We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spotless” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dom Pedro Portobelo

Save Saved
You added Dom Pedro Portobelo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Dom Pedro Portobelo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Tivoli, Lote H5, Vilamoura 8125-410, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 35 hotels in Vilamoura
midlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“spotless”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We have just returned from the above hotel. I spent hours reading other peoples comments and most of them were true. Yes, things like furniture and fittings are dated BUT the hotel is spotless and the staff are so friendly and helpful. I have a "thing" about mouldy shower curtains, so I was delighted with the one in our room...it was spotless. The scenery from our room..718 was stunning and for the price we paid for our short break, we feel that we got a good deal and would stay at this hotel again. One tiny drawback was that there wasnt a mirror near a plug so that I could use my hairdryer and straightners, but that certainly didn't spoil my holiday, because I would rather go without a mirror and be in a clean environment with a beautifully made clean bed. Well done to all of the staff that help to keep this hotel in such a spick and span condition. Kitchen area was well equipped, but I dont go away to cook a three course meal. Beds were comfy, we certainly slept well and studio was spacious.

Room Tip: the higher floor rooms have fab views. All rooms look out onto the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_DomPedro_Alg, Manager at Dom Pedro Portobelo, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are very glad that you have spent an excellent time at Dom Pedro Portobelo.

We regret the lack of the mirror but now we have started putting mirrors in the apartments and also a socket in the bathroom so, in your next visit the hairdryer can be used.

Thank you so much, on behalf of whole team and we really hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Dom Pedro Portobelo.

Kind regards
Rosa Custódio
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    53
    21
    9
    8
See reviews for
25
43
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I stayed here with my wife and 2 kids in July 2012 for just over 2 weeks and had an excellent time! It is fair to stay some of the furnishings aren't as modern as you may wish them to be but the cleanliness of the rooms is excellent, i mean truely some of the best cleaning services i have ever experienced - we would leave the room for 15 minutes aqnd come back and the room had been done top to toe everytime - which is a big job with 2 young kids.
The service at the desk was prompt and polite and if we needed anything they acted very quickly.
The other main benefit of staying here is the restaurant beneath it - truely delicious and very well priced. Throughtout the day by the pool the food and drinks were excellent and in the evening it had a very inviting menu.
Overall i would recommend this hotel for families, it has everything you need and is competively priced.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_DomPedro_Alg, Manager at Dom Pedro Portobelo, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your detailed review. We are very glad that you have had such an enjoyable stay at the Dom Pedro Portobelo and would like to thank you, on behalf of the whole team, for your kind and encouraging comments.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable stay.

Kind regards

Rosa Custódio
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This was our 3rd visit to Vilamoura but first stay at the Portobelo. I would agree this is not a 4star hotel - it is friendly and comfortable enough but furnishings are quite dated and the bathroom is especially "dingy". Our 1 bed apartment was however spacious, cleaned daily and had great views. Not the best place to stay in Vilamoura but reasonably priced and Vilamoura is a lovely resort and well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Any room at the front will have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_DomPedro_Alg, Manager at Dom Pedro Portobelo, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your time and share your review regarding your stay at our hotel. We hope that you enjoyed your holiday with us. We would like to inform that we are currently doing renovations in order to improve the apartments.
Looking forward to welcome you back again at the Dom Pedro Portobelo.

Kind regards
Rosa Custódio
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascais, Portugal
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We just completed a weeks stay at the Dom Pedro Portobelo. The Pros: Well located with close proximity to the beach and to the marina. Pool area is quite nice. Rooms are spacious with large decks and great views. The Cons: Beds are made of concrete. Kitchens are minimal...you won't want to do a lot of cooking! Facility is clean but tired. Asbolutely no information available about local activities unless it is obtained via a guest relations person whose primariy mission is time share sales.

Room Tip: Try for a junior suite. Much better kitchen layout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_DomPedro_Alg, Manager at Dom Pedro Portobelo, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. Despite of the cons, we hope you had an enjoyable holiday with us.
We just like to add that the beds and mattresses are going to be replaced soon.

Thank you once again for your feedback and hope we will be able to welcome you back.

Kind regards
Rosa Custódio
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We have been coming to Vilamoura for the last ten years, each time staying at The Dom Pedro Portabelo. There have been a few problems throughout thoughs years. Last year (October 2011) we stayed at the Portabelo and were disappointed, due to the fact that we were given a smaller studio apartment. Also for the very first time we had to pay for breakfast.
Our recent stay (October 2012) didn't start to well. We were given a studio apartment on the first floor facing the car park.
Was we unhappy, 'YES'. I went down to reception to ask if we could have a sea view. 'One of the main reasons for staying at the Portabelo is that wonderful sea view'.
I spoke to Emiliano Spntos who as worked at the Portabelo for many years and who was working the front desk. Emiliano couldn't have been more helpful. He said he would try to find us a sea view studio the following morning. Emiliano kept to his word and we got our sea view studio. 'How holiday had just started'. 'Thank you once more Emiliano'.
Dom Pedro Portobelo as faults like many hotels. The rooms are now a little dated and need modernizing, the bathrooms are clean,but very dark. Rosa, you also need new LCD television with British television, but most important......... long mirrors are required for each room. We've stayed in a number of hotels in the Algarve, but when we go to Dom Pedro Portobelo, it feels like HOME. We look forward to seeing you in 2013.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_DomPedro_Alg, Manager at Dom Pedro Portobelo, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review and your preference for Dom Pedro Portobelo. We were very pleased to hear that you feel like at home in Dom Pedro Portobelo. However, we regret that you did not have a sea view apartment upon arrival; we always try our best to satisfy our guests. Unfortunately, is not always possible to please all, but luckily your problem was solved in the following morning.

