We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location in Vilamoura” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vila Gale Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Vila Gale Marina to your Saves list
Vila Gale Marina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida da Marina, Lote H 2, Vilamoura 8125-408, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Peterborough
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Excellent location in Vilamoura”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Just stayed 7 nights for bed and breakfast at The Vila Gale Marina in Vilamoura and loved the location. It is so near to the Marina for all the lovely restaurants and bars and also near to the beach. We were on 7th floor with a great view of the marina and hotel pool. I have read on here in some reviews that the hotel needs a refurb but I didnt feel it was THAT bad! Our room was a good size however the bathroom could definitely do with an update as it was really small and the shower was defo passed its best however we got a really good deal here so couldnt really complain too much. The bedroom had a mini bar in it which we used as a fridge and they do not charge extra for this which a lot of hotels do. We paid to use the safe which is normal. The beds were really comfortable.

The hotel was very clean and staff were great and very friendly. I have read reviews on here complaining about golfers at this hotel but really dont understand this at all - Vilamoura is all about golf! We had no bother with them at all.

The wi fi/internet system seems a but dated as it would not work with my ipad however this was not a real issue for me as we were on holiday!

Would definitely stay here again when visiting Vilamoura.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Marina, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Carol B

I am very pleased to know you enjoyed your stay at the Vila Galé Marina Hotel, and Vilamoura.
we do appreciate your observations regarding the bathroom, these will be noted in our future refurbishments.

Looking forward to welcoming you back !

Kind Regards,

Margarida Antunes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    289
    139
    33
    9
See reviews for
161
227
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Excellent location and facilities
Minutes from restaurants and bars and the marina
Friendly staff
Lovely room and views
Perfect for golf courses and transfers to and from
Tv and general noise from rooms late in the evening/early hours was the only criticism

Room Tip: Floors 3 and above for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Marina, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Tracy A

Thank you so much for sharing your review. It is with great pleasure to find you have enjoyed your stay.

Hope you may visit us again soon

Kind regards,

Margarida Antunes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I have just been to the hotel in a party 12 golfers on our annual trip to the Algarve. We stayed in the hotel for three nights having already spent 4 nights near Val De Lobo. The hotel itself is very comfortable and the bedroom I had was on the 7th floor from which there were lovely views. The main problem we all agreed on was that the cooked breakfast was very poor and as for the machine coffee, well this was totally undrinkable. Having stayed here before we felt that catering standards had dropped, we will not be returning to the hotel again but will stay where we had our first 4 nights for the whole week.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Marina, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review, we do appreciate your observations regarding the restauran (cooked breakfast and coffee machine).
I'm sorry you dont want to come back.

Kind Regards,

margarida Antunes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is an OK hotel.
Rooms are nice and new, views from the hotel over the Marina are nice.
One problem is I stay on business when it feels everyone else in the place is there for holiday or golf (or retirement).
My gripe with this place is the staff. Couldn't care less if you stayed and the 'restaurant' - well horrific.
Last visit I arrived at 9pm to be told I had 30mins to get food. When I asked for the menu I was told that it would take a very long time to get anything unless I had the (obviously very cold) buffet. I went for the buffet as it was clearly all I would get - never again, horrific.
Staff clearly regard you as a nuisance, which is odd seeing as the country is bankrupt and they are lucky to have a job.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Marina, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Mr. Steve G,

Thank you for sharing your review.
I do apologise for the lack of restaurant staff and assure this will be noted in our learnings so it does not happen again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Margarida Antunes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Well located near the marina but awash with golfers, this hotel is clean, tidy and worth the low prices they charge. Don't expect luxurious rooms but they are comfortable enough and the breakfast was above average for this type of hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Marina, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for your review.

We hope you may visit us again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Margarida Antunes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

I have seen some reviews on here moaning about golfers staying at this hotel. Please don't tar all golfers with the same brush!!!!
We have just returned from 3 nights / 4 days in Vilamoura and this hotel was perfect for our trip. We were able to enjoy playing golf at some superb local courses then return to the hotel for some relaxation time (including a swim) before sampling some of the good restaurants.
The hotel was clean and tidy, the rooms very good and the breakfast was adequate.
A great base for golfers visiting the Algarve.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Marina, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review. It is with great pleasure to find you have enjoyed your stay.

Hope you may visit us again soon

Kind regards,

Margarida Antunes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This is a very average hotel, check in was often crowded with golfers and their bags. The wait at those times was unacceptable. The elevators were regularly full and on a couple of occasions, during my 5 day stay, only taking one person before saying it was overloaded. I used the stairs to the 4th floor maybe 6 or 7 times during my stay (not because I wanted to). The room was fine, no issues, the towels were changed every day but there were no sun-lounger towels round the pool so the room towels really had to be changed each day and this wouldn’t have been my preferred option anyway; who wants to dry a clean body with a towel you’ve been sweating on all day? Breakfast was 3 out of ten. Very poor in every area; not much fruit, really crap cappuccino and latte, hot options are cheap and nasty, bacon inedible, chipolata’s unknown “meat”. The sun lounge area looked mobbed; maybe the lower sun in October crushed the sunbathing area. The location was excellent for the marina, bars and restaurants. I won’t return………..obviously.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Marina, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review. We do regret that you did not find our hotel to your standard.

We are glad you have enjoyed the hotel location.

Kind Regards,

Margarida Antunes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vila Gale Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Marina

Address: Avenida da Marina, Lote H 2, Vilamoura 8125-408, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#12 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#12 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#14 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located directly in the tourist centre of Vilamoura a mere 200 m from the beach and 50 m from the marina. It is right near all the shops, restaurants, bars and transportations in Vilamoura. The nearest airport is in Faro only 25 km away. The hotel was built in 1995 and renovated in 2002. It has a total of 243 rooms from which 44 standard rooms with ocean view and 14 suites suitable for families. The facilities are air-conditioned and include a lobby with a 24-hour reception, lifts, a coffee shop, a newspaper stand, a bar, a buffet or a la carte restaurant with a separate non-smoking area (children's highchairs available on request), a conference rooms, free Wi-Fi internet access in public areas, car park. For an additional cost guests may use the hotel safe, the laundry services and the garage. The rooms are attractive and decorated in a maritime style. They are equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, safe, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. The hotel features an outdoor swimming pool with a pool bar, sun loungers and parasols. Guests may also enjoy the Health Club equipped with an indoor swimming pool, a Jacuzzi, a steam room, a Gym and 2 tennis courts (part of a neighbouring hotel and available for an additional fee). There are deck chairs and parasols available on the sandy beach and an entertainment programme rounds off the hotel's offerings. A fine buffet is on offer on every meal of the day. Lunch and dinner may also be taken a la carte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Vila Gale Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Marina Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve
Vila Gale Marina Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vila Gale Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.