We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable hotel in walking distance of the marina” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dom Pedro Golf Resort

Save Saved
You added Dom Pedro Golf Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dom Pedro Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Tivoli 4, Vilamoura 8125-478, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 35 hotels in Vilamoura
Hitchin
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Reasonable hotel in walking distance of the marina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

25 of us stayed here in Sept 2012 for our annual golf trip.

Hotel is clean with nice sized bedroom and bathrooms. Clean hotel throughout. Large pool area with outdoor bars. 9 floors so a little high rise for my personal taste, but 3 lifts meant not much waiting.

Bathroom had a large bath with a shower over, with complimentary toiletries. The rooms and towels were cleaned/changed daily. The was also a gym/spa area for use near the pools

Breakfast had a large amount of choice but the cold meats & cheeses were constantly buzzed by flies & wasps so didn't bother.

This hotel is about 5-7 minutes walk from the marina & all its nightlife.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro_Luz_Alves, General Manager at Dom Pedro Golf Resort, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Guest,
First of all I would like to thank your group, for choosing the Hotel Dom Pedro Golf resort this year for your golf trip.
I am very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay.
We are waiting to welcome your group again soon.
Best regards,
Pedro Alves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    211
    153
    36
    27
See reviews for
98
253
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

We have just got back from a weeks all inclusive stay at the hotel as a group of 6 adults of mixed ages..... After booking I read a lot of negative reviews and was dreading the trip but can honestly say we had a blast! The room are dated yes but amongst the cleanest I have stayed in. They are roomy and we all had balcony's (3 rooms) when I booked I requested 3 things on the off chance ,.. 1 was early check in, 2 was sea view rooms and 3 was all 3 rooms together. We were delighted that all 3 requests were honoured.
The food was typical of an all inclusive hotel.... Selection of meats and sides along with cold meat and salads... Something for everyone but a bit samey. But always hot and fresh. And note that the chefs happily make you fresh pasta or a burger if you ask. Breakfast was the same each day but nice enough.
The bar staff on the whole were polite and professional, often they would bring our drinks over to us by the pool. Afternoon snacks aren't well advertised but if you are all inclusive then they order at the bar and they cook fresh to order.
We had a group of 300 arrive two days into the holiday for a country music do ... Which was quite fun and injected some life into the hotel.
The pool was spotless clean and a nice temperature. Spa facilities good. Shower in room was awesome! Only grumble I can think of was that wifi was rubbish! Other than that a fab week.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro_Luz_Alves, General Manager at Dom Pedro Golf Resort, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Emma,
Thank you very much for your preference and for sharing your opinion with us.
I am delightful to know that you have had a fantastic stay, and our Team is waiting to welcome you again.
Best regards,
Pedro Alves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a one week stay at this hotel. On arrival we asked to upgrade as we did not get a sea view we were sharply told that the hotel was fully booked yet curtains all closed in rooms overlooking pool area. The hotel was quiet in the first five days of our stay. The room was clean and tidy and cleaning staff very nice and attentive. The breatfast was just ok same each day. It was nicely positioned short walk to beach and to Marina. On the Sunday 400 elderly quests arrived as part of a country and western holiday the hotel then became totally geared for their needs having singing activities both in the afternoon and evenings no attempt was made in the evenings to keep the noice down at 1am following their dancing evening function. On check out the receptionist was very efficient and didn't even ask if we had enjoyable stay. Sorry to have to say that they done their job and with no extras. Definitely not a four star for me

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro_Luz_Alves, General Manager at Dom Pedro Golf Resort, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Guest,
First of all I would like to thank your preference for the Hotel Dom Pedro Golf Resort, and your comments.
Regarding our occupancy, we were fully booked all month of August and September.
Always when we have rooms available the up grade is made.
We had a big group on the Hotel with music activities.
I really hope you return, because I can unsure you will have pleasant stay.
Best regards,
Pedro Alves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Generally very tired and in desperate need of a revamp. Big open recaption area with welcoming staff but I'm afraid tha's about where the paudits stop. On a golf tour so to be fair we didn't intend to spend much time at the hotel which was just as well. Rooms were clean but VERY basic. Breakfast was dreadful with wasps all over the buffet. General decor is very tired. This is not what we expected for what was is advertised as a 4* hotel. That being said though, the location is an easy 5 minute walk from the Marina although we were warned of the walk back in the early hours (post 2am) so don't walk back alone!