We would in fact like to replace the TV’s, by a newer model but we do not know yet, when we will be able to do so. However, we are currently doing renovations in the apartments in order to improve them.
In order to avoid misunderstandings we would like to clarify that since last year our rates are based in room only, breakfast is optional.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope that we will be able to welcome you back next year for another pleasant stay at Dom Pedro Portobelo.

Best regards
Rosa Custódio
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Staying elsewhere in Vilamoura, we ate in the evening twice at this restaurant. Excellent food with particularly good sauces and attentive, friendly service. Ambiance/surroundings not particularly good but if you like well prepared meals at a reasonable cost, I would recommend trying it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_DomPedro_Alg, Manager at Dom Pedro Portobelo, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

We really appreciate your comments about our restaurant and we were very happy to know that you enjoyed your meals.

Thank you so much for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back, maybe for a stay at Dom Pedro portobelo.

Kind regards

Rosa Custódio
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I have just returned from my second visit to the Dom Pedro Portobello in Vilamoura and once again had a fabulous stay!

The apartments are very well situated and its only a two minute walk to the beach and the Marina. Having said this, there is no noise from the Marina at night as the hotel is set back. The only draw back for staying here the first week in October is that the hotel is opposite the casino which hosts a TouringRally on the1st Sunday. 78 cars leaving at 3 minute intervals from 8.30 in the morning can be quite loud! They return from about 3.30pm onwards, so a good day to visit to beach!

We had a studio apartment which has twin beds and two large sofas. There is a small, well equipped, kitchenette and dining area as well in a very spacious room. The bathrooms do need refurbishing as they are very tired looking and there are no power points in the bathroom and no mirrors anywhere else in the apartment. However, having stayed here before, we took an extension cable with us for our hair dryers, so problem resolved! (We could have just taken a small mirror but being two girls, we needed a mirror ,the one in the bathroom, to see whilst drying our hair!) . Our friends had a one bedroom apartment and there is a mirror and a power point in the bedroom.

The hotel pool is excellent and the sun loungers are very comfortable. Pool towels can be obtained from reception for a small deposit. There is also a bar and restaurant by the pool and the menu is very good.

On our previous stay we had opted bed and breakfast but this time we forewent breakfast as the facilities for self catering were excellent. There is a small supermarket two minutes walk away which stocks every thing you need.

There are too many excellent restaurants around the Marina to mention, but favourites are Ostra D'Oura, A'Broa,the Catalana and The Mayflower. Ruiz is also good for cheap and cheerful. The hotel will advise of locations.

There are a lot of golfers at the resort so it means that the pool area and beaches are relatively empty during the day in October but the weather was fantastic so this meant relaxing days for us.

The nightlife is extremely good but nothing really gets going until 10.30/11pm. The best bars for music are Parky's at the far end of the Marina, where they have an Elvis Tribute evening and the food there is pretty good too, the Atlantic Bar, which is raised on a terrace above the Marina,together with The Irish Cabin. The Atlantic Bar has a solo singer and the Irish Cabin has very good band. Both of these bars get very busy but there is a very large outside terrace and bar as well.
The 19th Hole has a brilliant band playing there 5 nights a week and Karaoke 2 nights. This bar is especially good as its only a short walk from the hotel, on the Marina.

There are plenty of trips that can be taken if you want to sight see and they are very reasonable. There are a couple of tour offices just along the road from the hotel.

The Marina area of Vilamoura is quite compact so it is easy to walk everywhere and it's also very flat so everywhere is very accessible.

Just one request for the Dom Pedro.....a mirror in the apartment near a socket please and refurbish those bathrooms!

I will definitely be returning next year though as we had fabulous weather and a brilliant holiday

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view and a high room as excellent views ( do not ask for room 914 though as you are by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_DomPedro_Alg, Manager at Dom Pedro Portobelo, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind and detailed review and also for your preference for Dom Pedro Portobelo.
We are glad that you spent an enjoyable holiday with us. We would just like to add a note regarding the mirror; works are ongoing and will be resolved soon.

Thank you very much on behalf of our team and look forward to welcoming you for another great holiday.

Kind regards

Rosa Custódio
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dom Pedro Portobelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Pedro Portobelo

Also Known As:
Dom Pedro Portobelo Hotel Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Portobelo Quarteira
Dom Pedro Portobelo Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve
Address: Avenida Tivoli, Lote H5, Vilamoura 8125-410, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dom Pedro Portobelo 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dom Pedro Portobelo offers a privileged location in the heart of Vilamoura, facing the casino and only a short walk from the International Yacht Marina and the Atlantic Ocean. Dom Pedro Portobelo is the ideal location to enjoy a family holiday in Vilamoura at its finest. A recent refurbishment has been completed ensuring high standards of hospitality, warmth and friendliness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Dom Pedro Portobelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dom Pedro Portobelo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.