We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Oceano Atlantico Algarve, Vilamoura 8125-478, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 35 hotels in Vilamoura
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“lovely hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We transferred to this hotel after finding our original choice of hotel and resort (Real Marina Spa in Olhao, Portugal) did not meet our expectations. We walked into the beautiful lobby of the hotel on 30th September and immediately felt the stress of the last 24 hours disappear. We were allocated a great room on the ninth floor that had wonderful views of the fantastic beach and marina.
We were staying on a half board basis and were disappointed with the food, would not rate as a 5* - no show cooking and many of the dishes were only warm.
We were lucky to be able to secure sun beds on the lovely deck when the weather was good and we did not have to get up at the crack of dawn to achieve this! I agree with other reviewers that the arrangement of red bean bags on a grassed area is not satisfactory solution - sun beds would have been a much better and more in keeping for a 5* hotel.
Just a small downside - the UK tv channels are limited (CNN, Sky News and a couple of obscure ones in English).
All in all we had a lovely six day break here, wish we were still there!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. I am glad to read that you had a lovely break.
There will be more sun beds next season on the pool area as per our guests suggestions.
Looking forward to welcome you back again soon at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    486
    391
    155
    52
    34
See reviews for
234
574
18
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed in this Hotel for 10 Days and found the Hotel itself to
be excellent. The staff were friendly and efficient. The Hotel was
clean and very well maintained. The food was good.
I do have one problem I.E. BAR PRICES

The prices in the hotel bar must have been set by a pirate !!!

Example --- 2 x Jemison whiskeys 20 EORO. By my reconing
there is 35 bar measures in a 1 Litre bottle.
This works out at 350 EURO for said bottle.
I purchased the same bottle in an off licence a few
minutes walk from the hotel for 20 EURO.

The bottles came from the same plant in Midleton, Cork Ireland,
so incurred the same shipping charges.

This is only one example of complete Piracy in the bar of this hotel.

I would suggest if you are staying in this Hotel dont purchase anything
in the bar even water.

Room Tip: Side sea view rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Griff,
I am glad to read that you enjoyed your holidays at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.
Also would like to clarify that the bar prices are consistent with a 5-star hotel.
Kind Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Heard alot about this hotel and read some great reviews. It didnt dissapoint .
We thought a week here would be too much and we should of stayed 4 days only . But we had a great time , we Walked  the beach every day , its gorgeous . 
Visited the old town of quarteira and Walked the promenade there a few evenings.also the market on Wednesday.

The Marina is pretty with fantastic views , Nice shops and restaurants . 
There is a little train Thats   helpful you get your bearings although its only a small resort so its easy to get about.
The weather was amazing 26-27 throughout our stay , warmish evenings , just a light jacket if it was a cooler night but generally it wasnt needed.
Getting here is easy too lots of choice of airlines and timings we found.
To the hotel we were advised a transfer was best , we chose what seemed to be the popular choice yellow fishtransfers and they were great , punctual with A/C and a friendly driver . We had been advised not to take one of the shuttle services are they make You wait a long time for other guests  and drop everywhere. Ours was private and direct and well priced.
This hotel is definatly value nu for money and a great location, i would visit again And i would recomend for long or short stays.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear James,
Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding your stay with us, we are delight to know that you have enjoy it.
Looking forward to welcome you back again soon.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My husband & I Stayed for 3 nights bed & breakfast late September. Superior room with a sea view & it had a glass walled bathroom! Very comfy bed, clean & spacious room. Only down side was no tea/coffee making facilities in the room & us Brits do like a cuppa! Breakfast was great - huge choice. Staff always smiley & pleasant. There is a spa in the hotel but we didn't use it. Had the weather been nicer we would have used the outdoor pool, but the weekend we were there it wasn't pool weather.
Great location, within walking distance of the beautiful marina which was full of lovely restaurants. Lots of great bars locally too.
Would not hesitate to recommend & would definitely go back :)