Room Tip: Make sre you don't stay on the 9th Floor. Rooms have no balcony on this floor and we saw many p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro_Luz_Alves, General Manager at Dom Pedro Golf Resort, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Rod,
First of all thank you very much for your preference and for sharing your opinion with us.
The Hotel has is decoration and as you say it’s clean and comfortable.
The rooms on the 9th floor are a triple room, that’s why don’t have balcony.
Best regards,
Pedro Alves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I am afraid I cannot agree with some of the other reviews. Am just back from a two week half board stay in the hotel and have few complaints.The food was good and the variety was great. There was something to suit every taste. the fish was particularly good. The fruit and salads were always fresh. I have yet to find a better choice of fresh bread and pastries for breakfast and dinner. As I am not into hot breakfasts I cannot comment on that. Towels were changed every day and the room was spotless. The tiling around the bath in places were a bit grubby and could do with being re-grouted. We had a lovely view of the gardens and the sea. The Wi Fi was expensive at 6 euro a day, though there was a computor which was free to use. The location is excellent with a 5 min walk to the beach and 5 mins to the Marina. Ok there are a lot of male golfers in the hotel but generally were all well behaved. I have no problem recommending the hotel and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the gardens (east facing) have a lovely view of both sea and garden. I would say from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro_Luz_Alves, General Manager at Dom Pedro Golf Resort, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Paula,
Thank you very much for your preference and comments.
They are really important to us, and we are rewarded to know that you have a fantastic stay, and that you have enjoyed our food.
Our Team is waiting to welcome you again soon.
Best regards,
Pedro Alves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed for five nights. The hotel was average at best with large groups of raucous golfers making a terrible din and drinking heavily. The only saving graces were the location and the cleaning of the rooms. First morning, we went down for breakfast thinking that the outside buffet was all that was available. The food was covered in flies and we deemed it to be a hazard, however, there is an inside buffet where the food was acceptable. The staff could have been friendlier and you should be warned that 2 good-sized loungers with umbrella at the beach will set you back 25 euros per day. I couldn't recommend this hotel to anyone I liked!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro_Luz_Alves, General Manager at Dom Pedro Golf Resort, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
First of all I would like to thank your preference for the Dom Pedro Golf Resort.
Regarding your comments, we have had a group of golfers, but it was not noisy.
Our buffet in out-side as the same quality and variety of the inside buffet.
I fell sorry that you wouldn’t wish to return, because you will change your opinion.
Best regards,
Pedro Alves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Having only recently returned from the Dom Pedro, (15 Sept 12) I feel it is only fair to advise other travellers of our dissapointment. We stayed in the Dom Pedro on our Honeymoon 13 years ago, nothing has changed, the place needs a complete facelift, it's very dated and looks shabby.
We were on a B&B basis only, thankfully. The Breakfast, although varied, was cold and tasteless. The staff however were helpful enough especially the receptionist, who, despite earlier reports was indeed very cheerful and attentive. The rooms were.......adequate that's the best I can say, although clean. The whole hotel is painted a disgusting brown colour and the balcony felt, to say the least, claustrophobic. Wi Fi had to be paid for, not something I would expect in this day and age, and the Safe required an activator which again had to be paid for. Whilst the hotel is situated in an ideal spot it should in no way be considered a 4 star venue. One further point to note if you're travelling as a couple, there are large groups of all male golfers, all competing to be alpha male, which they seem to think involves being loud, rude and arrogant, which can be intimidating on occasions. If however you are part of such a group, then this is an ideal location.

Room Tip: Choose a different Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro_Luz_Alves, General Manager at Dom Pedro Golf Resort, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Guest,
First of all I would like to thank your preference and comments.
We have our decoration, but all the rooms are comfortable.
Regarding the cold food, we have hot plates and the food as proximally 60 degrees.
As a Resort we receive many kinds of groups, there so it is not a Hotel of mail groups only.
I really like to change your opinion, as you say the staff is helpful and friendly.
Best regards,
Pedro Alves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dom Pedro Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Pedro Golf Resort

Address: Avenida Tivoli 4, Vilamoura 8125-478, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#13 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dom Pedro Golf Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located near the beach and the marina, Dom Pedro Golf Resort is ideal for golfers, family holidays and holiday makers. Golfers are just a few minutes away from some of the leading Championship Golf Courses in Algarve. Also ideal for a family holiday, Dom Pedro Golf Resort provides supervised summer entertainment program and children facilities such as: a playground, a playroom, children’s swimming pool and children’s menu. Babysitting service available (on request). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Dom Pedro Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dom Pedro Golf Hotel Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Hotel
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Golf Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Golf Resort Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dom Pedro Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.