We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a 4 star hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dom Pedro Golf Resort

Save Saved
You added Dom Pedro Golf Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dom Pedro Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Tivoli 4, Vilamoura 8125-478, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 35 hotels in Vilamoura
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“not a 4 star hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This hotel was very dissapionting we have just returned from a 2 week all inclusive stay.Hotel was very basic .food was awful ,first week of stay some food was served outside,this was not covered and flies all over quality of food was awful all the meat was so tough you couldnt chew it .there was no entertainment for 1st week we were there ,only second week when a lot of golfers arrived ,which wasnt great.there was nothing to do of a day at hotel .freinds of ours wanted to play tennis but they only had 1 bat ,they had to purchase their own.there were no signs on toilet door this was probably because it was like a broom cupboard,when we arrived we were told we were being upgraded to a club room ,but room was just again basic although you could tell bathroom had been refurbished but when you opened patio doors the false ceiling would lift and make a terrible noise.this hotel to me looks like it is struggling yo survive,and we would joke that any day the bailiffs could arrive.the good points where the bar staff nothing was too much trouble very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro_Luz_Alves, General Manager at Dom Pedro Golf Resort, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
First of all I would like to thank your preference.
I am sorry we didn’t achieve your expectations.
You could have speak with our staff or ask to speak with me for us to try solve your issues.
We are always available to receive you again and change your opinion.
Best regards,
Pedro Alves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    226
    161
    37
    28
See reviews for
116
267
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clayton le Moors, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Just arrived back from a five day break at the Dom Pedro Golf in Vilamoura. I had previously stayed at the sister hotel the Dom Pedro Marina which is probably more modern.

On arrival we were booked into our room by very friendly staff. However, the room on first impression was disappointing. Added to that was the fact that there was a very bad leak on the air conditioning which wet some of our clothing through.

On reporting this to the staff they could not have been more helpful. They took the clothing for laundering and immediately moved us to a room on the eight floor which was far better.

We agree with previous reviews. The breakfast on offer is fantastic, the gardens are excellent and we found all the staff very helpful. Would we go back? Only if we were able to stay in a room above the seventh floor. No golf this time, just a very relaxing break in an area that has everything you would wish for. Many thanks to the reception staff for sorting the initial difficulties.

Room Tip: Ask for a room above floor seven with a sea view, excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro_Luz_Alves, General Manager at Dom Pedro Golf Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Rod,
Thank you very much for choosing the Dom Pedro Golf Resort.
I will also like to thank your comments, specially the ones about solving the problem.
In the next visit just mention our reservation department that you wish a room above the 7th floor.
We are waiting to welcome you again soon.
Best regards,
Pedro Alves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We liked this hotel . Yes it could be moderner ,but saying that there is nothing particularly offensive about the decor as it is .
Its a fine location ,near the marina and the beach , the pool is very nice .
We were B&B was great start to the day
Its easy to get there not too far on the plane and the journey to the hotel only 20 minutes , we had arranged a transfer car to take us there recommend by our friends who travel to the Algarve regularly.yelllow fishtransfers they were called , did a great job getting us there and back .
Thinking of going to visit again at some point , as we enjoyed greatly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro_Luz_Alves, General Manager at Dom Pedro Golf Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Rose,
Thank you very much for your comments and preference.
Its really important to us to know that you enjoyed your stay and like our Hotel.
I am glad that everything in your vacations went well including the transfer.
Visit us again soon.
Best regards,
Pedro Alves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foxford, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

spent 7 nights here in may and very happy with it. the room was lovely and a lovely balcony. the brakfast was vey good .one of the best choices we have had on mainland europe. the staff were very helpful especially one gentleman in reception. would recommend it to others and wojld like to return ourselves again.

Room Tip: higher floors have less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro_Luz_Alves, General Manager at Dom Pedro Golf Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
First of all I would like to thank for your preference.
it is rewarding to know that have had a fantastic stay.
Our Staff is waiting to welcome you again soon.
Best regards,
Pedro Alves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Robo's from the Midlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We returned on Friday 27 September from Villamoura, staying at Dom Pedro Golf for 6 nights. Hotel was a good choice, breakfast had everything you could want and I asked staff for soya milk and fried eggs for breakfast and it was provided as per request. We didn't have an evening meal so can't comment on that. The swimming pool was great, the gardens were kept lovely. There were plenty of sun beds. The room we had was 222 which was very spacious but situated above the bar area. Each night was karoke and very loud but fortunately the music stopped at 12. The hotel was clean and tidy, staff very friendly. Good location near beach, Marina and supermarket.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro_Luz_Alves, General Manager at Dom Pedro Golf Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments and preference.
I am very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay, our Staff and Hotel.
Looking forward welcome you again soon.
Best regards,
Pedro Alves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed here for 7 days on an all inclusive basis. As previously mentioned, the hotel is about 5 mins walk from the beach and 10 mins walk from the marina.

