We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dom Pedro Golf Resort

Save Saved
You added Dom Pedro Golf Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dom Pedro Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Tivoli 4, Vilamoura 8125-478, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 35 hotels in Vilamoura
Northern Ireland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Excellent location and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012 via mobile

Just home from 5 night stay using living social voucher. This Internet deal was excellent value and I'd definitely snap one up again.

The hotel is very clean and staff exceptionally friendly. We stayed on the vile gale amphalius, which is next door, in September last year. I thought the Dom pedro was equally as good and excelled in some areas.

The pool and garden is fabulous and the onsite hotel spa is a real treat. Breakfast is five with plenty to satisfy most appetites.

The rooms are very clean and we lived the complementary fruit, water and dressing gowns. All staff were very friendly, much more so than the vile gale.

I would return and hopefully this hotel will have another living social deal again soon!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro_Luz_Alves, General Manager at Dom Pedro Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2012
Dear Jo Jokesh,
First of all thank you very much for your preference and your comments.
They are really important for us, specially the ones regarding our staff.
I’m very pleased you wish to return, and our team is waiting to welcome you again.
Best regards,
Pedro Alves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    110
    212
    153
    36
    27
See reviews for
99
254
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

This is an ok hotel. Not great just ok. Slightly outdated in decor, but livable. Staff were very helpful.

This hotel charges for everything though so be aware. It states free internet in the lobby. By this they mean the oldest, slowest, broken up laptop in the world. I thought I was going to have a heart attack at the frustration this laptop brought to me :-) The wifi is expensive. I hate hotels who charge for wifi.

The food was ok. Buffet breakfast which was fine. Think I had lunch one day there. It was ok. Not great. Handy for a quick something.

The gardens were great. I was there in Easter, so it was a little quiet and cold. The pools are a good size and the gardens were great. Playing area for kids etc, plus tennis courts. Could easily see myself going there with the kids.

It is right next to the Crown Plaza. A 2 minute walk to the beach. 15 minute walk to Quarteria.

Opposite and just past the casino is the Vila Gale Ampalius. We visited friends there. This is much more luxurious and I would easily stay there.

Overall if you want a lowish cost hotel with a great location, go for this. Good breakfast, rooms are ok and the garden is good for kids. Plus I think the location is good as it is quiet, yet easy walk to most things.

Room Tip: Pay the little extra for the club rooms on the 7th and 8th floor. You get breakfast included, plus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro_Luz_Alves, General Manager at Dom Pedro Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Dear Mr. Paul,
Thank you very much for your preference and comments.
We will take care about the problem with the computer.
I’m very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay, and our team is waiting to welcome you again soon.
Best regards,
Pedro Alves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012 via mobile

I have to confess we weren't staying at this particular hotel but as we were staying at Dom pedro marina we were allowed to use this hotel's facilities. As it was quite close to Dom pedro marina we thought we would use the pool as it was bigger so when we entered the reception/hallway/cafe we were greeted by some sort of disgusting smell! I was particularly appalled with this smell. We went to the pool which was much bigger than the marina's but was very dirty and jammed packed with kids. They did have a playground for the kids though. And a kids club(but you would have had to know portuguese)the toilets were poor especially were they were. Though we hadn't stayed there I wouldn't like to have my breakfast while smelling
that 'smell' I definitely would prefer to stay at the marina hotel!

Stayed August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro_Luz_Alves, General Manager at Dom Pedro Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Dear Guest,
First of all I would like to thank your preference for the Dom Pedro Hotels.
Your opinion it’s really important to us, there are no problem regarding the matter you present, and I really hope you come back, for us to change your idea.
Best regards,
Pedro Alves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012 via mobile

We arrived at this hotel on 24 of march at 8pm everythin was fine checking in but we were not asked about any safe we went to out room and was very dissapointed wit the standard very old asked for a double got twin beds we headed for a meal and returned an hour later to change the next morning we woke up to look in my purse and all my money was stolen and strangly two pairs of tracksuit bottoms from my boyfriends bag, we reported this immiediatly to reception but the girl on reception was in no way helpful obviously it was a cleaner or member of staff that entered our room while we were out the receptionsist taught this was very funny suggesting spiderman came to our room as we were stayin on the fifth floor as all our money was stolen we had no way of paying for our room wr were askin for an alternative from them but they wouldnt help they locked us out of our room until we called everyone back in ireland to help us pay the money they also called the police for us and we wer gaurded by them until we got somebody bk home to pay we felt like we stole from them i would never return here and wil tel anyone who wil listen that ur money gets stolen

