We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely relaxing stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vila Gale Marina

Save Saved
You added Vila Gale Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vila Gale Marina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Da Marina, Lote H 2, Vilamoura 8125-408, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 35 hotels in Vilamoura
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We are just back from a weeks stay at the Vila Gale Marina. From all the comments I read before we went we found to be untrue. We couldn't fault anything from the room, breakfast, staff and cleanliness. The location is perfect for the marina and beach. Well done to all the staff of the hotel. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Marina, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

...and we really enjoyed your review!
Thank you for sharing your satisfaction with us.

Hope you may visit us again soon.

Kind regards,

Margarida Antunes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    175
    249
    124
    29
    9
See reviews for
143
192
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Just returned from 5 nights golfing holiday with 7 fellow golfers.
This hotel does 'what it say's on the tin' Clean smallish rooms with average facilities. Breakfast buffet is very good and you would be hard pushed to criticize the variety and quantity on offer.
Overall we did not find the reception staff to be very friendly and some definitely gave the impression of "more than my jobs worth" attitude.
On the plus side it is perfectly located 30 yards from the marina with more bars and restaurants that you could shake a stick at.
On the whole perfect for groups who are looking for good clean basic amenities but not so good for families or if you are looking for a special break with the wife or loved one.
Would we return - already planning to go back next year for another stag golfing break.

Room Tip: The higher you go the quieter it is at 4am when most are returning after a long night out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Not having travelled to somewhere sunny for quite some time my daughter and I arrived with very few expectations but have returned today 12 October after 5 great days and I would have no doubts in recommending Vilamoura and this hotel especially. The Hotel staff were helpful and friendly whatever you asked about. Rooms spacious and cleaned daily along with towels changed. Tokens given for towels to use at pool - charge only made if you do not return towel not the largest towel but saves you packing your own. View from our room on 6th floor over marina amazing esp. at night. Good variety for eating along the marine and prices to suit your budget. Breakfast in hotel was good - wide selection of food available and topped up regularly. All in all great holiday - wide selection of food available in the hotel & around the marina. Pool area clean, beach too and very short walk from hotel, local supermarket for water, bread, fruit etc Everyone friendly. Would return to this hotel or another one along the marina as a female travelling on her own as felt at ease at all times.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the Marina. Reception staff asked us what sort of view we would li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We had a two week break in this hotel. First impressions were great but it was quickly dampened when we were told we have to pay 2.5 euro/day to use the room safe. All the staff were very polite, pleasant and helpful. The room was always kept clean and stocked and 24hr service is great if you're an insomniac. However, a big part of any holiday is good food. The food here was always cold. The second week we ate out every evening (extra expense) and had cold meat continental breakfast each morning.
In short, all the good work from all the staff is spoilt by the poor equipment which should keep the food hot.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottery st mary
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from this hotel,oct 3 - 10th , one week of sun and rest, we were on the 9th floor and had a good view of the marina and surrounding area. room was good and clean and spacious but the bathroom was a bit cramped, ie loo and bidet behind the door, maybe the bidet was not really nessecary! air con was great. The reception staff were so helpful and kind and considerate that I do not know if n l's review is of the same place, ok maybe they could do with more on duty but come on, food at break fast was good, the selection was amazing and yes the toasters were a bit slow but hey you are on holiday! so chill. quality of the food was good as was the buffet in the evening. Towels were available with a token given when checking in. As Kevin m says about the fridge / mini bar no problems. We were B&B so apart from the one night ate out the rest of the time so many places to eat you are spoilt for choise just beware of the touts they do not really pressure you but can be a bit of a bore after a while. Only down side is the GOLFERS yes they are loud and a pain in the rear but must bring alot of money to the hotel and lets face it the area is a golfers paradise with all the courses, we tried to live and let live but I did have to ask the staff to have a word with one group on our last day, Facilities are great as they have a large outdoor pool a circular pool for children and a outdoor Jacuzzi also they have an indoor pool and Jacuzzi along with a gymnasiun and kids club. They have free access to the internet in the lobby area on a couple of p c's but if you want it in your room it does cost.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a higher number ie floor 9 high 20s as you then get the sun on the balcony for l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I stayed in this hotel with my husband from 12 to 21 September. It is in a lovely spot, very convenient for everything. We were on the 8th floor and our room and balcony were very nice with wonderful views. It was kept spotlessly clean by a delightful hard working lady but it often wasn't cleaned until 3pm.