We arrived at the hotel just after noon, and our room (207) was ready, and we were soon checked in by the pleasant and helpful reception staff.

The room (like the rest of the hotel and gardens) was absolutely spotless! It was a fairly large room with a view of the casino and gardens. The bed was two single beds pushed together, which was comfortable. The room had air conditioning, though we didn't use it as it was pleasantly warm but not too hot. The bathroom, had all the usual fittings, along with a very very powerful shower! The room was serviced daily an towels and bedding changed on request to save unnecessary laundry.

The food and drink on the all inclusive was ok. Nothing special, but not bad either. A couple of tips, at lunchtime, if there's nothing you fancy, they will cook you a burger, and on the evening, the stir fry is delicious! All the staff we met were really friendly, though one of the female chefs often never looked it!

The gardens and pool were really well maintained and there were plenty of sun loungers in the large gardens, so you always felt you had your own space. I've attached a picture of the surprise....I thought it looked a bit like Jesus......what do you think?!

Finally, if you intend to visit in September and don't like Irish (think Daniel O'Donnell) or country and western music, check that the Irish week is not on at the hotel. There was live entertainment outside on an afternoon that lasted two and a half hours which could be tedious if it wasn't your thing. The evening entertainment laid on by the hotel was ok, though nothing too exciting.

We will be back here without a doubt.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel get the sun in the afternoon.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro_Luz_Alves, General Manager at Dom Pedro Golf Resort, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Jools,
Thank you very much for your preference for our Hotel.
I would also like to thank for your kind words.
It is very important for us to know that you have had a fabulous time, and enjoyed our Hotel and services.
Our Staff is waiting to welcome you again soon.
Best regards,
Pedro Alves,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights (bed & breakfast) at the beginning of September 2013. On arrival we were asked for a credit card for any extras that might occur, no hello, and were also told that our room would not be ready until after 2pm, we arrived at 12.15pm, so if you are arriving with children make sure you have caps and suncream to hand!!
After going for a walk around the marina and having lunch we came back and were given our key cards and that was it, we were not shown to our room or around the hotel. The next morning we had to ask where breakfast was served - the female staff on reception are not friendly at all, the men are a lot better. The breakfast was adequate, plenty of choice.
The room was ok, nice view of the sea and the cleaners were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble, room cleaned daily. The mini-bar is very expensive 2.50 euros for a small bottle of water - the supermarket has large bottles for 26 cents!!!
Have stayed in Vilamoura twice before at different hotels - unfortunately we wouldn't stay at this hotel again.
Visitors staying on an all inclusive basis seemed to be treated a lot better by the staff.
Before I forget, the notice boards (pick up times etc) and information are downstairs in a basement area - we found this out the day before we left.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro_Luz_Alves, General Manager at Dom Pedro Golf Resort, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your preference.
First of all accept our apologies for any misunderstanding at the Reception.
The check in hour is from 2pm. If we have rooms available at the arrival before that time its given.
Sometimes at the high season that is not possible.
The Mini Bar price is normal for a 4 star Hotel and not comparable with a supermarket. Sorry.
I really like for you to return and let me change your opinion of “wont come back”.
Best regards,
Pedro Alves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dom Pedro Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Pedro Golf Resort

Address: Avenida Tivoli 4, Vilamoura 8125-478, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#13 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dom Pedro Golf Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located near the beach and the marina, Dom Pedro Golf Resort is ideal for golfers, family holidays and holiday makers. Golfers are just a few minutes away from some of the leading Championship Golf Courses in Algarve. Also ideal for a family holiday, Dom Pedro Golf Resort provides supervised summer entertainment program and children facilities such as: a playground, a playroom, children’s swimming pool and children’s menu. Babysitting service available (on request). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Dom Pedro Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dom Pedro Golf Hotel Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Hotel
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Golf Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Golf Resort Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dom Pedro Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.