We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Signs of recession” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dom Pedro Golf Resort

Save Saved
You added Dom Pedro Golf Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dom Pedro Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Tivoli 4, Vilamoura 8125-478, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 35 hotels in Vilamoura
N.Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Signs of recession”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I booked a holiday from 12th to 19th March for a golf 4 ball. Booked through Super Travel, all inclusive.

The arrangements made by the company were superb. Met at the airport by rep. Taken to mini bus and then to the hotel. Met at the door by a man with our hired clubs and free golf balls. Given vouchers for three courses and the hotel stored the clubs ( which were top of the range ) at the hotel. Transport from hotel to course each day.

Booked in to usual standard rooms in a good hotel and went to the bar. No draft beer. The explanation- not enough people in the hotel to make it worthwhile. That was confirmed by the fact that we spent most of the week in the entertainment lounge in the company of between 4 and 8 people. Entertainment consisted of someone playing music off U tube which was located on a lap top and played through amplifiers. We were able to watch live football in the TV room.

The food was OK but not to the standard of a 4 star hotel. All of the staff were extremely helpful and friendly which is to their credit because we discovered that for the people who live in Portugal, times are very very hard.

The lack of customers was not due to any failings of the hotel. It is due to absence of Spaniards who usually book around Easter. They have their own difficulties. At night, the streets were deserted. All in all we had a good week. Super travel were superb especially Guy Brown. We felt very sorry for the Portuguese. Nothing was too much trouble and they assisted with any problems we had. The hotel even got us a substitute day of golf because we were rained off on one day.

We would recommend Grogans Irish Pub, close to the hotel. Good craic with the staff and good pub grub.

Every golfer we met recommended The Old Course Vilamourra but unfortunately we did not play it. Don`t play The Laguna if you are a high handicap golfer.

Special thanks to the Barman Jose ( pronounced "Juicy" ) in Portugal.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro_Luz_Alves, General Manager at Dom Pedro Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Alexander,
First of all I would like to thank you for your preference.
Its really important to us that you have enjoyed your stay and Staff.
It is true that Portugal is in a recession, but its was not the only reason that Vilamoura was empty.
In March Guests are looking for good weather, and this year it has rained a lot.
The reason that we were not serving draught beer was because loose quality when its not served .
I hope that you will return next year with shining days, to enjoy Vilamoura.
We are waiting to welcome you.
Best regards,
Pedro Alves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    110
    213
    153
    36
    27
See reviews for
99
254
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Went golfing with 5 mates last week of march hotel handy for town centre hotel and room clean and tidy food first 3 days fixed menu not good buffet rest of week good breakfast good went to spa one day average overall if I ever returned I would not go all inclusive it would only be B and B

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro_Luz_Alves, General Manager at Dom Pedro Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Robert,
I would like to thank you and your group for the preference of the Dom Pedro Golf Resort.
Sometimes we provide a fix menu, but with several options changed daily.
As you say so , we would like for you to return even if it is on B&B Basis.
Best regards,
Pedro Alves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We were moved to this hotel by our holiday rep after a bad experience with our original hotel in Albufeira.
On arrival we were greeted with a smile and a welcome and our suitcases were delivered to our room. This was indicative of the level of service we received from all the staff in the hotel. They were friendly and attentive and clearly took pride in their work.
The hotel is of a good standard throughout and is spotlessly clean. Our room was lovely, light and airy with a balcony overlooking the pool and beyond to the sea.
We were staying on an all inclusive basis and the food although limited in choice was of a good standard and the menu changed daily. The drinks were varied and of good quality and a range of hot snacks were also offered during the day.
The hotel grounds are extensive and very well maintained with 2 outdoor pools and an indoor pool, jacuzzi and sauna. Also tennis courts and play areas for children.
We were only on a short break so found the location of the hotel very convenient, 5 minutes to the beach and Marina. Vilamoura, although a man made resort focussed around the large marina, has a nice upmarket feel with lovely restaurants, shops and bars close to the hotel.
The hotel has a mix of nationalities and we prefered this to the 'Brits abroad' sometimes found when booking a package holiday.
Couldn't really fault it and we are fussy!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro_Luz_Alves, General Manager at Dom Pedro Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Steve,
First of all I would like to thank your preference and comments.
I am very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed our welcome, our staff and your stay.
Our team is waiting to welcome again soon.
Best regards,
Pedro Alves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswaldtwistle, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

