location and its pure heaven .

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room high up we had 430 and it was lovely but talking to others the rooms that h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    622
    477
    183
    62
    36
See reviews for
306
648
9
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

My husband, parents and I have just returned from a weeks stay at this hotel. Before we went my husband looked a trip advisor and picked up on one of the tips to join the GHA members scheme, we did this which meant we got free newspapers/magazines each day of our stay along with free wifi. While we were away it was also a special birthday for my mum. We emailed the hotel before hand and they provided my mum and dad with a great beach view room on the 9th floor of the hotel along with a cake and wine on my mums birthday.
The hotel is about 20minutes drive from Faro airport, there is free parking at the hotel. Check in was friendly and straight forward . Our room was on the 3rd floor facing the marina. After two nights facing the marina we asked to be moved to a higher floor with sea view. Although the marina view is beautiful there was a lot of noise from 11pm onwards each night from the hotel bar and marina bars. We also seemed to have a few hen parties on our floor which did disturb us throughout the night. We were moved to the 6th floor which was a lot quieter. You could sleep with your balcony door open with no noise.
Both our room and my parents room were recently refurbished, modern, clean with extremely comfortable beds and lovely toiletries were provided. The hotel is perfectly positioned, out of one side is the marina with lovely restaurants, shops and bars. The other side of the hotel leads to the pool and beach. All you need in one spot.
There were plenty of sun beds around the pool and the food at breakfast and snack bars were of a high standard. Upon check in you get some vouchers for 10% off at the pool bar and also two for one on cocktails at the 'side bar'. I can highly recommend the hotel restaurant called Peppers, the food is incredible and the staff very friendly. We also had massages 190minutes of one of the best massages I have ever had.
The only down side to the hotel is that the turn down service was at 5.20pm every day, far too early and also a few things were chargeable, such as the sun loungers on the beach which is strange for a 5star resort. I would highly recommend this hotel and I look forward to staying there sometime in the future.
Tips:
Join GHA scheme before you travel.
Ask for a refurbished room on a higher floor with beach view and furthest away from the lifts.
Experience a meal at Peppers Restaurant in the hotel.
Experience the spa at the hotel. It is out of this world.
Lower floor rooms and the reception area have a better wifi signal.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

What the hotel building lacks in aesthetic beauty, it makes up for it in all other areas. Smart common areas, large well kept gardens and sunbathing areas, good rooms with great views and great food at Peppers restaurant overlooking the marina. As the hotel adjoins the marina there are scores of bars and restaurants to choose from. The only negatives are the price of lager in the hotel - 5.50 euros for less than a pint (in contrast a decent bottle of wine cost only 16 euros) and the inconsistent service at the pool bar. We will be returning.

Room Tip: A high floor with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We recently spent a week here. The reception staff were very friendly professional and kind. The Entrance Foyer and lounge areas are very impressive. They were very clean nicely decorated and had ample settees to chill on. They had 4 lifts so never had to wait around for more than a couple of minutes each time. Restaurants and bar area were also very clean, modern and food was top quality. The pool was very good, it had areas for serious swimmers and also for the paddlers. Children were also catered for. The area around the pool was always kept clean tidy, had a mixture of paved and grass areas, and pool staff always on hand if you required poolside service.

Unfortunately, no fault of the hotel, there were still the odd few people who would be down there putting the towels down early hours.

However, although it seems lots of money has been spent on the areas above we think the rooms could do with some work. The room we stayed was ok, but far from 5 star. The view overlooking Marina was very nice, but closer to the hotel, there was mould on the outside walls, the patio areas outside the rooms need a severe cleaning. Maybe the hotel would have noticed and planned to rectify. Not sure if you could blame the hotel, but previous occupants had stubbed out cigarettes on the wall and then threw the used cigarettes over the balcony, not a pretty sight.

Not only this hotel, but previous hotels, builders and/or designers don't put enough electric sockets, therefore you get several appliances overloading one socket.

Finally, we did enjoy the the stay and would stay there again. I'm not sure if this is really a 5 Star hotel, because of my latter points, maybe a high 4.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The facilities were good and the food was good.
Location was excellent and the staff that were doing housekeeping were very good and friendly and other staff should follow their attitude
The room was very basic and in poor repair not even fit for a 3 star we were on the 7th floor
Breakfast staff were very rude and going around like as if everything you asked for seemed to be a effort
I would advise management to sort them out or sack them
overall not value for the money

Room Tip: do not stay on the 7th floor if you dont want to be put in a 2 star room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We booked based on reviews. Perfect location, great service, rooms are classic, beds are like sleeping in clouds. It was our wedding anniversary and reception assisted us with picking the lovely Akvavit restaurant at the Marina. Then when we got to our room we had complimentary champagne and chocolates. Tiago at reception was very helpful as where all the staff in the hotel. Breakfast was the best we have had in Europe, we ate at mint restaurant and peppers- great food and the usual hotel prices. Pool is great with the beach steps away. Would recommend hiring a car to get around as cab prices can get high in traffic. All in all will definitely be back again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed in this fabulous hotel, our room overlooked the marina, all rooms either overlooked the marina or the sea. We had a very spacious room. While the room was spacious it was a little dated, but the bed was comfortable. Breakfast buffet was not as good as the Tivoli hotel in Lagos where we stayed for the first 3 days. Staff were very helpful and as we had an issue with our booking they accommodated us with a professional manner. Only bad thing I would add, we decided to go to the "private" part of the beach for a few hours and use the "sunbeds" provided by the hotel to be told that they were "discounted" at €15 each for hotel guests, could not believe that guests had to pay for them...also the room did not have a directory of hotel facilities, I would have liked to know the cost of the various facilities provided.

Room Tip: To my knowledge, as mentioned, all rooms have marina or sea view, once above level one
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tivoli Marina Vilamoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Marina Vilamoura

Address: Apartado - 65, Vilamoura 8125-901, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#5 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#7 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#8 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#13 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tivoli Marina Vilamoura 5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service hotel offers leisure and sports facilities, convention center, access to the beach and sits overlooking the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Venere, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tivoli Marina Vilamoura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura Hotel Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Hotel Vilamoura
Tivoli Hotel Vilamoura
Vilamoura Tivoli Marina Hotel
Tivoli Vilamoura
Tivoli Marinotel Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tivoli Marina Vilamoura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.