Room Tip: Go for a Superior room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for your review regarding your experience at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.
I am really glad to read that you would not hesitate to recommend & would definitely come back again.
Looking forward to welcome you.
Kind Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I've stayed here twice and have loved it on both occasions. My favourite thing about this hotel is the view from the balcony on the casino side! You get to view the most amazing sunsets over the sea, I love it. The beds and bedding are amazing, so comfortable, and I love the music in the bathroom. I do agree with a couple of reviews on here that it would be great if there was tea & coffee making facilites in the room. There is the nespresso maker but I don't like espresso coffee on it's own. Also there are not that many sun loungers around the pool so they do get snapped up super quick but this didn't bother me as I'd go crash out on a bean bag or head to the beautiful beach which is right on the doorstep. Breakfast is fab, lots of choice and all of good quality. There's always a bottle of cava out so you can even have a champagne breakfast! Front desk team are always polite and helpful. We did have to complain about the air conditioning in our room being warm and it got fixed. All in all I find The Crowne Plaza Vilamoura a very relaxing place to stay and I'm sure I will return soon for a 3rd visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Rachael,
It is really rewarding to read that you have stayed twice at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura and that you loved both occasions.
Next season there will be more sun beds around the pool.
Looking forward to welcome you for the third time at our hotel.
Kind Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura for 3 days 2 nights on the 2nd October. It was a gorgeous hotel with very pleasant, helpful staff, at the end of the day it's the little things that make the difference when you are on a break.

On arrival we were ugraded to a suite due to the fact our arrival was so late in the evening. Secondly we forgot our phone chargers and they charged our phones every day. Thirdly, on the day of departure we checked out at 12 noon and weren't due to leave until 5pm, they continued to provide all their facilities until we left hotel, clean towels, showers wifi code etc etc.

Ignore any of the bad reviews about this hotel they are unfounded. On a minor note the bean bags on the grass were wet underneath, but it had been raining prior to our arrival so it would be expected. There was no shortage of sun beds but perhaps that was the time of year. The pool area was nice and relaxing and very quiet which was nice......it was predominatly occupied by older people, little or no children.

Overall the hotel experience was excellent and the buffet breakfast offered a great choice, from boiled eggs, fried eggs, to scrambled, to steamed tomatoes, bacon, pancakes, freshly made omlettes on the spot, to fresh fruit and juices, meats and breads, one wouldn't go hungry...

Villamoura, however is another story, I felt on arrival the resort is very man made a totally different place to Albuferia which in my opion is beautiful. It is appears however to be a golfers paradise...there were loads of restaurants which I felt were reasonably priced in comparison to Ireland! The Marina was again nice to look at, but lacked atmosphere..... it's hard to explain but in simple it's not the most romantic place in the world! We did have good fun in the Casino one evening but I didn't win any money!!! Also, I feel that if you weren't a sun worshiper or a golfer there would be very little to do in Vilamoura.

Oh one more thing to note be prepared for big q's in the airport on departure.....20 minutes to drop back car, 20 minutes through security and 20 minutes to go through passport control and then q for your flight! In the past I visited Portugal alot and I never remember all the q's!

All in all I had a nice break and if you were a golfer I would highly recommend Vilamoura.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view......it's a pleasure to wake up pull the curtains open the sliding door and l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am really glad to read that you had a excellent experience at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.
Looking forward to welcome you back again soon.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londra, Regno Unito
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I found a deal and I went for it.I spent a week end in this resort.
The resort is really clean and the staff is really nice. Rooms are amazing. They are huges and really well presented. Breakfast was nice with pleanty of choice. I will definetely come back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with Ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Daniel,
I am reall glad to read that you will definetely come back to our hotel.
Thank you for taking your time and posting you review.
We at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura are looking forward to welcome you.
Kind Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve

Address: Rua do Oceano Atlantico Algarve, Vilamoura 8125-478, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#5 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#7 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#7 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Totally renovated, the Hotel offers 327 spacious rooms and suites, all with private balcony, individual air conditioning, wireless high speed internet, TV, Nespresso coffee machine and in room safe. Other facilities include a dedicated Golf Reception desk, an outdoor Putting Green and a Multi-sports area. The Almond Tree Wellness Spa includes treatment rooms, Hamman and dry Sauna, a modern Fitness Center, indoor heated pool and extra large whirlpool. Also available is an outdoor pool with apx. 1000 m2 and a large sundeck, with full view over the Vilamoura beach. Local and International gastronomy is available in the Restaurant Cataplana with daily buffet, a la carte options as well as dinner Al Fresco in the Patio. The Caravela Bar & Lounge by the pool area is the perfect choice for enjoying a drink or having a light snack. For Meetings & Congresses the Hotel offers 1488 m2 of meeting space, all on same Floor, equipped with modern technology and benefiting of natural sunlight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve Hotel Vilamoura
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve Portugal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.