A group of 4 couples stayed for the weekend. We were moved from the Dom Pedro marina. Staff were nice & helpful. the bar area & staff attentive. Breakfast was nice although the dining room a little plain. the only downside no boiled eggs on the second day!
We were awoken on the second night by people on the floor above shouting down to a drunken friend (though this was nothing to do with the hotel!)
Overall a nice hotel worth a visit for a break. Thanks to all

Room Tip: Close to bus stop, beach & Marina. Rooma nice sea view recomended for a little extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro_Luz_Alves, General Manager at Dom Pedro Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Steve,
Fist of all I would like to thank you and your group to have stayed in our Hotel.
I am very pleased to know that you have had a fantastic stay.
We change the type of eggs every day, but you can always ask for the type of eggs you wish, and we will make it.
Our staff is waiting to welcome you group soon.
Best regards,
Pedro Alves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This hotel has an excellent location within Vilamoura and is very close to the casino and the marina area. The rooms are very clean with a daily maid service which is excellent. They are also spacious. The staff here are extremely welcoming and helpful. Facilities at the hotel are also excellent with spa, gym, swimming pools and tennis courts. Free shuttle service to all golf courses in Vilamoura is also provided. The only negative point I could say about this hotel is the standard of food provided on the all inclusive basis we booked. I would strongly recommend that you do not book all inclusive with this hotel. Normal buffet style meals were not provided. Instead we had to order of a severely restricted menu with very little choice. The lunch and dinner menus were identical. The service at lunch and dinner was painfully slow and in the end our party used only the snack menu for our meals.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro_Luz_Alves, General Manager at Dom Pedro Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
First of all I would like to thank you preference for the Dom Pedro Golf Resort
It is very important to know that you enjoyed our Staff and Hotel.
Regarding the food the menu had two options of starters, two options of fish, two options of meat, a pasta suggestion and two desserts plus ice cream.
All it cooked at the moment with the freshness we want to provide, and it is a Mediterranean food.
Hope this issue don’t stop you from return to our Hotel, and we sincerely would like to have you as our Guest again.
Best regards,
Pedro Alves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Just got back from dom pedro golf hotel had a great time staff where very good especially the bar staff where we spent most of our time, room was good size clean and maids tidied up room well. Very good location for anyone wanting to play golf. My only problem was our food which was not of good quality we were on an All incluvise deal the first couple of nights we had a buffet service provided which was ok but our last nights were you had to order your food from a small menu choice of two starters two fish and two meats plus vegetables and a small called out to sweet service, the breakfast was the most disappointing of them all everything on it was cold beans sausage scrambled eggs bacon and the smallest cups you get for tea and coffee.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro_Luz_Alves, General Manager at Dom Pedro Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest first of all I would like to thank you preference for our Hotel.
I am very pleased to know that you enjoyed our staff and Hotel.
Regarding the food we change for a menu à la Carte with two options of starters, two options of fish, two options of meat, a pasta suggestion and two desserts plus ice cream.
We change the menus daily, and at lunch you have also a snacks á la carte.
At the buffet we have the hot temperature that we serve in our country, and you have all ways hot plates.
Hope this issue don’t stop you from return to our Hotel.
Looking forward to receive you again.
Best regards,
Pedro Alves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Very good hotel with great customer serice and very friendly and helpful staff. Nice room, excellent restaurant with great choice of food and drinks. Location, location, location: short walk to shops, restaurants...We had a wonderful experince at this hotel and would recomend it .

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro_Luz_Alves, General Manager at Dom Pedro Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your preference, and comments.
I am very pleased to know that you had a fantastic stay, and will recommend the Hotel.
We hope to welcome you again soon.
Best regards,
Pedro Alves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dom Pedro Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Pedro Golf Resort

Address: Avenida Tivoli 4, Vilamoura 8125-478, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#13 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dom Pedro Golf Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located near the beach and the marina, Dom Pedro Golf Resort is ideal for golfers, family holidays and holiday makers. Golfers are just a few minutes away from some of the leading Championship Golf Courses in Algarve. Also ideal for a family holiday, Dom Pedro Golf Resort provides supervised summer entertainment program and children facilities such as: a playground, a playroom, children’s swimming pool and children’s menu. Babysitting service available (on request). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Dom Pedro Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dom Pedro Golf Hotel Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Hotel
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Golf Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Golf Resort Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dom Pedro Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.