We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was kebabed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of O Marisco

O Marisco
Marina de Vilmaoura | Edf. Marina Garden Lj B, Vilamoura 8125, Portugal
+351289314222
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 147 Restaurants in Vilamoura
Price range: $12 - $37
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: This restaurant has excellent views over looking the Marina Vilamoura.Its Cuisine offer the best Algarve Gastronomy has to offer.Fresh fish and excellent meats are daily presences in this one of the busiest restaurant in Vilamoura.
enniskillen
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“I was kebabed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

Had monkfish and prawn kebab here, top class and light, partner had super soft young lamb rack chargrilled excellent, some staff not fully focused on attention to customers but not a big worry, some background music would be a help. Can't wait till I get back

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    49
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“If you like fish...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Understated marina front haven with friendly yet chilled service and great fish. We ate freshly caught stone bass and golden bream, done to perfection. Nice wine list, good choice under €25. Looks formal but isn't, also very child friendly.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

We were here on our second night and was thoroughly amazed by the food. We saw the menu and was pricey but thought we'd splash a bit of cash. Although being expensive, the paella we ordered was enough for 3-4 people!!! Half way through dinner a band started playing outside the restaurant which made it even better. Overall, we've not had a single bad meal in vilamoura, there's cheap and expensive, no in between. But out of the expensive I would choose marisco for atmosphere and scenery. It's our 4th anniversary tonight and guess where we're going?

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Coruna, Spain
1 review
“Best restaurant in the Marina!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We've been going to Vilamoura for the last 20 summers and every holiday we repeat on the same awesome restaurant at the Marina: O Marisco. The best place to have a pleasant dinner with a good views and the best food quality in the Algarve. I strongly recommend the fish and the specialities. Quick and very kind service. You should try it and, of course, repeat!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Mediocre service, OK food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

It seems based on other reviews that my experience is not guaranteed, but in my case (on a week night) we had pretty mediocre service. The waiters did the bare minimum, showing no joy at having customers in their restaurant (you're not doing us a favor, there are other restaurants to get seafood at just next door you know?). The food underperformed for the setting (right on the Vilamoura marina), but was okay (the kebabs were good, the tuna not so much). All in all a pretty unremarkable experience...

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Marisco also viewed

Vilamoura, Faro District
Vilamoura, Faro District
 
Vilamoura, Faro District
Vilamoura, Faro District
 

Been to O Marisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O Marisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.