We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gorgeous hotel, great rooms, bad food, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Oceano Atlantico Algarve, Vilamoura 8125-478, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“gorgeous hotel, great rooms, bad food, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

really did love this hotel.
the rooms were STUNNING! very clean, really modern! gorgeous comfy beds& good showers!
I didn't have much interaction with staff but I didn't need to.
Booked for dinner included with my stay, mistake!! wasn't that much more expensive but the dinner was bland & didn't actually have anything that I would eat, ended up eating bread rolls on that night.
I wouldnt let you put that off the hotel though, the pool area etc was gorgeous and so was the bar.
I would recommend to walk to Vilamoura harbour to eat, the restaurants have some really nice food to offer.
Good childrens area too.
Really really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear JM,
I want to thak you for such enthusiastic review regarding our hotel.
It is indeed very rewarding to receive our guests recognition. I am glad that you enjoyed the hotel facilities and you really loved the hotel.
Looking forward to welcome you back again.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    432
    164
    55
    34
See reviews for
256
639
18
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
aberdeen
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed here early September 2012 and had a pleasant stay in this hotel which caters well for golfers.
The room was very clean and fresh towels were provided every day. The aircon was quiet and efficient.
We stayed on bed and breakfast basis and the breakfast menu was ok but not in my opinion 5 star. The whole breakfast experience was rather chaotic, with too many people milling around at too small an area and only one toaster. The hot drinks dispensers, only two, presented a real challenge, not a good way to start the day and there was never any salt and pepper pots on the tables, and no HP sauce either, yuk. The staff did not seem to be that happy either, apart from the nice lady who took you to your table.
The pool was nice and big and the loungers were very comfortable, if you could find one that did not have towels on them and nobody anywhere near them for hours. There was never any pool attendant around to sort this out so I went to the nice beach most days.
The Marina nearby was an superb place to go and have a meal or a drink, lots of variety of choice at reasonable prices although there are good places to eat further back in the surrounding streets, just off the main drag, at better value.
We enjoyed our golf in the area, but the prices do rise later on in September.

Room Tip: Sea view best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear John.
Thank you for the review regarding your stay at our hotel.
I am glad to read that apart from small issues you really enjoyed your holidays.
May we have another opportunity to welcome you at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holywood
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights, room 819. Hotel was completely refurbished 2 years ago. Interesting room with double bed and glass partition to bathroom! Got the twin beds sorted and found the switch for the curtain to close off the bathroom. Lobby and breakfasts very good. Staff helpful as they sort transport to local golf courses each day. Book this on your first day as late requests can be a problem. Wifi in lobby only but is free. One of the top 3 hotels in Vilamoura. Recommend.

Room Tip: Keep away from rooms over the front door as it can be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Arthur,
Thank you so much for choosing the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura for you golfing break.
It is really rewarding to receive our guests recognition and I am glad to read that you enjoyed the hotel facilities and you would recommend us.
Looking forward to welcome you back again.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stalybridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We booked this hotel as it was the October Half term. We have visited other hotels in Villamoura and decided to try the Crowne Plaza this time. Position, food, rooms, service and public areas are all excellent. Considering that the facilities for my 6 year old were the most important - I have positive and negative feedback The outdoor Pirate play area and the basement Kids room are great. The fact that the outdoor pool is cold and we needed an indoor pool was our biggest disappointment - it is not owned by the hotel but is an independent spa- Beware! 15 euros charge per day per adult and only limited hours for kids to swim - this is not stated anywhere until you arrive. This would not be a problem in the hot months though. Overall a nice break in a lovely resort and the Portugese are always very hospitable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Alison,
Thank you for taking your time and gives us such kind feedback regarding your family holidays at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.
Just want to clarify that the Almond Tree Wellness Spa is owned by the hotel but the use of the spa facilities, these includes swimming pool, vitality pool, hammam, sauna and relaxation room, has a daily fee of €15 per person.
May we have another opportunity to welcome you and your family at our hotel soon.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were here for a weeks half board in mid October and really enjoyed our stay. The package was with Booking.com and was an excellent deal which also included use of the spa and free wifi, and we were thrilled to be upgraded to a sea view suite on arrival. The suite was excellent, quiet room, lovely furnishings and a really comfortable bed, it could not be faulted in any way. The public rooms are spacious and attractive and we found the staff, across the board, to be pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was plentiful and a good choice available. The hotel is in a great position overlooking the beautiful beach and an easy walk into the Marina where bars and restauants are plentiful. If there was a slight downside it was the hot food at dinner, which, I felt, was not hot enough and could be rather slow to be exchanged or filled up when required. That said,this is a 5* hotel with a relaxed feel that we loved and I would have no hesitation in returning to The Crowne Plaza and recommending it to anyone visitng this resort.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank for such kind review regarding our hotel and facilities.
And also like to thank you for recommend the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.
Looking forward to welcome you back again soon.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coleraine
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spent five days here in April this year and it has just about everything you could possibly want for a great holiday. Breakfasts to die for and the location is excellent; within easy walking distance of the marina and beach. The casino is not great but that did not worry us too much. Ideal hotel for a really relaxing break, and look forward to going back there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking your time and gives us such enthusiastic feedback regarding your stay at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.
Looking forward to welcome you back again.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We travelled with Saga and their deal was pretty good value although it was an eating and drinking challenge given the full board and included drinks. The hotel is very comfortable and after a relatively recent refurb is well decorated and furnished although we could have done with two not one easy chairs both in the room and on the balcony. Members of staff throughout were excellent. Although it was locally rated 5* the chef showed little understanding of the needs of vegetarian guests. However, overall the food was very good. The mixed October weather led us to the spa (included for Saga guests but possibly charged for others) and this was very good. The round pool was quite large with an adjacent jacuzzi. Steam and sauna were on a lower level with a pleasant relaxation room. There is a large outdoor pool and garden. Athough well situated for the beach (with sun beds and cafes) there is no proper promenade. At Vilamoura most activity seems to happen round the large marina that is only a 20 minutes walk away.

Room Tip: All rooms have at least a balcony and side sea view. Suspect those with full view cost more. Ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear John Walden,
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel.
I am glad to read that you really enjoyed our hotel and spa facilities.
Looking forward to welcome you back again at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve

Address: Rua do Oceano Atlantico Algarve, Vilamoura 8125-478, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#5 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#7 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Totally renovated, the Hotel offers 327 spacious rooms and suites, all with private balcony, individual air conditioning, wireless high speed internet, TV, Nespresso coffee machine and in room safe. Other facilities include a dedicated Golf Reception desk, an outdoor Putting Green and a Multi-sports area. The Almond Tree Wellness Spa includes treatment rooms, Hamman and dry Sauna, a modern Fitness Center, indoor heated pool and extra large whirlpool. Also available is an outdoor pool with apx. 1000 m2 and a large sundeck, with full view over the Vilamoura beach. Local and International gastronomy is available in the Restaurant Cataplana with daily buffet, a la carte options as well as dinner Al Fresco in the Patio. The Caravela Bar & Lounge by the pool area is the perfect choice for enjoying a drink or having a light snack. For Meetings & Congresses the Hotel offers 1488 m2 of meeting space, all on same Floor, equipped with modern technology and benefiting of natural sunlight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve Hotel Vilamoura
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve Portugal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.