We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tivoli Marina Vilamoura

Save Saved
You added Tivoli Marina Vilamoura to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apartado - 65, Vilamoura 8125-901, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 35 hotels in Vilamoura
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A good hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

What the hotel building lacks in aesthetic beauty, it makes up for it in all other areas. Smart common areas, large well kept gardens and sunbathing areas, good rooms with great views and great food at Peppers restaurant overlooking the marina. As the hotel adjoins the marina there are scores of bars and restaurants to choose from. The only negatives are the price of lager in the hotel - 5.50 euros for less than a pint (in contrast a decent bottle of wine cost only 16 euros) and the inconsistent service at the pool bar. We will be returning.

Room Tip: A high floor with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    473
    347
    139
    50
    34
See reviews for
251
474
5
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We recently spent a week here. The reception staff were very friendly professional and kind. The Entrance Foyer and lounge areas are very impressive. They were very clean nicely decorated and had ample settees to chill on. They had 4 lifts so never had to wait around for more than a couple of minutes each time. Restaurants and bar area were also very clean, modern and food was top quality. The pool was very good, it had areas for serious swimmers and also for the paddlers. Children were also catered for. The area around the pool was always kept clean tidy, had a mixture of paved and grass areas, and pool staff always on hand if you required poolside service.

Unfortunately, no fault of the hotel, there were still the odd few people who would be down there putting the towels down early hours.

However, although it seems lots of money has been spent on the areas above we think the rooms could do with some work. The room we stayed was ok, but far from 5 star. The view overlooking Marina was very nice, but closer to the hotel, there was mould on the outside walls, the patio areas outside the rooms need a severe cleaning. Maybe the hotel would have noticed and planned to rectify. Not sure if you could blame the hotel, but previous occupants had stubbed out cigarettes on the wall and then threw the used cigarettes over the balcony, not a pretty sight.

Not only this hotel, but previous hotels, builders and/or designers don't put enough electric sockets, therefore you get several appliances overloading one socket.

Finally, we did enjoy the the stay and would stay there again. I'm not sure if this is really a 5 Star hotel, because of my latter points, maybe a high 4.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The facilities were good and the food was good.
Location was excellent and the staff that were doing housekeeping were very good and friendly and other staff should follow their attitude
The room was very basic and in poor repair not even fit for a 3 star we were on the 7th floor
Breakfast staff were very rude and going around like as if everything you asked for seemed to be a effort
I would advise management to sort them out or sack them
overall not value for the money

Room Tip: do not stay on the 7th floor if you dont want to be put in a 2 star room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We booked based on reviews. Perfect location, great service, rooms are classic, beds are like sleeping in clouds. It was our wedding anniversary and reception assisted us with picking the lovely Akvavit restaurant at the Marina. Then when we got to our room we had complimentary champagne and chocolates. Tiago at reception was very helpful as where all the staff in the hotel. Breakfast was the best we have had in Europe, we ate at mint restaurant and peppers- great food and the usual hotel prices. Pool is great with the beach steps away. Would recommend hiring a car to get around as cab prices can get high in traffic. All in all will definitely be back again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed in this fabulous hotel, our room overlooked the marina, all rooms either overlooked the marina or the sea. We had a very spacious room. While the room was spacious it was a little dated, but the bed was comfortable. Breakfast buffet was not as good as the Tivoli hotel in Lagos where we stayed for the first 3 days. Staff were very helpful and as we had an issue with our booking they accommodated us with a professional manner. Only bad thing I would add, we decided to go to the "private" part of the beach for a few hours and use the "sunbeds" provided by the hotel to be told that they were "discounted" at €15 each for hotel guests, could not believe that guests had to pay for them...also the room did not have a directory of hotel facilities, I would have liked to know the cost of the various facilities provided.

Room Tip: To my knowledge, as mentioned, all rooms have marina or sea view, once above level one
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Lovely hotel , lovely location , fabulous view.
Well furnished rooms and well maintained.
We had booked tivoli marina because it was newer and close to the golf courses but they closed it in the winter due to low booking and put us at the marina . We were upset inicially but after realising the exact location of The victoria we were pleased as there is not the spectacular view and facilities are a good way away. The golf are easy to get to from the marina hotel anyway as there are free shuttle bases.
We made our way to the hotel using a transfer service and it was good yelllow fishtransfers . On time, nice cars with wifi , clean and polite drivers.
Vilamoura is quiet in the wintertime , just old people and golfers , but if the weather is good as it was for us there is nothing to complaining about .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed for 7 nights last week.
Upgraded room but still unimpressed. Lobby areas on first sight look nice but seating is impractical and no atmosphere, hence it is hardly used.
Bar was particularly disapointing. Under staffed cso service was non existent, completely soulless and very expensive. Really badly designed for seating with a clinical, cold look about it and no entertainment whatever unless you count the flickering, grainy picture on the ancient TV
Pool area is getting tatty and most of the Hotel, including the exterior needs a makeover.
The only saving grace was the kindness and humour of the porters who were great.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet nights sleep, dont have a Marina facing view as the bars are noisy until the ear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tivoli Marina Vilamoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Marina Vilamoura

Address: Apartado - 65, Vilamoura 8125-901, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#5 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#8 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#9 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#12 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tivoli Marina Vilamoura 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service hotel offers leisure and sports facilities, convention center, access to the beach and sits overlooking the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Escapio, Priceline, Splendia, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Tivoli Marina Vilamoura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura Hotel Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Hotel Vilamoura
Tivoli Hotel Vilamoura
Vilamoura Tivoli Marina Hotel
Tivoli Vilamoura
Tivoli Marinotel Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tivoli Marina Vilamoura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.