We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“golftour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Cataplana

Restaurante Cataplana
Av. da Marina, Lj 11, Vilamoura, Portugal
+351 289 316 027
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 147 Restaurants in Vilamoura
Price range: $25 - $56
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“golftour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Always a welcome at Cataplana god food and an extensive wine list always very good service
and you can eat both indoors and out a relaxed and friendly restaurant go and visit when you are in Vilamoura

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    42
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Having had a lovely meal in Cataplana we returned a few nights later. The restaurant was full and we were asked to come back in 20 mins. We came back to find our table reserved for us which was great. However one hour later we were still waiting for our main course to arrive! I tried to make eye contact with Mira but she ignored me so we promptly left. A word of apology as we waited or even a free drink (as we had in other restaurants) would have gone a long way but nothing!! I have never walked out of a restaurant like that ever before. Such a pity to leave us with a bad memory through lack of thought on their part.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lancashire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Simply the Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Yes Cataplana has moved and left all the 'olde worlde' charm behind but that is all it's left behind, the food is still the same excellent standard it has always been for the last fourteen years we have been visiting, and the welcome from Mira and staff never changes, which is delightful.
We visited many times this holiday and it was virtually full every night, so don't want to praise too much as we mightn't get a table when we go back in October.
Good luck to Mira and staff and look forward to seeing you in October, keep us a table!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“"The best restaurant in Vilamoura"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We have been holidaying in Vilamoura for the last ten years (twice yearly) On every visit we make sure that we go to one of the best restaurant in Vilamoura,'Cataplana'.
Mira and her team go out of their way to provide an excellent service, which also creates an relaxed and comfortable atmosphere. We always have the grilled salmon (creatures of habit) "which is to die for".
October cannot come soon enough.
The new address is ; Rua do Clube Nautico, Lt.2 B-Lj.3 e 5 - Vila Lusa 8125-401 Vilamoura
(Opposite McDonalds)

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Gorgeous meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We recently spent 4 days in Vilamoura Nd on the journey from the airport the taxi driver said that he had visited this new restaurant and the food was lovely so we decided to give it a go. We booked in the day for that evening and luckily so because they had a couple of big parties in. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. The food was absolutely amazing. The complimentary breads and garlic carrots were gorgeous. I had the peppercorn steak which was cooked to perfection and came with vegetables and chips. I love steak anyway but this was one of the.best steaks I've had. Define rely recommend this restaurant and will certainly visit again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Cataplana also viewed

Vilamoura, Faro District
Vilamoura, Faro District
 
Vilamoura, Faro District
Vilamoura, Faro District
 

Been to Restaurante Cataplana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Cataplana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.