We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great marina” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vila Gale Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Vila Gale Marina to your Saves list
Vila Gale Marina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida da Marina, Lote H 2, Vilamoura 8125-408, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Carlow, Carlow, Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great marina”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed here first week in July.Positives first,very clean hotel,and well maintained.room with a beautiful view of the marina and beach spa area located under the hotel nice indoor area with sauna and jacuzzi. great fun team organised by the hotel for the kids we didnt have any but you could see the kids really enjoyed it and the staff were well into it.The man that leads up the team was brilliant he got all the kids from different nationalities involved and interacted very well with them they run a mini disco in the bar area for the kids in the evening so it gives the parents a chance to relax Fantastic area beautiful marina with some great restaurants but expect Dublin prices,however great value for money as food fantastic we ate out every night and tried most of the restaurants on the marina couldn't fault any of them.Many restaurants on the side streets off the marina food equally good but cheaper prices.Negatives of the hotel we arrived at ten o'clock in the morning took half a hour to check in! A coach load of people didn't turn up there was only six of us.Bizzare when we got to reception there was three on duty two checking people in with a third person just standing there.Overall the reception staff not very helpful at all throught the stay,which
I was very surprised about as you would expect a better service from a four star hotel. although cleaning staff very friendly.Breakfast very standard towards the end we had breakfast in the
marina.The Major fault of this hotel which I am surprised hasn't been mentioned in previous reviews is the noise after ten o'clock,there is a night club right across the road from the hotel the noise during the week was just about acceptable however Fri,Sat night was unreal it was like the next door neighbours had decided to throw a house party full on.we were on the tenth floor and it was like the disco was next door how the people on the lower floors coped I do not know it was
shocking if you had kids forget about sleep.This will be a major problem for the hotel in the future as this hotel is great for families.but with the noise from the night club you would be better trying to market for the club 18-30 group.On a final note to the young reception staff member who was hung over and on duty at reception,with a large plaster covering his chin when he fell over.Please don't work in public areas of the hotel when you are like this,If your manager hasn't told you you are the hotels representative when on duty the way you interact with the public and your appearance forms the first impression people have of the hotel.U

Room Tip: Beach view room a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Marina, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear Mrs. Elizabeth,

Thank you for sharing your review. Unfortunately, we can not control the night club noise after 10:00 pm, but I can understand your disapointment, specially whem we have kids.
I do apologise for the lack of sensibility of the younger employees of the reception, but as you must have realized, are trainees who have finished school and came to learn.
Regarding the receptionist with a large plaster on his chin, we could not identify to whom you relates.
We are pleased you enjoyed our room facilities and our entertainment staff and hope we welcome you again in the near future

Kind regards

Margarida Antunes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    274
    134
    32
    9
See reviews for
154
214
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

I have just returned from a week at the Vila Gale Marina. We had a great holiday. The hotel is ideally located for the restaurants and bars in the marina. On the 7th floor we had excellent views of the pool area and marina. Service was excellent. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis and having spoken to other guests who were half board I am glad we did. Breakfast was good but not a huge variety. Room was very clean and large enough for the 3 of us. A little expensive in the bar and snack bar 3.50 euros for water which is 0.35 euro in the nearby supermarket! Would definitely stay again and recommend to friends

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Marina, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your satisfaction with us.

Kind Regards,

Margarida Antunes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gravesend
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

this hotel could not be better positioned a 9 iron away from the marina, bars, restaurants, and shops, for golfing parties the b and b option is all you need great choice of food for breakfast then later either food at the many golf courses or in the great choice of eateries around the marina.hotel has both outdoor and indoor pools that are both very clean. as are the rooms.all with veiws of the pool and marina area. transfers are very easy to organise at reception and most of the courses are no more than 10 mins away.all 12 of our golfing party had a great time and plans are already in place for next year at this wonderful location!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Vila Gale Marina, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear. Mr. Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review, as it is with great pleasure to find you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are very happy to read your review as our main objective is the satisfaction of our guests .

