We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good 'All Inclusive'Hotel.I would return for another visit!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dom Pedro Golf Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Dom Pedro Golf Resort to your Saves list
Dom Pedro Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Tivoli, 4, Vilamoura 8125-478, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good 'All Inclusive'Hotel.I would return for another visit!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Dom Pedro Golf Hotel-Rating: 4.0

Booked ALL INCLUSIVE stay. I would recommend this hotel. I also met one of the Manager Mr. Alves,who was a very nice man who tried to help when we encountered a few problems.

The hotel is only 30 minutes from the airport by Taxi We stayed at the Dom Pedro Golf Hotel last week (15th – 22nd April 2013) in a Club Room.

The food was good and there was a good choice of salads, which I/we eat most days and a choice of meat or fish.

The hotel also have TV's in each room, our TV could not pick up SJY very well at all.There is a TV room on the ground floor with a Large screen which is also a ‘smoking room’ hotel is clean and if you are a Dom Pedro Club member apparently you can upgrade from a ‘garden view’ room to a club room.

This 266-room hotel and conference centre is about 38 years old according to one of the staff members I spoke too. The Conference Centre facilities are good and can cater for up to 450 people.
Great if you want to bring your staff there for a Conference. I would reccomend this.

I found the staff to be extremely friendly and helpfull, and when my Laptop got a Virus, two of
The staff members tried to advise me what to do. The travel agent Mercury Direct that we booked through described the hotel as 4 and ½ star hotel which it is not.

Mercury Direct The travel agent’s web page also said the hotel has free Wi-Fi, which it has not,. You have to pay for Wi-Fi, but on the ground floor bar there is an old ‘Linkx computer that you can use for free. when it is free.

The spa is very small and the spa rooms for Spa treatments are tiny. The indoor Spa swimming pool is not very deep and very small. The Jacuzzi is also minute and fit 4 small people.

In all my recommendation is: although the hotel is old, we had a very pleasant stay and would re-book via the hotel’s own website rather than go through a Travel agency.

The following is offered there: Wireless Internet access – surcharge-Massage - spa treatment room(s)Air conditioning,-Blackout drapes/curtains( which is a must in the hot sunny afternoons if you want to sleep)Electronic/magnetic keys. Balcony-Every room has a small balcony.

Thank you once again Dom Pedro Golf Resort. signed: CJCH.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro_Luz_Alves, General Manager at Dom Pedro Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Sir,
It was a pleasure to have you as our Guest, and to meet you personally.
Your comments are very important to us, and I am delightful to know you have had a wonderful stay.
You are always welcome.
Best regards,
Pedro Alves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    270
    171
    44
    29
See reviews for
129
294
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I took my management team to Portugal as a thank you for all the hard work. Staff were really friendly and helpful. Location was great and central to everywhere. Only 30 minutes from the airport and Taxi was about 40 Euro each way.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro_Luz_Alves, General Manager at Dom Pedro Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Philip,
First of all I would like to thank you and your Team for the preference for the Dom Pedro Golf Resort.
It is rewarding to know that you have enjoyed your stay.
Our Team will welcome you again when you wish.
Best regards,
Pedro Alves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Thank you to managment & staff in making this such a special and wonderful holiday.
We were celebrating our Wedding Anniversary and the hotel certainly made our week feel special.
Suite 900 was wonderful views and with a private hot tub on the balcony.
The food and weather were perfect and we meet some wonderful people over there.

Room Tip: Suite 900 for that extra special holiday
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro_Luz_Alves, General Manager at Dom Pedro Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Ruth,
It was an honor to have been part on your wedding celebration.
Thank you very much for choosing us, and for your lovely words.
Our Team is waiting to welcome you again soon.
Best regards,
Pedro Alves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I have just returned from Dom Pedro Golf resort, overall we had a nice time, Villamoura is a pleasant tourist resort and the weather was fantastic. About this hotel I will start with the things I found most negative and work my way to the positives.

If you get a call to collect your 'welcome pack', be advised this is an invitation to a timeshare sales pitch. You get triple teamed, someone will call telling you to collect your welcome pack which consists of a half price restaurant voucher (for a Dom Pedro hotel restaurant), discounted return holiday (which needs to be booked within 7 days of the date of you attending the pitch) etc, another will greet you and soften you up, giving you some quite useful advice but nothing revolutionary and a third will go in for the kill. We were there almost 3 hours! If they read this, my advice would be to actually be honest with people upfront, you may well convert more sales, as misleading them from the outset with the pitch of a 'welcome pack' makes people wary when they realise its a ploy.

During the softening up phase we were told the hotel was born in 1978. I'm sure when it was first built and possibly through the 1980's it was considered luxurious. Its now a little tired looking! We asked several times and several people about our air-conditioning as it appeared faulty, but were told its on a central control unit (possibly because it hasn't been upgraded sine 1978). It was really hot in our room, much colder in the hallways, but what annoyed me is no one was prepared to offer any solutions, no portable fan, no room change (the hotel was nowhere near full), we just got told to leave it with them, but the most annoying thing was that we were never updated.

The room wasn't spotless when we arrived, a few hairs in the shower and it seemed as if it was tidied each day, rather than cleaned. Also, they were quite tight with the toiletries, we had to ask for extras of something most days as they wouldn't replenish if you had any left in the bottle.

Breakfast is typical continental with little variety. it does get a little boring after a few days, and have definitely had better at other 4 star hotels.

The location of the hotel is good, its a 5 min walk to the Marina and less than 5 mins to the beach. A nice balance in my opinion.

Some of the staff were very nice, Maria, that works in the bar area, especially was so happy and friendly, and really put some life into the place.

