We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dom Pedro Golf Resort

Save Saved
You added Dom Pedro Golf Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dom Pedro Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Tivoli 4, Vilamoura 8125-478, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 35 hotels in Vilamoura
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Just returned from a brilliantly relaxing and enjoyable week at the Dom Pedro Golf Hotel.
For me there are no negatives - it's not a new hotel and does feel a tad dated with its terracotta tiles, however......the rooms are spacious with a huge double bed and so are the bathrooms. We had a balcony overlooking the front and the sea - lovely, particularly in the early evening when the sun streams in. Spotlessly clean, helpful staff, and the food - absolutely brilliant and varied choice - plenty of options of meat, beautiful fresh fish, griddled to suit stir frys, fresh salads and fruit. Lovely, peaceful lawned gardens around the pool with loads of sunbeds, or if you prefer a 2 minute walk to the beach. Peaceful and relaxing - Fantastic value !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro_Luz_Alves, General Manager at Dom Pedro Golf Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Simon,
Thank you very much for choosing the Dom Pedro Golf Resort, and for sharing your opinion with us.
I am delightful to know that you enjoyed your stay and all our services and staff.
We are waiting for your return.
Best regards,
Pedro Alves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    227
    162
    38
    28
See reviews for
119
267
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Having skipped Dom Pedro last year for the neighboring Crowne Plaza, we returned this year, and what an improvement!

Staff at reception are almost all new at the hotel and they were all extremely friendly, smiley and helpful. Staff at the pool bar, which have always been the kindest, continue to impress. They really know how to make you feel welcome. Also, breakfast and dinner staff are better and the whole thing is more efficient and pleasant.

Many of the staff appear to be new and this has proven to be a good option for the hotel.

We did have an amazing time at Dom Pedro this year and I cannot wait to return next year.

The hotel does need some kind of redecorating, it is all very dated. But it is comfortable and unpretentious.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro_Luz_Alves, General Manager at Dom Pedro Golf Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your preference and return to our Hotel.
Its is grateful to know that you notice our efforts to improve.
Best regards and we are waiting for your return.
Pedro Alves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

I'm actually sat on my sunbed writing this review. With two days left of the holiday I thought now was as good as time to do it. The hotel itself is, immaculatly clean, the staff very good, the location is brilliant, the pool area amazing with loads of space and plenty of sunbeds. It is a relaxing hotel during the day certainly helped by the space you have to relax in. There are a couple of downsides, sorry to say. The evening meals although not bad, became very predictable and uninspiring. This caused us to eat out quite a few nights. Which after booking all inclusive makes the holiday very expensive. Secondly I had a seaview room, but this turned out to be very noisy when the customers from the casino were leaving and sounding their car horns.

Generally I enjoyed my stay, but wouldn't book all inclusive again. The staff are excellent, well done to them.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro_Luz_Alves, General Manager at Dom Pedro Golf Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Craig,
Thank you very much for your preference.
It is really important to receive your feedback and to know that our service and staff is well appreciate.
I feel sorry you didn’t appreciate all nights our buffet.
We are waiting for your next stay and thank you for being our Guest.
Best regards,
Pedro Alves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We booked a room with Side Sea View only to find on arrival that we were given a room on the 1st floor with no sea view. When I asked about our view, the male staff member first said a 'side sea view' wasn't what I booked. When I showed him where side sea view was printed on my voucher, he asked me to wait. He came back and said the hotel was fully booked and that Side Sea View actually means no sea view!
While the hotel was very clean the décor is quite dated. The shower was good with plenty of hot water and good water pressure.
The food was very poor. While there was lots of choice at the buffet, the taste and quality were poor. We ended up eating out every night. The pool area and grounds are the best aspects of this hotel with plenty of sunbeds available and a large swimming pool with separate kids pool. Reception staff were, in general, courteous. The hotel charges for use of Wifi, which is disappointing. The location of the hotel is very good. The beach is five minutes walk away and the Marina is ten mins away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro_Luz_Alves, General Manager at Dom Pedro Golf Resort, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Susan,
First of all I would like to thank the preference for the Dom Pedro Golf Resort.
Please accept our apologies for any misunderstanding.
We will try to improve with your comments.
Hope you will not lose your trust for our services and will return in a next stay.
Best regards,
Pedro Alves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have just returned from a fantastic holiday in Portugal. This was our first visit to Portugal and we stayed at the Dom Pedro Golf. We opted for bed and breakfast in a club room with a sea view. The room was a decent size, with a huge bed, balcony (no light), mini bar fridge, hair dryer etc. Everything was clean and well maintained. We had dressing gowns provided, bottled water and fruit everyday and in the early evening we got a visit from the ‘Turn down’ team. Who tidied up, refolded towels and in some cases gave us fresh ones, made the bed etc.

The hotel is well run and the staff are excellent. The grounds are extensive and we had no issues getting a sunbed and a position near a tree for when we needed a bit of shade. We also hired beach towels with a deposit of 5 euros, so you could change these if required when they got dirty. It also means more space in your suitcase and you don’t have to pack wet towels when you leave. There is a Spa onsite, but we didn’t use it.

Breakfast, we weren’t impressed. The food needed to be warmer, plus the plates were cold, so by the time you sat down, it was luke warm. So mid way through our stay we had to revert to toast and preserves or the cold meat and cheese counter. They could also do with another toaster, because the single one available attracted a queue and you had to put the bread through twice.