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro_Luz_Alves, General Manager at Dom Pedro Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Dear Guest,
First of all I would like to thank your preference.
As you know, this episode is a misunderstanding, because we prove that the money didn’t disappear from our room.
We feel sorry for your lost, but didn’t happen in our Hotel.
Best regards,
Pedro Alves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, N.Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We booked this hotel thru Voyage Prive and didn't really know what to expect. On arrival the hotel appeared very quiet and looked a little dated. It seems to be a base for UK golfers, many of whom(mainly young) are not as cognisant of other guests needs as they should be. This is not the hotel's fault but merely a refection of UK binge culture.
On the plus side the hotel was spotlessly clean, the location terrific, the staff very helpful and friendly and the breakfast food was of a high standard. Every little extra we asked for was provided. The hotel has a large, well equipped garden and seems very well set up to cater for the needs of all types of holidaymaker. Drinks in the bar were not as expensive as other parts of Western Europe. Being very close to the beach and a few beach bars/clubs is another plus point.
Our rooms were excellent with very friendly maid service, fresh fruit everyday and turn down service. On the downside there is a daily charge of 6 Euros for WiFi..guys much too expensive.
We will definitely return and if you are looking for a reasonably priced hotel with lots of spacious public areas and friendly staff we would recommend this hotel.
Hopefully by the time we return they will have changed the musak...Wager in the morning and 1980s Brit Pop in the evening, is not our idea of background music.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro_Luz_Alves, General Manager at Dom Pedro Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Dear Guest,
First of all I would like to thank your preference for the Dom Pedro Golf Resort.
I’m very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay, and it’s really important that you enjoyed our Service and Staff.
Your recommendation has been noted.
Hope to welcome you again soon.
Best regards,
Pedro Alves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LISBON
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

About 25 years later I came back to Dom Pedro Golf where I passed in past several summer holidays, and the conclusion is : in despite of the age Dom Pedro Golf remains very good.
The hotel is in a very good localization in Vilamoura in walking distance to marina, casino, bars and restaurants , cinema and shopping.
The building is in heavy and tired style as was uswed in years 70's, but is well mantained.
The lobby entrance is the hart of Dom Pedro with the big bar, games room, live music, restaurant and obviously the reception.All with a pleasant decor.
The rooms are simple but with nice furniture and all we need specially in beach holidays.
The food is good for an hotel standard but with the same price we can eat outside with other choice possibilities.
The SPA is aqlso well equiped.
Outside we have a large swimmingpool and aa green with trees very nice.
The staff is very reliable: Very Good.

Room Tip: For a small extra choose a executive room in higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro_Luz_Alves, General Manager at Dom Pedro Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Dear Guest,
First of all I would like to thank your preference for the Dom Pedro Golf Resort, after 25 years.
Your comments mean a lot to us, and we are waiting to welcome you again soon.
Best Regards,
Pedro Alves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Must say that this is a very well located hotel with everything one needs for break , lovely views of sea, great beach , which is only mins walk from hotel, down its own little pathway,
Good to golfers plenty choices , lots of Golfers about.
Hotel is very convenient, comfortable , great breakfast , helpful staff . there are plenty of good restaurants to eat in with the atmosphere of Marina near by.Shops supermarket little cafes just across road from hotel.
I noticed in review that somebody said that their room was not ready until 2pm to me that's normal in most hotels , we had to wait until 2pm for our room even that we arrived at 10 am at hotel flight was in early ,but we used hotel garden, lounge , our baggage was locked away for us, room was ready for 1pm. we enjoyed our stay have recommended this hotel to friends would visit again

Room Tip: Room with sea view balcony 7th floor + casino side may be noisy some nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro_Luz_Alves, General Manager at Dom Pedro Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Dear Guest,
First of all I would like to thank your preference for the Hotel Dom Pedro Golf Resort.
It’s really important to know that you enjoyed your stay; wish to return and you recommend the Hotel.
Thank you very much.
Best Regards,
Pedro Alves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dom Pedro Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Pedro Golf Resort

Address: Avenida Tivoli 4, Vilamoura 8125-478, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#13 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dom Pedro Golf Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located near the beach and the marina, Dom Pedro Golf Resort is ideal for golfers, family holidays and holiday makers. Golfers are just a few minutes away from some of the leading Championship Golf Courses in Algarve. Also ideal for a family holiday, Dom Pedro Golf Resort provides supervised summer entertainment program and children facilities such as: a playground, a playroom, children’s swimming pool and children’s menu. Babysitting service available (on request). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Dom Pedro Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dom Pedro Golf Hotel Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Hotel
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Golf Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Golf Resort Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dom Pedro Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.