We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Oceano Atlantico Algarve, Vilamoura 8125-478, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 35 hotels in Vilamoura
Fife
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights on a golf trip, cannot comment on the price as I was on a "freebie"

Had single use of a superior room, nicely furnished with a tremendous bathroom. Dunno why there was a kettle without cups or teabags etc.

The room I had was on the 9th floor, good views over the small harbour , beach and pool. Bed was comfy and sleep experience was good, no noticeable noise.

Breakfast was buffet - have to say for a 5 star hotel it wasnt tremendous. It was edible but TBH I have had better quality at lower rated hotels.

Bar area was nice tho drink prices perhaps a bit high, 4.5 euros for a bottle of local lager, 8 euro for bacardi and coke.

The hotel is in a good location, maybe 5 mins walk from the lovely marina. There is a little supermercado near the hotel which is handy for buying beer and water etc for putting in the room fridge.

Overall I would go to this hotel again but the pricing would have to be right

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for taking your time and gives us the feedback regarding your stay at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.
May we have another opportunity to welcome at our hotel.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    479
    389
    154
    52
    34
See reviews for
229
572
18
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel last week, just a few issues!! Kettle but no cups or teabags in room? Only one chair on balcony? 10 euro if you want to use the indoor pool or gym. 9.50 euro to play a game of pool???!!!!!!!! 3 euro for wifi in bedroom. And 17.50 euro for the most worst pizza I have ever tasted. I have never before came across a hotel with so many hidden charges, one would expect these facilities to be free. Also one morning I came down to breakfast barefoot as I usually do while on a sun holiday and after queing for 25 minutes I was refused entry to the restaurant!! For being barefoot!! I asked to speak to a manager and a man who couldn't have been more than 18 told me about the strict dress code for breakfast! Ironically this manager was wearing no tie, no name tag, and his shirt was open. Also one evening we were ushered out of the restaurant at 6.29 because it wasn't open until 6.30!!!! This aint no 5 star folks!! Aside from these points the bar staff and reception staff were well mannered and the rooms were nice. I just wont be staying here again.

Room Tip: Try Tivoli Marina or Dom Pedro!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear tom o,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. I am delighted you appreciated the service delivered by our staff as well as your room accommodation. It is regrettable we fell short of your expectations with our facilities. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Nice hotel , clean and well maintained.
Staff very friendly and helpful.
Breakfast good
Evening meal a buffet , a bit expensive and not to my taste.
Access to lovely beach and within walking distance to marina.
Rooms good size, try and get sea view.
Decor pale creams white beige, crying out for a pink scatter cushion here and there !
Only one chair on balcony?

Room Tip: Sea view definitely worth it for the view and evening sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Our guest’s experiences at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura are our major concern.
We delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura, and do look forward to welcome you back.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Truly amazing hotel, fantastic rooms and facilities. I could spend all day in the awesome spa or by the pool side. Excellent restaurant and lounge bar, rooms are super quality and the beds really comfortable.

I have stayed here twice already and am going back again in May - note to CP staff - an upgrade to a sea view would be lovely ;o) Lol

Truly superb!

Room Tip: All are great but sea views are simply amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Tony,
We are delighted that your experience at our Hotel was truly amaizing and that you where able to enjoy all of the Hotel facilities.
Thank you for your enthusiastic review about the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.
Looking forward to welcome you again in May.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Start on the good points the room was excellent we had a free upgrade to superior room, sea view .The staff were very helpful at all times ,we had free mini bus to all golf courses .The bad points no tea & coffee in room ,breakfast was ok just ,did not try evening meal as there is a great choice in Vilamoura The hotel seam to have a policy of trying to trying to charge you for extras as best they can ,we arrived March 31st weather ok for golfing but not swimming in the outside pool ,try the indoor pool there is a extra charge why we are in a 5 star hotel ,wi-fi free in foyer extra charge in room .will not be coming back better Hotels by far

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura for your recent stay at Vilamoura.
I would like to clarify that the indoor swimming pool is part of the spa facilities and has a daily charge of €10 per person to use the swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna, hammam... Also the free internet is available in the lobby and reception area and also in the bar...
May we have another opportunity to welcome you at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Nice modern rooms and bathrooms. Very clean. For some reason only 1chair on balcony, a very nice modern chair but we quite like to sit out and have a drink when we co e up from the pool. Service in bar so slow it's quicker to walk to the Marina, especially if you want hot food. On our last day we decided to have lunch in the hotel. Taxi was picking us up at 3.30 so we went in at 2.30 and ordered a sandwich it came at 3.15. The standard of food and service not 5 star Lovely big pool but not enough cushions for all the beds.
Breakfast buffet ok nothing exceptional evening buffet lucky if the hot food is warm one night every dish was cold. Kettle in room but no tea bags or cups or milk, this is because they sell specialist teas and you have to pay for them. They offer upgrade to everyone and you think it's at a discount rate, but it's the normal rate. Hard pillows on bed but they will send up soft feather
pillows if you ask at reception. Great position right on beach, next to casino and 5 mins Marina

Room Tip: If you like a cup of tea take your own teabags.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Rita,
Thank you for taking your time and give us the feedback regarding your stay at our hotel.
All the issues appointed in all comments and complaints are analyzed and we do make all efforts to solve them in order to provide guests best experience being this one of our majors concerns.
Kindest Regrads,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Clean friendly professional helpful - the staff here do everything you ask of them
Group of 12 stayed here last week for the 2nd year in a row - I complained last year about bar priced and they have dropped haha- they do do a 20% happy hour discount!!
Breakfast lovely ,spa lovely and price also dropped down!!
Recommend to any groups of golfers

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear ALD,
Be sure that our staff strives all efforts to ensure that all our guests may enjoy an unforgettable experience at our hotel and all reviews and comments will help us enhance delivered guest service.
We do look forward to be welcoming you in a not too distant future.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve

Address: Rua do Oceano Atlantico Algarve, Vilamoura 8125-478, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#5 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#7 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#7 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Totally renovated, the Hotel offers 327 spacious rooms and suites, all with private balcony, individual air conditioning, wireless high speed internet, TV, Nespresso coffee machine and in room safe. Other facilities include a dedicated Golf Reception desk, an outdoor Putting Green and a Multi-sports area. The Almond Tree Wellness Spa includes treatment rooms, Hamman and dry Sauna, a modern Fitness Center, indoor heated pool and extra large whirlpool. Also available is an outdoor pool with apx. 1000 m2 and a large sundeck, with full view over the Vilamoura beach. Local and International gastronomy is available in the Restaurant Cataplana with daily buffet, a la carte options as well as dinner Al Fresco in the Patio. The Caravela Bar & Lounge by the pool area is the perfect choice for enjoying a drink or having a light snack. For Meetings & Congresses the Hotel offers 1488 m2 of meeting space, all on same Floor, equipped with modern technology and benefiting of natural sunlight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve Hotel Vilamoura
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve Portugal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.