We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time in Portugal and will certainly return especially to this hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vila Gale Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Vila Gale Marina to your Saves list
Vila Gale Marina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida da Marina, Lote H 2, Vilamoura 8125-408, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Sutton Coldfield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“First time in Portugal and will certainly return especially to this hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Not having travelled to somewhere sunny for quite some time my daughter and I arrived with very few expectations but have returned today 12 October after 5 great days and I would have no doubts in recommending Vilamoura and this hotel especially. The Hotel staff were helpful and friendly whatever you asked about. Rooms spacious and cleaned daily along with towels changed. Tokens given for towels to use at pool - charge only made if you do not return towel not the largest towel but saves you packing your own. View from our room on 6th floor over marina amazing esp. at night. Good variety for eating along the marine and prices to suit your budget. Breakfast in hotel was good - wide selection of food available and topped up regularly. All in all great holiday - wide selection of food available in the hotel & around the marina. Pool area clean, beach too and very short walk from hotel, local supermarket for water, bread, fruit etc Everyone friendly. Would return to this hotel or another one along the marina as a female travelling on her own as felt at ease at all times.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the Marina. Reception staff asked us what sort of view we would li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    274
    134
    32
    9
See reviews for
154
215
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We had a two week break in this hotel. First impressions were great but it was quickly dampened when we were told we have to pay 2.5 euro/day to use the room safe. All the staff were very polite, pleasant and helpful. The room was always kept clean and stocked and 24hr service is great if you're an insomniac. However, a big part of any holiday is good food. The food here was always cold. The second week we ate out every evening (extra expense) and had cold meat continental breakfast each morning.
In short, all the good work from all the staff is spoilt by the poor equipment which should keep the food hot.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottery st mary
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from this hotel,oct 3 - 10th , one week of sun and rest, we were on the 9th floor and had a good view of the marina and surrounding area. room was good and clean and spacious but the bathroom was a bit cramped, ie loo and bidet behind the door, maybe the bidet was not really nessecary! air con was great. The reception staff were so helpful and kind and considerate that I do not know if n l's review is of the same place, ok maybe they could do with more on duty but come on, food at break fast was good, the selection was amazing and yes the toasters were a bit slow but hey you are on holiday! so chill. quality of the food was good as was the buffet in the evening. Towels were available with a token given when checking in. As Kevin m says about the fridge / mini bar no problems. We were B&B so apart from the one night ate out the rest of the time so many places to eat you are spoilt for choise just beware of the touts they do not really pressure you but can be a bit of a bore after a while. Only down side is the GOLFERS yes they are loud and a pain in the rear but must bring alot of money to the hotel and lets face it the area is a golfers paradise with all the courses, we tried to live and let live but I did have to ask the staff to have a word with one group on our last day, Facilities are great as they have a large outdoor pool a circular pool for children and a outdoor Jacuzzi also they have an indoor pool and Jacuzzi along with a gymnasiun and kids club. They have free access to the internet in the lobby area on a couple of p c's but if you want it in your room it does cost.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a higher number ie floor 9 high 20s as you then get the sun on the balcony for l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I stayed in this hotel with my husband from 12 to 21 September. It is in a lovely spot, very convenient for everything. We were on the 8th floor and our room and balcony were very nice with wonderful views. It was kept spotlessly clean by a delightful hard working lady but it often wasn't cleaned until 3pm.

I agree reception were very offhand and unhelpful. You were made to feel a nuisance if you asked anything.

We had half board and if we came again we would only have B& B. Some of the days we were there the hotel was not busy so the dining room was a bit dead and the food hung around too long, looking tired, unappetising, luke warm and very repetetive. Other days when large groups arrived the staff could not cope and there were long waits for food to arrive. The coffee machines and toasters were very slow which made for long queues at breakfast.
The pool area was very nice and not crowded whilst we were there but it was 20euros deposit per towel and the towels were the smallest and shabbiest I have ever had. Because of the towel size most of the sunbeds were very messy from sun cream etc.

The big down side of this hotel for us was the groups of very loud and offensive golfers, one group set the fire alarm off in the early hours. Another group from the north east were drinking heavily round the pool, they stripped off and then (Barry) thought it might be fun to pull his shorts down and expose himself to us all, not a pretty sight. Barry & Paul then decided to throw another of their group, who was asleep on a lounger into the swimming pool, they thought that was hilarious. It was midday and very hot, he had been drinking and the pool was pretty cold, I thought he might have a heart attack so we moved from the pool.

