We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vila Gale Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Vila Gale Marina to your Saves list
Vila Gale Marina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida da Marina, Lote H 2, Vilamoura 8125-408, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Navan, Ireland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I stayed here for four nights. The room was plenty big for the three of us (twin beds for myself and my mum plus a camp bed for my niece), and was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was busy, but we never had to wait too long to be seated. The breakfast buffet was varied and plentiful, though I'm not a fan of coffee from automatic dispensing machines, which many hotels now seem to favour. The bar served excellent cocktails, but lacked atmosphere in the evenings. I guess its great location - just a short walk to the marina and the beach - is a disadvantage in this respect, as there are so many other bars and restaurants right on its doorstep. There was some noise from local bars/clubs at night. The one area I didn't like so much was the outdoor pool. It was very cramped and crowded. It would be nice to have a bit more room to move around the pool deck. Staff were friendly and helpful. Would certainly recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Marina, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

We're pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel, and therefore hope to see you again some time soon.

Kind regards,

Margarida Antunes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    289
    139
    33
    9
See reviews for
161
227
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had excellent view from 8th floor, room 812...sea view overlooking marina...9th floor also has super views. Excellent location and if I go back to Vlamoura I'd stay here again. Great trip to caves recommended also.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Marina, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to know you have enjoyed your stay at the Vila Galé Marina, and Vilamoura.
Looking forward to welcoming you back next time!

Kind regards,

Margarida Antunes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I had looked at some photo's taken of this hotel before we went and some where very disappointing. We prepared ourselves that the hotel may not be as nice as we hoped and when we walked it, wow, we were very pleased. Its was spotless and faultless. I booked a 3 adult room and hoped we wouldn't be squashed up together. The room was huge and so was the balcony. Having worked in the travel business, often the 3rd bed will be a put-up bed so best to book a bigger room or accept the put-up. Breakfast is huge, everything from fruit to a hot cooked breakfast. The pool area is clean and the Jacuzzi is a lovely touch. Towels are provided for the pool and beach. Location wise, we could not have been closer to the marina and there is a choice of the small beach or the large beach which is about 5 mins walk away. I took my 15 and 17 year old girls on this holiday and they enjoyed some of the hotels entertainment. You are also able to use the facilities of the sister hotel in the same resort. We went for a while but felt our hotel's pool area was much better. If your looking for value for money in a central location, I would recommend this hotel. Also another tip on furnishings in various countries around the world. Every country is different with their furnishings and what we in England may call 'old fashioned' may not be in that particular country. The furnishings in this hotel are the same style in other surrounding hotels.

Room Tip: If you have 3 people in a twin room, its inevitable that the 3rd bed will be a put-up bed. The put...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Marina, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

.. and we also thank you for your review and it's with a big smile to see how much you enjoyed your stay.

Hope to see you again soon,
Kind Regards,

Margarida Antunes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This was our first ever trip to Vilamoura & we will definitely be back. We checked in to the Vila Gale Hotel and was told our room was on the 7th floor. As my partner won't use the lift we asked if we could have a room on a lower floor. The lady on reception could not have been more helpful as she searched to find us a lower room but also with a sea view as we had paid for this. She found us one on the 4th floor with views over the pool & sea & marina in the distance. Our room was pleasant with very comfortable beds, the air con was good & the room contained a fridge which was useful. Our room was very clean as was the rest of the hotel. We slept well as the hotel & surrounding area was quiet at night. We were room only so we didn't eat in the restaurant but did buy lunch such as sandwiches by the pool & these were always lovely. There are some great restaurants around the marina - our favourite was Uniko.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Marina, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your review. It is with great pleasure to find you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Hope you may visit us again soon

Kind regards,

Margarida Antunes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Erin, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We have just returned after a fortnight staying at this hotel. It was a family holiday and having an 8 year old and 18 year old to entertain was easy.
Activities in the hotel were available everyday and there was a focus on good family activities. I take my hat off to Carlos and his team who had a superb attitude.
It must be a happy place to work as all the staff were all cheerful.
The decor and standard of the rooms were just right for the price and if there was any criticism, I didn't particularly like the lounge area as it has a 'service station' feel to it.
The breakfast was good and we ate in the restaurant on one night and it was tasty.
We booked with Your Golf Travel and had free transfers to the courses as well - Ace!

Room Tip: We had a rockstar sized balcony with a view over the Marina - very good with a large G+T at the end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Marina, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review .... will be passed on to all staff who will be very pleased to welcome you back next time at Vila Galé Marina - Vilamoura

Kind regards,

Margarida Antunes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The hotel is situated a stones throw away from the marina of Vilamoura. The reception in the hotel is nice but could do with a bit of modernizing. Staff were friendly. Room was clean and bright however not overly big. We had three people staying in our room and the third bed was only a pull out bed and was put directly beside the double (still had to pay full price for the third person, a bit annoying). The air conditioning in the room was great. Balcony was big but had white plastic chairs however during our stay they were in the middle of changing them to new nicer looking table and chairs. The tv had a wide variety of channels.

The food in the restaurant was excellent. We were half board and dinner could be swapped for lunch once you notified reception the day before. Great variety of food which was very tasty. The manager in the restaurant had it all running smoothly. The restaurant was bright and airy.

The pool area was very small for a hotel of this size and bits of the area can be shaded because of the design of the hotel. Free wifi is only available in the lobby. You have to pay to get it in your room.

Overall it is a very good hotel and i would return.

Room Tip: Go for rooms from 1 to 20 as they are on the side of the hotel that gets more sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Marina, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

We're pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel, and therefore hope to see you again some time soon.

Kind regards,

Margarida Antunes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

All rooms have a great view of the pool. Pool Volleyball is organised by hotel entertainment most evenings providing super entertainment. Bar, restaurant and reception staff are all excellent and v helpful and friendly. Outdoor jaccuzzi is also very good. Had a fantastic stay at Vila gale!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Marina, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

.. and we also thank you for your review and it's with a big smile to read how much you enjoyed your stay.

Hope to see you again soon,
Kind Regards,

Margarida Antunes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vila Gale Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Marina

Address: Avenida da Marina, Lote H 2, Vilamoura 8125-408, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#12 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#12 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#14 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located directly in the tourist centre of Vilamoura a mere 200 m from the beach and 50 m from the marina. It is right near all the shops, restaurants, bars and transportations in Vilamoura. The nearest airport is in Faro only 25 km away. The hotel was built in 1995 and renovated in 2002. It has a total of 243 rooms from which 44 standard rooms with ocean view and 14 suites suitable for families. The facilities are air-conditioned and include a lobby with a 24-hour reception, lifts, a coffee shop, a newspaper stand, a bar, a buffet or a la carte restaurant with a separate non-smoking area (children's highchairs available on request), a conference rooms, free Wi-Fi internet access in public areas, car park. For an additional cost guests may use the hotel safe, the laundry services and the garage. The rooms are attractive and decorated in a maritime style. They are equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, safe, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. The hotel features an outdoor swimming pool with a pool bar, sun loungers and parasols. Guests may also enjoy the Health Club equipped with an indoor swimming pool, a Jacuzzi, a steam room, a Gym and 2 tennis courts (part of a neighbouring hotel and available for an additional fee). There are deck chairs and parasols available on the sandy beach and an entertainment programme rounds off the hotel's offerings. A fine buffet is on offer on every meal of the day. Lunch and dinner may also be taken a la carte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Vila Gale Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Marina Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve
Vila Gale Marina Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vila Gale Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.