We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not as good as it used to be!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dom Pedro Golf Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Dom Pedro Golf Resort to your Saves list
Dom Pedro Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Tivoli, 4, Vilamoura 8125-478, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
falkirk
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“not as good as it used to be!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

stayed here 2 years ago and the breakfast was a mix of fresh foods(local cheeses/fresh orange) so we booked it again.
hotel is spotless /rooms comfortable with mini bar but no tea/coffee.
reception staff are first class,friendly and helpful whereas resaurant staff did not seat you ,greet you or even smile. Food was cold and poor,scrambled eggs were white and swimming in water one dayr with boiled potatoes and green veg on offer. fried eggs not too bad but not 4* standard even the jam was rationed out.
very nice pool area with plenty of loungers and gardens to spread out in.
pool bar was all draught but friendly bar man managed to find can of fanta/think the problem is that it now does all inclusive so qality has gone.
location is ideal with plenty car parking

Room Tip: rooms at back with pool and sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro_Luz_Alves, General Manager at Dom Pedro Golf Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your preference for the second time.
I am pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay.
Regarding the food standards, they are the same than 2 years ago, and we try to improve them.
All inclusive is equal important to us than the other Guests.
I will see personally what had happen in your stay.
Best regards,
Pedro Alves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    254
    166
    43
    28
See reviews for
126
286
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DeLand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This resort was beautiful and well maintained. The staff was very friendly and helpful and their English was great! We stayed on the 9th floor and we had a private hot tub which was also very well kept. Vilamoura is beautiful and this resort if with walking distance of the beach, marina, Mcdonalds for when you can't take it anymore without fast food ( HA) and a ton of local eateries and pubs. My husband and I are looking forward to our next trip!

Room Tip: The 9th floor is very quiet and private!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro_Luz_Alves, General Manager at Dom Pedro Golf Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
First of all I would like to thank your preference for our Hotel and comments.
Its rewarding to know that you have had a enjoyable stay.
Our Staff is waiting for your return.
Best regards,
Pedro alves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as a couple between 18th and 22nd April 2013. The hotel, though a little worn, has a lovely atmosphere and the staff were very friendly and helpful at all times. The room (we were 8th floor facing the front of the hotel with lovely view of the beach) was spacious and immaculately clean with a decent sized bathroom and a large balcony. We visited the spa on one occasion but wouldn't rush back as the pool was small and cold and the jacuzzi and sauna were fairly uninspiring after a couple of minutes in each (both very small). We stayed on an all-inclusive package but would not recommend this to others and, with hindsight, would probably have been better going for bed and breakfast only. I personally didn't find anything wrong with the quality of food in the restaurant - the breakfasts were lovely and the salad and dessert selections at lunch and dinner were good. What did let the dining experience down was the lack of choice of main dishes - the meat, vegetable and potato choices were extremely limited, to the point where there was no choice other than what u were given, eg. turkey, mixed veg, sauteed potatoes and rice. It reminded me very much of school dinners! The hotel could also do with creating more atmosphere in the restaurant which was rather dark and gloomy, it has so much more potential than that and needs a makeover! That said and on balance we enjoyed our short stay here...the location, cleanliness and friendliness of staff made up for the dining room shortfalls! Would we return?...maybe!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro_Luz_Alves, General Manager at Dom Pedro Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
First of all I would like to thank you for your preference.
I am pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay.
I know you have said the quality of food was ok, but didn’t enjoy the variety.
We have always different types of meat and fish, and you choose the side dishes.
It is a Mediterranean Restaurant, so do please understand it is different from what you are used to.
Instead of saying maybe you would stay here again.
Please return because you are very welcome.
Best regards,
Pedro Alves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester UK
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Stayed here for one week to celebrate a friend's 50th birthday. We got a good BB rate through Voyage Prive and as we knew we would be out with friends most evenings didn't intend having dinner in the hotel. The hotel is situated about 5 mins walk from the beach or Marina area. (If walking back late at night stick to main road which is well lit. We did cut across the Portobello's carpark one night, but didn't feel safe as there were young men loitering. Our friends said they thought they had witnessed a drug transaction, so stick to well lit areas) The hotel is spacious with well kept public areas. Unfortunately the room where we had breakfast was totally uninspiring and depressing. I am not sure if this room is used all year round, or if they switch in high season as there is a lovely terrace facing into the gardens and pool area which was too cold to use in April. Breakfast had the usual buffet items; cheese, ham, yoghurts, fruit, pastries & rolls etc. The "hot" food; bacon, sausages, eggs etc. were at best luke warm. I am aware other reviewers have mentioned this and the Manager's response was "this is the temperature we eat in Portugal" Well that is fine when the food is freshly cooked and cooled, but you cannot healthily keep cooked food at this temperature. I only eat the "hot" food on the first day and stuck to the continental breakfast after that. We did not eat lunch, dinner or room service so cannot comment upon that.

