We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food, Ambience, and Warmth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of O Pirata

O Pirata
Aldeia dos Navegantes | Volta dos Planatos, Vilamoura, Portugal
+351 289 31 31 81
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 147 Restaurants in Vilamoura
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Boston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Food, Ambience, and Warmth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Visited O Pirata for a dinner this week while in Vilamoura. We were a party of 5 adults escaping while a babysitter was watching our kids. We read strong reviews on Jose and O Pirata. Our experience was outstanding. We were greeted at the door by Jose and his extended hand. We sat at a lovely table with a roaring fire in background. The service was attentive and warm. Jose made the meal just perfect. We ate garlic prawns, grilled sardines, and mussels to start. All were scrumptious. Jose recommended excellent wine and floated in and out to provide attentive service throughout. Our mains were fabulous. Succulent, enormous steaks, and monkfish risotto for 2 was delicious. High quality, excellent cuisine, and Jose makes this spot a hidden gem. We will be back with our kids this week for lunch by the pool and trampoline jumping for the children. A++++.
Go to O Pirata!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    36
    16
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Return Visit - not disappointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Reviewed this restaurant last year and returned there again recently. As soon as the food arrived I remembered why I rated it so highly before. Absolutely gorgeous, reasonably priced great food but the ambiance combined with the courtesy and warmth of Jose and Jorge make this a must visit when in The Algarve. Wonderful. Thank you.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulton Le Fylde
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Great Place to go for a meal. We had a party of 6 & Jose really looked after us. The food was delicious. Give it try during your stay in Villamoura.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

I am still confused why this restaurant ranks so high.some say it is child friendly dont make me laugh ,it had no high chairs the pool outside was surrounded by a cobblestone effect but very uneven ground.the food was average the service poor location poor.I dont like to write bad reports but felt I had to write this one.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asker, Norway
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“You must try this restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Absolutely the best cataplana we had on our 1 week holiday in Vilamoura. Such delicious food that we went back again - just wish that we had discovered this restaurant earlier. The monkfish risotto and chicken piri piri also absolutely delicious. Very personal service from Jose who is quite a character. Its a must if you are in the area . lovely to sit by the pool for lunch but open fire in winter, so cozy!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Pirata also viewed

Vilamoura, Faro District
Vilamoura, Faro District
 
Vilamoura, Faro District
 

Been to O Pirata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O Pirata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.