I am sure these groups bring in a lot of money but the hotel need to ensure that they do not enjoy themselves at the expense of other guests.

Room Tip: High room are best if you want a good view and numbers between 1 and 12 would have a good view of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Staff excellent, very friendly (btw if you wish a map of Vilamoura, just ask, they have many copies just below the reception desk).

B & B so ate out every night (Chinese), but spoke to a few people, the Irish residents loved the evening entertainment.

In terms of the hotel itself, having travelled throughout Europe and Asia on business whilst staying at 4/5 star hotels, this hotel beats most, eg: Double room, fantastic view of the Marina, large bathroom and plenty of storage space, aircon efficient and quiet. Balcony, plenty of space and able to thrash my wife at scrabble! Fresh towels daily. Comfortable beds.

Breakfast, 5 star easily, unbeatable in all my years of travel. I stood still as waiters wizzed about replenishing the hot food.
Normally a two pieces of toast man, but with such a sumptuous layout, I had to partake (btw two by four toasters added, take less time than the oveny thingy), fresh bread and moisture should be a clue?

New toasters and coffee makers obviously supplied due to previous observations, but I used the old system of coffee plus milk, you know, the little cup stuff. First time, a bit of a disaster, poured the coffee into my little cup, added sugar, tasted it, a bit strong, no taste of sugar. Then realised I had doubled up with another shief of coffee, quite a hit!

The fridge, easy, take their water out and replace it with your own. They are not offended. In our case, replaced it with white wine and our own water, plus orange juice. Their offering was removed on our first day of cleaning and not replaced during our stay.
However, if one was to arrive at a difficult time and needing water, then at least it is provided.

Bar prices reasonable and if one prefers red wine, they don't bother with wine glasses, it comes in a half pint glass and cost peanuts. Cocktails (same price as the bars).

Golfers, yep lots of them, enjoyed their company, especially a troup of Royal Marine Bandits that turned up, great fun. Had two golfers in adjacent room, very quiet, not that we cared.

Favourite resturant, Zu Yi, duck dish fantastic. For big eaters, they are very generous with chicken dishes. Ensure that you make a reservation! Friendly staff.

Favourite bar, Figo7China, very popular, also, friendly staff.


Are we coming back......If we can secure a marina viewing room, most definately.

cheers Kev and Joyce


.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Just had a great week 24 Sept to 1 Oct 2013 Hotel clean and tidy, Breakfast choices to suit all tastes, transport to and from Golf courses well organised by reception staff, ideal central position for access to the Marina Area with all it many Amenities.

Room Tip: Fortunate to be facing the Marina direction on 4th floor great all round vista
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I stayed at vila galé marina hotel, many years ago ... and i came back with my wife, because i always had good feedback from my friends , family that stayed there before.

Well first thing is the excellent staff at reception, always helpfull and smiling.
Our room was great, on top floor, the view was trully breathtaking.
At breakfast, plenty of choice, and the buffet dinner was really tasty.
The location is the best, beach and marina really close, night life and the casino.
Again at our check out, we were sad to leave, but the smiling faces made us feel very welcome to come back again.
Thank you all, and may God bless you
Tina and John

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vila Gale Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Marina

Address: Avenida da Marina, Lote H 2, Vilamoura 8125-408, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#12 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#12 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#14 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located directly in the tourist centre of Vilamoura a mere 200 m from the beach and 50 m from the marina. It is right near all the shops, restaurants, bars and transportations in Vilamoura. The nearest airport is in Faro only 25 km away. The hotel was built in 1995 and renovated in 2002. It has a total of 243 rooms from which 44 standard rooms with ocean view and 14 suites suitable for families. The facilities are air-conditioned and include a lobby with a 24-hour reception, lifts, a coffee shop, a newspaper stand, a bar, a buffet or a la carte restaurant with a separate non-smoking area (children's highchairs available on request), a conference rooms, free Wi-Fi internet access in public areas, car park. For an additional cost guests may use the hotel safe, the laundry services and the garage. The rooms are attractive and decorated in a maritime style. They are equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, safe, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. The hotel features an outdoor swimming pool with a pool bar, sun loungers and parasols. Guests may also enjoy the Health Club equipped with an indoor swimming pool, a Jacuzzi, a steam room, a Gym and 2 tennis courts (part of a neighbouring hotel and available for an additional fee). There are deck chairs and parasols available on the sandy beach and an entertainment programme rounds off the hotel's offerings. A fine buffet is on offer on every meal of the day. Lunch and dinner may also be taken a la carte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Vila Gale Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Marina Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve
Vila Gale Marina Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vila Gale Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.