The hotel is in a good location just a 5 minute walk from an impressive marina, which is lined with restaurants and bars. Because we were B & B, this area offered us an extensive choice of restaurants to eat in. Try the grilled sardines – they are fantastic. There are also a few restaurants just across from the hotel itself, which were excellent.

I cannot really comment on the evening entertainment the hotel offered because we were never in when it was on. One thing I ought to mention is the toilets in the public area or should I say lack of them. Two cubicles for men and the same for women and a shared sink area for a hotel this size and the amount of people at the bar and pool area didn’t seem enough. Unless there were some I hadn’t discovered.

I was impressed with Vilamoura, there are plenty of places to eat and drink, it’s very clean and felt safe. In fact the only time we saw a policeman was when we visited the casino. It also has a superb clean golden sand beach, just two minutes from the hotel.

Despite some of the negatives I have pointed out, Overall I was impressed with the hotel which was well run, always clean, the staff are friendly and its location is good. We will probably consider stopping there again next year

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro_Luz_Alves, General Manager at Dom Pedro Golf Resort, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for choosing the Dom Pedro Golf Resort.
I would like also to thank your comments, and its really important to know that you have enjoyed your stay.
Just a quick notes: we have hot plates on the inside of restaurant and we have an out side bath room on the -1 floor.
Hope to welcome you again soon in a next stay.
Best regards,
Pedro Alves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My boyfriend and I have just returned from this hotel. We are in our early 30s and wanted a lovely relaxing week in a fantastic hotel; this is exactly what we got!

Our room wasn't quite ready for us when we arrived at 12pm. No bother for us, our suitcases were put in a safe room and off we went for some dinner and to have a little look around.

Vilamoura is beautiful. The hotel is brilliantly located only a few minutes walk away from a gorgeous marina and a huge variety of restaurants and bars. We were immediately pleased with our choice of hotel for this reason.

After a lovely dinner on the marina, we checked into our (enormous) room, unpacked and headed down to the pool area. The room was bright, airy and had lots of storage space. The bathroom was a great size with a lovely powerful shower.

The pool area is so clean well presented. Straight away we could tell that the staff work extremely hard to maintain the look of the pool area and restaurant. The pool and garden area is enormous; so many sun lounges and all nicely spaced out. There were activities going on in the pool such as water polo for those who wanted to join in.

We stayed on a B and B basis. Breakfast was excellent. There was a huge choice of continental style breakfast items and also sausage, egg, bacon, beans, toast etc if that's what you fancy. It was on a serve yourself basis.

We had a snack or two from the restaurant which were lovely; as were the cocktails, beer and wine that we had too.

Our nights were spent walking along the marina eating amazing food and going from bar to bar. We went to Seven Nightclub one night. It is open all throughout the week but we chose a specific night as there was as DJ on who we were keen to see. We left when it closed at 7am!

We would like to say a massive "thank you" to all the staff at the Dom Pedro. We can see how hard EVERYONE works; from the Reception staff, to the pool staff, the restaurant staff and the cleaning staff. We will be returning and telling all our friends about Vilamoura and the wonderful Dom Pedro Golf Resort Hotel.

Room Tip: Our room had a lovely view of the pool and the gardens - perhaps ask for one of these rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro_Luz_Alves, General Manager at Dom Pedro Golf Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for staying at the Dom Pedro Golf Resort, and for sharing your opinion with us.
To know that you have had a fantastic stay its rewarding.
Your comments about our Staff is a great recognition of our efforts.
Hope to welcome you again soon.
Best regards,
Pedro Alves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a lovely holiday where we stayed at the Dom Pedro Golf. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived as check in is 2pm so our bags were stored and we went and had a little explore around the hotel and the Marina and were straight away impressed with the resort.
On returning we checked in and found our room to be lovely and spacious, spotlessly clean and nice and cool.
I have been surprised to hear a few people complain about the food as we found it lovely! There was a huge choice at breakfast with cereal, fruit, yoghurt, lots of breads and pastries, cold meat, cheese and cooked breakfast too, it left me wondering what people have at home when they complained that there wasn't enough variety! Lunch and evening meals were also lovely with lots of Mediterranean cuisine, including salads, fish, meats and also BBQ and stir fry and the desserts were also delicious - time to get back on my diet now!
The staff were all very pleasant and hard working and the hotel was always clean and shiny.
The gardens were lovely and we chose to sunbathe by the pool rather than the beach. There were plenty of sunbeds and enough room to spread out so you weren't on top of each other.
All in all we had a great holiday and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Dom Pedro Golf.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro_Luz_Alves, General Manager at Dom Pedro Golf Resort, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
First of all I would like to thank your preference for the Dom Pedro Golf Resort.
It is rewarding to know you have a fantastic stay, enjoyed our service and food.
It is important to us that you recommend this Hotel by our service.
Our Staff is waiting to welcome you again soon.
Best regards,
Pedro Alves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dom Pedro Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Pedro Golf Resort

Address: Avenida Tivoli 4, Vilamoura 8125-478, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#13 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dom Pedro Golf Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located near the beach and the marina, Dom Pedro Golf Resort is ideal for golfers, family holidays and holiday makers. Golfers are just a few minutes away from some of the leading Championship Golf Courses in Algarve. Also ideal for a family holiday, Dom Pedro Golf Resort provides supervised summer entertainment program and children facilities such as: a playground, a playroom, children’s swimming pool and children’s menu. Babysitting service available (on request). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Dom Pedro Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dom Pedro Golf Hotel Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Hotel
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Golf Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Golf Resort Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dom Pedro Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.