We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but poor food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gavea

Gavea
Gavea Marina | Centro Comercial Marina de Vilamoura loja 23, Vilamoura 8125-442, Portugal
289313876
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #138 of 154 Restaurants in Vilamoura
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Description: In front of marina
Thorpe, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location but poor food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

We were attracted by the lunch time meal deals as it seemed good value compared to the other restaurants in the vicinity. Unfortunately, the fish with our fish and chips was undercooked both times. (We sent it back the first time)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    21
    22
    14
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice Enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

I can't say the meal we had was poor, it was nice enough but having ate a several restaurants on the marina this one didn't stand out.

The staff were all very nice and very attentive, there was a slight discrepancy in the bill and they corrected this without fuss.

I wouldn't say I'll never return but with so many options it wouldn't be in a rush.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not the best”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We had dinner here and the service/food was really poor
Prices are average and the seating area feels dated
Not worth trying as there are lots of better eating places in the marina area

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“excellent family restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is a brilliant restaurant with very reasonable prices, a large choice of dishes and a friendly atmosphere good for families. We were so impressed with Gavea we came back within our first week to eat there again. Friendly staff and lovely food. would highly recommend and would defiantly go back again.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Avoid avoid avoid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Do yourself a favour and avoid this place like the plague. The staff are rude and sourfaced. The food is awful. My son and I got chicken piri piri which was dry, swimming in oil and not very warm. My husband had fish which was also swimming in oil. Watch out ordering drinks, if you don't ask for specific size etc they will bring you the mist expensive of everything. Needless to say we won't be back. Do yourself a favour and go elsewhere in the marina

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gavea also viewed

Vilamoura, Faro District
Vilamoura, Faro District
 
Vilamoura, Faro District
 

Been to Gavea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gavea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.