Rooms; we had a club room on the 8th floor. Quite basic so I am glad we didn't book a standard room. The rooms are not soundproofed at all and even on the 8th floor we could hear a lot of noise coming from the bar area below which kept us awake. Also we were adjacent to the lift and each time, its arrival is announced with a loud "ping". Finally getting to sleep, we were woken by the early golfers and early departures dragging luggage along the corridors. Fortunately the hotel wasn't full and they were able to move us to the other side of the hotel away from the bar & lift. Unfortunately then we were woken at 2 & 3am by loud drunks leaving the casino opposite. Oh dear we sound like right moaners ! But a good nights sleep is a basic need for a relaxing holiday. We stayed in the second room and just had an extra glass of wine before bedtime ! The rooms are kept clean and well serviced by the housekeeping staff and our twins were zipped together at our request to make a king. The reception staff were very polite and accommodating whenever a request was made. Bar staff were also friendly and efficient - especially Fatima who makes a lovely cup of coffee and will give you her special recipe for Portuguese Snails ! The outdoor pool is lovely, shame its not heated but I guess during summer you really don't need it. We used the indoor pool and spa (take note this is available to children as well so if you book spa treatments as we did, you can hear screaming kids whilst trying to relax into your massage !) I think the hotel really need to decide if this is an indoor leisure facility or if its an adult spa - the two DO NOT MIX !!!) With so many golf groups attracted to this hotel, I would have thought it quite a money spinner to develop the spa into an adult relaxation area, even if it were adults only during winter/low season?
To summarise; I would say if you get a great rate and you do not intend to spend much time at the hotel, then it is a good base. If you are looking for somewhere to stay & relax without moving from the hotel then this isn't the place for you. The test is always "would you stay here again?" and we would say NO !

Room Tip: There was always noise - from corridors; banging doors etc. From the bar/smoking terrace on pool si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro_Luz_Alves, General Manager at Dom Pedro Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your preference.
Vilamoura is a place were you can walk security. We have 24 hours patrols of local Police and Private Security Company.
As I say before, the temperature served, is the temperature served in Portugal.
Our Hotel is HACCP certificate, so you can heat the hot food, because is freshly made and safe.
If you allow me a suggestion, you should try our culture.
Maybe next time, if you stay with us, and we can change your opinion.
Best regards,
Pedro Alves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Dom Pedro Golf Hotel-Rating: 4.0

Booked ALL INCLUSIVE stay. I would recommend this hotel. I also met one of the Manager Mr. Alves,who was a very nice man who tried to help when we encountered a few problems.

The hotel is only 30 minutes from the airport by Taxi We stayed at the Dom Pedro Golf Hotel last week (15th – 22nd April 2013) in a Club Room.

The food was good and there was a good choice of salads, which I/we eat most days and a choice of meat or fish.

The hotel also have TV's in each room, our TV could not pick up SJY very well at all.There is a TV room on the ground floor with a Large screen which is also a ‘smoking room’ hotel is clean and if you are a Dom Pedro Club member apparently you can upgrade from a ‘garden view’ room to a club room.

This 266-room hotel and conference centre is about 38 years old according to one of the staff members I spoke too. The Conference Centre facilities are good and can cater for up to 450 people.
Great if you want to bring your staff there for a Conference. I would reccomend this.

I found the staff to be extremely friendly and helpfull, and when my Laptop got a Virus, two of
The staff members tried to advise me what to do. The travel agent Mercury Direct that we booked through described the hotel as 4 and ½ star hotel which it is not.

Mercury Direct The travel agent’s web page also said the hotel has free Wi-Fi, which it has not,. You have to pay for Wi-Fi, but on the ground floor bar there is an old ‘Linkx computer that you can use for free. when it is free.

The spa is very small and the spa rooms for Spa treatments are tiny. The indoor Spa swimming pool is not very deep and very small. The Jacuzzi is also minute and fit 4 small people.

In all my recommendation is: although the hotel is old, we had a very pleasant stay and would re-book via the hotel’s own website rather than go through a Travel agency.

The following is offered there: Wireless Internet access – surcharge-Massage - spa treatment room(s)Air conditioning,-Blackout drapes/curtains( which is a must in the hot sunny afternoons if you want to sleep)Electronic/magnetic keys. Balcony-Every room has a small balcony.

Thank you once again Dom Pedro Golf Resort. signed: CJCH.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro_Luz_Alves, General Manager at Dom Pedro Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Sir,
It was a pleasure to have you as our Guest, and to meet you personally.
Your comments are very important to us, and I am delightful to know you have had a wonderful stay.
You are always welcome.
Best regards,
Pedro Alves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I took my management team to Portugal as a thank you for all the hard work. Staff were really friendly and helpful. Location was great and central to everywhere. Only 30 minutes from the airport and Taxi was about 40 Euro each way.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro_Luz_Alves, General Manager at Dom Pedro Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Philip,
First of all I would like to thank you and your Team for the preference for the Dom Pedro Golf Resort.
It is rewarding to know that you have enjoyed your stay.
Our Team will welcome you again when you wish.
Best regards,
Pedro Alves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Thank you to managment & staff in making this such a special and wonderful holiday.
We were celebrating our Wedding Anniversary and the hotel certainly made our week feel special.
Suite 900 was wonderful views and with a private hot tub on the balcony.
The food and weather were perfect and we meet some wonderful people over there.

Room Tip: Suite 900 for that extra special holiday
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro_Luz_Alves, General Manager at Dom Pedro Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Ruth,
It was an honor to have been part on your wedding celebration.
Thank you very much for choosing us, and for your lovely words.
Our Team is waiting to welcome you again soon.
Best regards,
Pedro Alves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dom Pedro Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Pedro Golf Resort

Address: Avenida Tivoli, 4, Vilamoura 8125-478, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#13 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dom Pedro Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located near the beach and the marina, Dom Pedro Golf Resort is ideal for golfers, family holidays and holiday makers. Golfers are just a few minutes away from some of the leading Championship Golf Courses in Algarve. Also ideal for a family holiday, Dom Pedro Golf Resort provides supervised summer entertainment program and children facilities such as: a playground, a playroom, children’s swimming pool and children’s menu. Babysitting service available (on request). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dom Pedro Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dom Pedro Golf Hotel Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Hotel
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Golf Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Golf Resort Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dom Pedro Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.