Overall, we had a nice trip, and actually having said all of the above, and having seen a few of the others hotels in the area you could do a lot worse.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro_Luz_Alves, General Manager at Dom Pedro Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
First of all I would like to thank your preference for The Dom Pedro Golf Resort.
I am very pleased to know you have had a nice stay, and we will improve with your comments.
Just a comment regarding the air-conditioned: the temperature outside was a bit low and we have the air-conditioned to warm the Hotel . The temperature went up fast and we change the air-conditioned to cold. This process takes 2 days because it’s the change from winter to summer.
Sincerely hope to welcome you again soon.
Best Regards,
Pedro Alves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We recently stayed at the hotel for a short break. The hotel is well situated and close to local amenities and the marina, where there a number of bars, shops and restaurants. We did not find the staff in the hotel to be very welcoming or helpful - particularly at breakfast - on our first day we were not shown to any table, or greeted by the staff there, just sat down and helped ourselves. The breakfast is standard continental, and little variation from day to day. We did not eat any other food in the hotel, but the menu choice was limited and there is plenty of choice outside the hotel along the marina

The room was clean but very basic, there is no kettles in the room. so if you want hot water, you would have to get it from the bar downstairs and take it up yourself or pay 7.50 euros for someone to bring it to your room. You also have to pay a 10 euro deposit and 2 euros a day for the use of a safe. We had a standard room, on the 8th floor which has nice views! We had a broken phone and leaky shower, both of which we informed the desk staff of , however noone came to have a look or fix this.

The hotel website mentions that there is tennis, badminton and table tennis facilities, however they did not have any badminton or table tennis equipment, and is also charged at 10 euros per hour!!

The spa is nice and clean, but the swimming pool is small and the water was not very warm.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay in Vilamoura, however the hotel let us down a bit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro_Luz_Alves, Front Office Manager at Dom Pedro Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your preference and comments.
We will try to improve with them, but I can unsure that all the assistance is provide when you need.
I will see internal what had happen with the maintenance. Please accept our apologies.
Regarding the food, our Breakfast is an American buffet and not a Continental has you refer.
If you have tried the dinner or lunch I am sure that you have enjoyed, and have seen that it was not limited.
We have table tennis equipment (just have to ask on the reception).
We have a Badminton Net, we don’t have equipment, but we are going to buy.
Thank you for advise.
I Sincerely Hope you return to our Hotel, and change your opinion.
Best regards,
Pedro Alves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I booked a holiday from 12th to 19th March for a golf 4 ball. Booked through Super Travel, all inclusive.

The arrangements made by the company were superb. Met at the airport by rep. Taken to mini bus and then to the hotel. Met at the door by a man with our hired clubs and free golf balls. Given vouchers for three courses and the hotel stored the clubs ( which were top of the range ) at the hotel. Transport from hotel to course each day.

Booked in to usual standard rooms in a good hotel and went to the bar. No draft beer. The explanation- not enough people in the hotel to make it worthwhile. That was confirmed by the fact that we spent most of the week in the entertainment lounge in the company of between 4 and 8 people. Entertainment consisted of someone playing music off U tube which was located on a lap top and played through amplifiers. We were able to watch live football in the TV room.

The food was OK but not to the standard of a 4 star hotel. All of the staff were extremely helpful and friendly which is to their credit because we discovered that for the people who live in Portugal, times are very very hard.

The lack of customers was not due to any failings of the hotel. It is due to absence of Spaniards who usually book around Easter. They have their own difficulties. At night, the streets were deserted. All in all we had a good week. Super travel were superb especially Guy Brown. We felt very sorry for the Portuguese. Nothing was too much trouble and they assisted with any problems we had. The hotel even got us a substitute day of golf because we were rained off on one day.

We would recommend Grogans Irish Pub, close to the hotel. Good craic with the staff and good pub grub.

Every golfer we met recommended The Old Course Vilamourra but unfortunately we did not play it. Don`t play The Laguna if you are a high handicap golfer.

Special thanks to the Barman Jose ( pronounced "Juicy" ) in Portugal.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro_Luz_Alves, General Manager at Dom Pedro Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Alexander,
First of all I would like to thank you for your preference.
Its really important to us that you have enjoyed your stay and Staff.
It is true that Portugal is in a recession, but its was not the only reason that Vilamoura was empty.
In March Guests are looking for good weather, and this year it has rained a lot.
The reason that we were not serving draught beer was because loose quality when its not served .
I hope that you will return next year with shining days, to enjoy Vilamoura.
We are waiting to welcome you.
Best regards,
Pedro Alves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Went golfing with 5 mates last week of march hotel handy for town centre hotel and room clean and tidy food first 3 days fixed menu not good buffet rest of week good breakfast good went to spa one day average overall if I ever returned I would not go all inclusive it would only be B and B

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro_Luz_Alves, General Manager at Dom Pedro Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Robert,
I would like to thank you and your group for the preference of the Dom Pedro Golf Resort.
Sometimes we provide a fix menu, but with several options changed daily.
As you say so , we would like for you to return even if it is on B&B Basis.
Best regards,
Pedro Alves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dom Pedro Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Pedro Golf Resort

Address: Avenida Tivoli, 4, Vilamoura 8125-478, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#13 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dom Pedro Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located near the beach and the marina, Dom Pedro Golf Resort is ideal for golfers, family holidays and holiday makers. Golfers are just a few minutes away from some of the leading Championship Golf Courses in Algarve. Also ideal for a family holiday, Dom Pedro Golf Resort provides supervised summer entertainment program and children facilities such as: a playground, a playroom, children’s swimming pool and children’s menu. Babysitting service available (on request). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dom Pedro Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dom Pedro Golf Hotel Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Hotel
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Golf Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Golf Resort Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dom Pedro Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.