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel. Thank you

Kind regards,

Margarida Antunes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is within 100m of the Marina, shops, great restaurants and nightlife. Strongly recommend going for B&B option. Wide selection of food at breakfast. Oranges were in season, so these were very sweet. Hotel pool facilities are very good. Beach is close by as a great alternative. Great base for golfers to visit local courses. Attentive staff.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Vila Gale Marina, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your review. It is with great pleasure to find you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Hope you may visit us again soon

Kind regards,

Margarida Antunes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Clean and close to the centre of Vilamoura. Good breakfast with lots of choice. Negatives - a lot of the pool area is in shade until midday and the pool area is not that big. Also went to reception to book a late checkout and was told no by a tetchy receptionist but he didn't really look at the system - he was pretending to. I went back to a different receptioist later and was told 'no problem' . They also had a wine tasting where they were promoting a house wine and it was truly awful stuff so don't waste any time on that.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Vila Gale Marina, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review.
I do apologise for the late checkout situation, we have some trainees at this moment, and sometimes is dificult for us to know about all the questions of our guests.
About our wine tasting, is usually much appreciated by our customers, we regret that you did not like our wine.

Kind Regards,

Margarida Antunes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

The hotel is integrated in the vast offer of the marina of Vilamoura but showing signs of some oldness. The towels were horrible and over used, the swimming pool is always overcrowded and parking around it can be a pain. Although breakfast is good an the staff is helpful my overall opinion is that the hotel is very expensive for the service and are better choices around for sure.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Vila Gale Marina, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review. We do regret that you did not find our hotel to your standard. This hotel was refurbished about 5 years ago where we tried to cater for the total satisfaction of our guests and their confort with the changes undergone at the time.
We are glad you enjoyed our breakfast and our staff.
Kind regards

Margarida Antunes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Just come back from a short stay at the Vila Gale, 2 nights. Never been to Portugal before so did not know what to expect, we are planning another holiday in Oct so wanted to try first.
Should have had no worries. Great hotel, stayed on B&B basis, breakfast great plenty of choice. Clean well maintained rooms.
What a location, 2 minutes from the marina, with plenty of bars and resturants.
So good already booked to go back in Oct.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Vila Gale Marina, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to know you have enjoyed your stay at Vila Galé Marina, and Vilamoura.
Looking forward to welcoming you back in October!

Kind regards

Margarida Antunes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vila Gale Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Marina

Address: Avenida da Marina, Lote H 2, Vilamoura 8125-408, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#12 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#12 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#14 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located directly in the tourist centre of Vilamoura a mere 200 m from the beach and 50 m from the marina. It is right near all the shops, restaurants, bars and transportations in Vilamoura. The nearest airport is in Faro only 25 km away. The hotel was built in 1995 and renovated in 2002. It has a total of 243 rooms from which 44 standard rooms with ocean view and 14 suites suitable for families. The facilities are air-conditioned and include a lobby with a 24-hour reception, lifts, a coffee shop, a newspaper stand, a bar, a buffet or a la carte restaurant with a separate non-smoking area (children's highchairs available on request), a conference rooms, free Wi-Fi internet access in public areas, car park. For an additional cost guests may use the hotel safe, the laundry services and the garage. The rooms are attractive and decorated in a maritime style. They are equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, safe, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. The hotel features an outdoor swimming pool with a pool bar, sun loungers and parasols. Guests may also enjoy the Health Club equipped with an indoor swimming pool, a Jacuzzi, a steam room, a Gym and 2 tennis courts (part of a neighbouring hotel and available for an additional fee). There are deck chairs and parasols available on the sandy beach and an entertainment programme rounds off the hotel's offerings. A fine buffet is on offer on every meal of the day. Lunch and dinner may also be taken a la carte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Vila Gale Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Marina Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve
Vila Gale Marina Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vila Gale Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.