I agree reception were very offhand and unhelpful. You were made to feel a nuisance if you asked anything.

We had half board and if we came again we would only have B& B. Some of the days we were there the hotel was not busy so the dining room was a bit dead and the food hung around too long, looking tired, unappetising, luke warm and very repetetive. Other days when large groups arrived the staff could not cope and there were long waits for food to arrive. The coffee machines and toasters were very slow which made for long queues at breakfast.
The pool area was very nice and not crowded whilst we were there but it was 20euros deposit per towel and the towels were the smallest and shabbiest I have ever had. Because of the towel size most of the sunbeds were very messy from sun cream etc.

The big down side of this hotel for us was the groups of very loud and offensive golfers, one group set the fire alarm off in the early hours. Another group from the north east were drinking heavily round the pool, they stripped off and then (Barry) thought it might be fun to pull his shorts down and expose himself to us all, not a pretty sight. Barry & Paul then decided to throw another of their group, who was asleep on a lounger into the swimming pool, they thought that was hilarious. It was midday and very hot, he had been drinking and the pool was pretty cold, I thought he might have a heart attack so we moved from the pool.

I am sure these groups bring in a lot of money but the hotel need to ensure that they do not enjoy themselves at the expense of other guests.

Room Tip: High room are best if you want a good view and numbers between 1 and 12 would have a good view of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Staff excellent, very friendly (btw if you wish a map of Vilamoura, just ask, they have many copies just below the reception desk).

B & B so ate out every night (Chinese), but spoke to a few people, the Irish residents loved the evening entertainment.

In terms of the hotel itself, having travelled throughout Europe and Asia on business whilst staying at 4/5 star hotels, this hotel beats most, eg: Double room, fantastic view of the Marina, large bathroom and plenty of storage space, aircon efficient and quiet. Balcony, plenty of space and able to thrash my wife at scrabble! Fresh towels daily. Comfortable beds.

Breakfast, 5 star easily, unbeatable in all my years of travel. I stood still as waiters wizzed about replenishing the hot food.
Normally a two pieces of toast man, but with such a sumptuous layout, I had to partake (btw two by four toasters added, take less time than the oveny thingy), fresh bread and moisture should be a clue?

New toasters and coffee makers obviously supplied due to previous observations, but I used the old system of coffee plus milk, you know, the little cup stuff. First time, a bit of a disaster, poured the coffee into my little cup, added sugar, tasted it, a bit strong, no taste of sugar. Then realised I had doubled up with another shief of coffee, quite a hit!

The fridge, easy, take their water out and replace it with your own. They are not offended. In our case, replaced it with white wine and our own water, plus orange juice. Their offering was removed on our first day of cleaning and not replaced during our stay.
However, if one was to arrive at a difficult time and needing water, then at least it is provided.

Bar prices reasonable and if one prefers red wine, they don't bother with wine glasses, it comes in a half pint glass and cost peanuts. Cocktails (same price as the bars).

Golfers, yep lots of them, enjoyed their company, especially a troup of Royal Marine Bandits that turned up, great fun. Had two golfers in adjacent room, very quiet, not that we cared.

Favourite resturant, Zu Yi, duck dish fantastic. For big eaters, they are very generous with chicken dishes. Ensure that you make a reservation! Friendly staff.

Favourite bar, Figo7China, very popular, also, friendly staff.


Are we coming back......If we can secure a marina viewing room, most definately.

cheers Kev and Joyce


.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vila Gale Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Marina

Address: Avenida Da Marina, Lote H 2, Vilamoura 8125-408, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#11 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#12 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Marina 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vila Gale Marina Hotel can provide you with an unforgettable holiday in Vilamoura. With a privileged location fronting the Marina de Vilamoura and only a few metres away from the beach and the historical Casino of Vilamoura. Featuring two outdoor swimming pools and a heated indoor pool, two Jacuzzis and Turkish bath, the high quality of service, friendliness, and great entertainment are the hallmarks of our Marina hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotel.de, Otel and Venere so you can book your Vila Gale Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Marina Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve
Vila Gale Marina Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vila Gale Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.