We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and decent food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pipa rota

Pipa rota
Edificio Delta Marina, Vilamoura, Portugal
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 147 Restaurants in Vilamoura
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Situado nos Pateos da Marina, perto do Patacas BAR
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Good value and decent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Pipa rota can be found in the square back from the marina, it offers a decent menu selection with prices that are definately good value. We sat outside as it was a beautiful August evening (not something we are used to this year coming from the UK!!), and the service was attentive and friendly. The wine list is good, with prices perfectly acceptable. I will definitely return, I think this is a reasonably priced restaurant with very nice food. A good venue for families and adult groups.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    32
    10
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
staffordshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We had a lovely meal here the waitress couldnt do enough for us. I ordered a drink and it came with a cherry, she noticed my little boy asked for it then bought a little plate full for him. The food was fabulous and we all really enjoyed it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very nice setting - food ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We got stopped by a restaurant tout who took us to this place and we are really glad we went with him. Pipa Rota is in a square with several other different restaurants - very beautiful setting, a warm evening with some live singing going on in the square. If the tout brings you in you get a free glass of wine or a beer which is a great incentive. The service is quite slow but we found this in the majority of restaurants in the region. I think our British impatience shows here! The food was ok; my mixed meat kebab could've been better - it was not moist enough but still enjoyed. I can't remember what my husband had! The staff were great and we had a free glass of port too after dinner.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larbert, , United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

This is little Portugese restaurant of the Marina and is well worth the walk. So good we went twice and best value for money.
Best piri piri chicken of the holiday.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilfracombe
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Not great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Considering all of the positive reviews on here I was surprised that we did not agree, I wouldn't go so far as to say it was terrible but it was not by any stretch of the imagination good. The service was slow, we waited around 15 minutes to get a drink and longer for our food order to be taken, the food when it arrived was just passable. We both ordered a prawn cocktail starter which looked impressive but didn't deliver on this intial promise, I was disappointed with my main which was the house special steak dish, this was an overcooked steak in some sort of creamy sauce with bacon, my wife had sea bass which she declared to be very nice so not all negative. We decided against a dessert and also declined an offer of a free glass of port as by this point we just wanted to go. Not somewhere I can recommend but maybe we just went on an off night?

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pipa rota also viewed

Vilamoura, Faro District
Vilamoura, Faro District
 
Vilamoura, Faro District
Vilamoura, Faro District
 

Been to Pipa rota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pipa rota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.